All Of This Is True: A Novel by Lygia Day PenaflorAll Of This Is True: A Novel by Lygia Day Penaflor

All Of This Is True: A Novel

byLygia Day Penaflor

Hardcover | May 15, 2018

Pricing and Purchase Info

$19.57 online 
$21.99 list price save 11%
Earn 98 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

“Devious, delicious, and gasp-worthy.” (Kathleen Glasgow, New York Times bestselling author of Girl in Pieces)

In this genre-defying page-turner from Lygia Day Peñaflor, four teens befriend their favorite YA novelist, only to find their deepest, darkest secrets in the pages of her next book—with devastating consequences.

Miri Tan loved the book Undertow like it was a living being. So when she and her friends went to a book signing to hear the author, Fatima Ro, they concocted a plan to get close to her.

Soleil Johnston wanted to be a writer herself one day. When she and her friends started hanging out with her favorite author, Fatima Ro, she couldn’t believe their luck—especially when Jonah Nicholls started hanging out with them, too.

Penny Panzarella was more than the materialist party girl everyone at the Graham School thought she was—and she was willing to share all her secrets with Fatima Ro to prove it.

Jonah Nicholls had more to hide than any of them. And now that Fatima’s next book is out in the world, he’s the one who is paying the price...

Perfect for fans of One of Us Is Lying—and told as a series of interviews, journal entries, and even pages from the book within the book—this gripping story of a fictional scandal will keep you on the edge of your seat from beginning to end.

Title:All Of This Is True: A NovelFormat:HardcoverDimensions:432 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 1.33 inPublished:May 15, 2018Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062673653

ISBN - 13:9780062673657

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Book within a Book I love the idea of this story and the interesting way its told. The story unfolds through interviews, journal entries, text messages and book excerpts. Sounds messy but it doesn't lose you at all. I couldn't stop reading it. It keeps you guessing and by the end it'll keep you thinking about it.
Date published: 2018-08-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Satisfactory I enjoyed how Lygia Day Penaflor constructed the story using interviews, blog/articles, and parts of the book in question. I was hooked from the beginning and couldn't wait to figure out how it was all going to end. The ending could've been more final and there were certain points throughout where I had trouble getting past how the three girls sounded like characters from 'The Bling Ring' movie (spoiled, self-centred, fake dramatic).
Date published: 2018-06-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Clever Punchline But Mostly Boring "Four YA-Obsessed Teens Befriend Their Favorite Novelist. What Happens Next Will Shock You." Like many of you, upon reading this intriguing synopsis, I was completely invested in Lygia Day Penaflor's ''All Of This is True.'' So much that I was counting down the days until its May 15th release and was also saving up the money to purchase it. It was only after reading this novel that I was left not only feeling completely ambiguous, remarkably so that I don't quite know what to make of Penaflor's novel. In fact, on the one hand, for the most part, the course of events is not that interesting, rather, it is dull, predictable and let it be said, boring. Faced with such a monotonous plot, I was seriously considering not finishing the novel, and not to mention was heavily disappointed with the fact that the 21.99$ I spent on the work did not live up to the hype. Yet, Penaflor's unconventional storytelling medium, that is, through interview transcripts, journal entries and manuscripts, kept me reading on, for the briefness and simplicity of these mediums held hidden sub-plots that, despite the tedious tone of the novel, actually interested me. And then, it isn't until the last quarter of the book (where at this point you're even wondering if this story is actually going anywhere) that Penaflor shocks her readers with an overworked, yet convincing plot twist: she's lead us to believe the opposite of what we've come to believe is the truth.Suddenly, you feel betrayed, deceived, mislead, and overall, exactly what you were expecting to feel when reading this book Overall, if Penaflor's wanted to be mysterious, like her main character, Fatima Ro, she succeeded. However, as twisted and clever her punchline is, it took much too long to unravel and its wait was not well-worth it. It is for these reasons that I will most probably never read ''All Of This Is True'' again and am giving it a 3-star rating.
Date published: 2018-05-23

Editorial Reviews

“This book is sure to keep you up late into the night—don’t say we didn’t warn you.”