August And Everything After by Jennifer Salvato DoktorskiAugust And Everything After by Jennifer Salvato Doktorski

August And Everything After

byJennifer Salvato Doktorski

Paperback | May 1, 2018

Pricing and Purchase Info

$14.23 online 
$15.50 list price save 8%
Earn 71 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

One last summer to escape, to find herself, to figure out what comes next. Fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han will love this contemporary, coming-of-age romance.Graduation was supposed to be a relief. Except Quinn can't avoid the rumors that plagued her throughout high school or the barrage of well-intentioned questions about her college plans. How is she supposed to know what she wants to do for the next four years, let alone the rest of her life? And why does no one understand that it's hard for her to think about the future-or feel as if she even deserves one-when her best friend is dead?Spending the summer with her aunt on the Jersey shore may just be the fresh start Quinn so desperately needs. And when she meets Malcolm, a musician with his own haunted past, she starts to believe in second chances. Can Quinn find love while finding herself?
Jennifer Salvato Doktorski is the author of several young adult novels, including The Summer After You and Me, a YALSA Teens' Top Ten nominee. She lives with her family in New Jersey, spending her summers down the shore," where everything's always all right. You can find out more about her at jendoktorski.com. "
Loading
Title:August And Everything AfterFormat:PaperbackDimensions:320 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 0.87 inPublished:May 1, 2018Publisher:SourcebooksLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1492657158

ISBN - 13:9781492657156

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not As Good As The Summer After You and Me When I first read the synopsis for this book on goodreads, I had a very different idea in my mind as to how everything was going to play out. I was expecting a swoon worthy romance set on the Jersey shore with plenty of angsty moments, like with Jennifer's previous novel, The Summer After You and Me. However, this was definitely not what this novel ended up being, and I was fairly disappointed when I finally finished this one. Quinn has lived with the guilt surrounding her best friend's death for the last few years, and after a bad decision she's made comes public, her and her mom decide it might be for the best for her to live with her aunt for the summer. She's settled into a pretty nice routine with her aunt, including working at the local bar as a waitress, but she's still struggling to find the purpose for her life that her mother keeps insisting she needs. When musician Malcolm takes the stage at the bar on his way to a comeback, Quinn feels an instant connection with him, after all he's been through his own tragedies, and just might be the only person who can truly understand what she's going through. What follows is a whirlwind romance that wraps around Quinn joining Malcolm's band to help him record a professional demo. Soon Quinn is so wrapped up in Malcolm's world that she's almost forgotten about her own, a notion that makes all of her family uneasy after the poor decisions she's made in the past. Unfortunately, this novel was just not for me. I really struggled with relating to or sympathizing with Quinn, as her character never did grow on me. I wasn't a fan of the way she treated any of her family, especially her aunt, and she seemed to have no respect with anyone she came into contact with. On the other end, Malcolm rubbed me the wrong way right from his character's introduction into the story, and I couldn't support their relationship in the slightest considering it was both toxic and superficial. It was also a perfect example of too much too soon, and that gave it an insta-love feel which everyone knows I can't stand in any books, but especially in young adult ones. On top of the romance, I also had a really hard time connecting to the story line as it just didn't interest me, and I found that it dragged terribly. This actually would have been a one star novel for me, especially considering the amount of swearing and language was way more than I was comfortable with, and was completely unnecessary to the plot. However, I did really enjoy reading about the music industry, and I thought that Jennifer Salvato Doktorski had done a really good job of highlighting all the background music info, and making it pretty interesting to read about. I also was quite surprised with how she chose to end the novel, and I applaud her for ending it in a non-predictable way even if it was a tad confusing and left me wondering if she's intending to set it up for a sequel. For those reasons I'm bumping it up to two stars, but it was definitely a disappointment considering how much I'd loved her last novel, and I won't be recommending this one unfortunately. Final Rating: ⭐⭐
Date published: 2018-06-18