Bay Of Hope: Five Years In Newfoundland

April 17, 2018|
Bay Of Hope: Five Years In Newfoundland by David Ward
$21.95
Paperback
Earn 110 plum® points
Buy Online
Ship to an address
Not currently available.
Pick up in store
To see if pickup is available,
Find In Store
To check store inventory,
Prices and offers may vary in store

about

A "come from away" exploring love, loneliness, and adventure in remote Newfoundland Part memoir, part nature writing, part love story, Bay of Hope is an occasionally comical, often adversarial, and always emotional story about the five years ecologist David Ward lived in an isolated Newfoundland community; of how he ended up there, worked, survived the elements, and coped with loneliness and a lack of intimacy. But this book is also a story about David''s 78 McCallum, Newfoundland, neighbors, the unforgiving mountain and wilderness culture they call home, and why their government wishes they were dead. Creative nonfiction written in the tradition of Farley Mowat''s Bay of Spirits, Ward''s memoir is also evocative of Michael Crummey''s poignant novel Sweetland and Annie Dillard''s Pulitzer Prize-winning Pilgrim at Tinker Creek. A book about how great adventure tales do not always have to include dramatic, never-attempted, death-defying feats, Bay of Hope shows us that a person can travel a million miles over the treacherous terrain within their hearts, as long as they''re courageous enough to make such an arduous trek.
While he has had many different jobs, and lived in a large number of places, David Ward currently considers himself a writer/teacher who resides on the Trent-Severn Waterway in Fenelon Falls, Ontario. Author of the award-winning and critically acclaimed The Lost 10 Point Night, David is a former recipient of the Charles E. Pascal Award...
Loading
Title:Bay Of Hope: Five Years In Newfoundland
Format:Paperback
Product dimensions:264 pages, 7 X 5 X 0.6 in
Shipping dimensions:264 pages, 7 X 5 X 0.6 in
Published:April 17, 2018
Publisher:ECW Press
Language:English
Appropriate for ages:All ages
ISBN - 13:9781770413825

Recently Viewed
|