Blood and Fire: The Unbelievable Real-Life Story of Wrestling’s Original Sheik

byBrian R. SolomonForeword byRob Van Dam

April 12, 2022|
Blood and Fire: The Unbelievable Real-Life Story of Wrestling’s Original Sheik by Brian R. Solomon
$26.95
Paperback
Earn 135 plum® points
Buy Online
Ship to an address
Free shipping on orders over $35
Pick up in store
To see if pickup is available,
Find In Store
To check store inventory,
Prices and offers may vary in store

about

Sales and Market Bullets

  • Full of never-before-heard facts about the Original Sheik, including historical context and fresh perspective on the impact he had on the business of wrestling.
  • The Sheik was inducted into the WWE Hall of Fame posthumously in 2007 by his nephew Sabu and Rob Van Dam, who he trained. He also notably trained Muhammad Ali before the famous boxer-versus-wrestler match with Antonio Inoki in 1976.
  • The Sheik played a major part in developing the modern-day hardcore style of wrestling, which led to ECW and the wrestling revolution of the 1990s. His relevance as a wrestling figure cannot be overstated.
  • A co-host of PWI podcast and a former editor for WWE Magazine, Solomon had unprecedented access to those who knew kim, working with him, and were trained by him, including Terry Funk, Kevin Sullivan, Tommy Dreamer, Fred Curry, Al Snow, Rob Van Dam, Bill Apter, Dave Meltzer, Dave Burzynski, Bobby Davis, Killer Tim Brooks, and Terry Dart.
  • The Original Sheik wrestled in Japan throughout the 1980s, mainly with Frontier Martial-Arts Wrestling. He wrestled his last match in Japan, in 1998, at age 72.

Audience

  • For readers of The Eighth Wonder of the World and Masters of the Ring: The Biography of Nature Boy Buddy Rogers
  • Wrestling fans new and old, especially collectors
  • Wrestling historians and nostalgia fans
Brian R. Solomon is an educator and the author of several books on sports and entertainment. He is a regular contributor to Pro Wrestling Illustrated and Inside the Ropes, and the co-host of the PWI Podcast. For seven years, he was an editor for WWE. He lives in Connecticut with his wife and son.
Loading
Title:Blood and Fire: The Unbelievable Real-Life Story of Wrestling’s Original Sheik
Format:Paperback
Product dimensions:408 pages, 9 X 6 X 0.95 in
Shipping dimensions:408 pages, 9 X 6 X 0.95 in
Published:April 12, 2022
Publisher:ECW Press
Language:English
ISBN - 13:9781770415805

Recently Viewed
|