Bloodleaf: The Strongest Magic Requires The Greatest Sacrifice by CRYSTAL SMITHBloodleaf: The Strongest Magic Requires The Greatest Sacrifice by CRYSTAL SMITH

Bloodleaf: The Strongest Magic Requires The Greatest Sacrifice

byCRYSTAL SMITH

Hardcover | March 12, 2019

Pricing and Purchase Info

$19.51 online 
$26.99 list price save 27%
Earn 98 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

Enchanting, visceral, and twisty"- New York Times bestselling author of Ash Princess, Laura Sebastian

"BLOODLEAF feels like a classic in the making." - Sara Holland, New York Times bestselling author of Everless

A roar of a dark and luscious epic fantasy that's layered with heady romance, bloodthirsty magic, and ghostly intrigue-an absolutely wicked delight.

Princess Aurelia is a prisoner to her crown and the heir that nobody wants. Surrounded by spirits and banned from using her blood-magic, Aurelia flees her country after a devastating assassination attempt. To escape her fate, Aurelia disguises herself as a commoner in a new land and discovers a happiness her crown has never allowed. As she forges new bonds and perfects her magic, she begins to fall for a man who is forbidden to rule beside her. But the ghosts that haunt Aurelia refuse to abandon her, and she finds herself succumbing to their call as they expose a nefarious plot that only she can defeat. Will she be forced to choose between the weight of the crown and the freedom of her new life?"
Crystal Smith is a writer, photographer, and artist who developed an early love of storytelling in a family of voracious readers. She resides in Utah with her high school sweetheart husband and two lively sons. When she isn't writing or creating, she can be found re-watching Jane Eyre or reading ghost stories with all the lights on. @c...
Loading
Title:Bloodleaf: The Strongest Magic Requires The Greatest SacrificeFormat:HardcoverDimensions:384 pages, 9.3 × 5.69 × 1.32 inPublished:March 12, 2019Publisher:Houghton Mifflin HarcourtLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1328496309

ISBN - 13:9781328496300

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty Good I admit, at first I didn't really like the book. I was pretty confused about the world dynamics and what was even going on at times, but the book gets better as you read it. I found myself liking most of the characters. The plot really picked up near the end, but I think the author could've done a better job. Wanted to know more about what would've happened to some of the characters.
Date published: 2019-04-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Feudal land filled with political intrigue, magic and romance My thanks to NetGalley, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Children’s Book Group, and Crystal Smith for an ARC in exchange for an honest review. My opinions are 100% my own and independent of receiving an advance copy. Prepare to enter a beautiful, harsh world where magic is forbidden and to practice the ancient ways means certain death. Princess Aurelia can feel the magic coursing through her veins and to survive a coup for her throne she must escape to the neighbouring city of Achleva and pose as a commoner until she can figure out who is friend or foe. Led by a Harbinger, a terrifying ghost, who leads her along with clues, Aurelia tries to understand and use her magic to help unlock the secrets of both cities. Along the way she falls in love with a man forbidden to her, as she is already promised to someone else. She must put her family and the crown ahead of all her desires. Loosely based on the fairy tale “The Goose Girl”, Crystal Smith’s debut novel is a rich story that will satisfy any fantasy reader. This world is truly incredible. You have the blend of feudal law, which exacts a strict and often violent penalty for any infraction. You have the political machinations of different factions trying to gain power. There is the royalty structure which has kings and queens and princesses who are promised in marriage to a prince that they don’t even know. The paranormal elements of the ghosts who know too much and want to communicate with the living. Lastly you have the magic, “blood” magic that extracts a cost to those who draw on its power. Smith does an amazing job of combining all of these elements together to create this fantastical world. Inside of this world are colourful characters that come to life. The best treat is a strong female lead who must fend for herself while she is still discovering who she is. To sweep you off your feet is a love story that is like the cherry on top. Gives you all sorts of good feels. I found that this was a strong addition to what is getting to be a crowded field. I really found myself carried away with the story and had a huge smile at the end. Yup, colour me sucker for a great ending. Can’t wait for the next one in the series!
Date published: 2019-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Magical, enchanting, addictive. Magical, enchanting, addictive. Three words that perfectly describe this book. I was hooked from the beginning! This book pulls you into the magical world that is full of different types of magic. Some dark magic and some good magic. Magic is frowned upon, and where Princess Aurelia is from those who use their blood magic are punished, especially those considered “witches”. Princess Aurelia finds herself having to escape from her country as she is no longer safe there, and tries to find refuge in a nearby country. She leaves with some that are her protectors, especially her nearest and dearest friend Kellan. I loved this story. I really enjoyed Princess Aurelia’s character. She was a young woman who was determined to fight for what she believed in. She would not back down and would do anything to protect those she loved and would stand up and face any fears. She was kind and thoughtful, and was a true warrior. It was interesting to read about her character development throughout the course of the novel and to watch her grow as a person. I also loved reading about Kellan’s character. He too was a fearless protector and friend to Princess Aurelia. He was devoted to her and their cause, and he truly cared a lot about his friend. He was brave and was determined to do whatever he could to protect Princess Aurelia. A story full of love, magic, friendship, and heartache. For fighting for freedom and for what you truly believe in. An addictive, magical book straight through to the end, I was immersed in the magic and beauty of this book the whole way through. A true page turner that will demand your attention to the shocking ending, you will not be disappointed in this book!
Date published: 2019-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Add Immediately!! From the moment I read the summary of Bloodleaf, I had a feeling it was going to be a great read. I was not disappointed! Plus the cover is gorgeous! I did not even know that it is a retelling of "Goose Girl" even though I haven't read that story I went in blind and really enjoyed reading it! After reading Bloodleaf I will definitely be checking it out! The writing will pull you in immediately and then it's hard to put it down. Princess Aurelia is the heir to the Renalten palace and banned from using blood magic. She is also very strong character despite being hunted down after an assassination attempt. After fleeing to a new land she discovers that she is more happier. But she is actually not safe after there is a terrible plot twist is happening. Aurelia is a quick thinker and though she makes some questionable decisions. The entire book I felt was fast-paced, and it was very well written. The twist and turns are surprising murder, mystery and lots of suspense. There were moments of heartbreak and so many emotions! While the romance is slow it was sweet so I won't spoil it for everyone! The ending was by far one of the most memorable it felt like it ended on an intense note as well as action-packed. I'm looking forward to what will happen next in the series! If you are a fan of Red Queen, I think you will enjoy Bloodleaf as well and dive deeper into this world.
Date published: 2019-03-18

Editorial Reviews

Enchanting, visceral, and twisty, Bloodleaf is a phantasmagorical wonder that will keep you guessing until the very last page. " - NYT bestselling author of Ash Princess, Laura Sebastian "Eerie, immersive, and fascinating, Bloodleaf feels like a classic in the making. Readers will be pulled deep into Aurelia's world, and lose sleep alongside her as the deadly mysteries close in." -Sarah Holland, NYT bestselling author of Everless "Smith weaves together mystery, adventure and a reimagined fairy tale in this bewitching debut. An irresistible, spellbinding story. " -Rebecca Ross, author of The Queen's Rising "I am all in my feelings about this book. This book got under my skin and poked at my soul. Bloodleaf is gritty, raw, and dark but it is also beautiful and powerful. Crystal Smith is like the George R.R. Martin of YA. A roundhouse kick to the heart and readers will ask for more-Crystal has a new fan!" -Kim Brock, Joseph Beth Booksellers, Cincinnati, OH " Bloodleaf provides food for thought on our world even while immersing readers in a fully imagined world of its own. The combination of magic and political intrigue make it a great choice for fans of Victoria Aveyard or Susan Dennard. " -Leslie Hawkins, Spellbound Children's Bookshop, Asheville, NC "I was so absolutely enthralled with what was going on that I wasn't even thinking more than a sentence ahead. Highly Highly recommend!! " -Nichole Cousins, White Birch Books, North Conway, NH " Bloodleaf is one of those rare stories that truly grabbed me from the very first paragraph and never let me go. So much more than a retelling of the Grimm fairy tale the Goose Girl, Crystal Smith has woven a tale of identity, secrets, adventure, magic, and love that I just adored. I cannot wait for what comes next!" -Lauren D'Alessio, Wellesley Books, Wellesley, MA " Unusually convincing romantic tension and exceptionally dynamic character development." -Kenny Brechner, DDG Booksellers, Farmington, ME " Bloodleaf is an intriguing and suspenseful fantasy, sure to be popular with teen and adult readers . I loved it and am already looking forward to book 2 !" -Holly Frakes, Schuler Books and Music, Okemos, MI "Being strong means making important choices in a moment- Aurelia has to abandon her emotional and physical comforts, and her family to save her kingdom. Through complicated magic and courage, Aurelia shows us how believing in yourself , while not being selfish, conjures up a power that brings justice to her world. " -Kira Wizner, Merritt Bookstore, Millbrook, NY " A YA fantasy page turner , Bloodleaf captures all the excitement of a strong princess fighting for her country and her life while exploring her identity." -Jen Kraar, City of Asylum Books, Pittsburgh, PA"