By The Book

byAmanda Sellet

Hardcover | May 12, 2020

By The Book by Amanda Sellet
$24.99
Earn 125 plum® points
Prices and offers may vary in store
Quantity:

Pre-order online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not yet available in stores

about

In this clever YA rom-com debut perfect for fans of Kasie West and Ashley Poston, a teen obsessed with nineteenth-century literature tries to cull advice on life and love from her favorite classic heroines to disastrous results-especially when she falls for the school's resident Lothario.

Mary Porter-Malcolm has prepared for high school in the one way she knows how: an extensive review of classic literature to help navigate the friendships, romantic liaisons, and overall drama she has come to expect from such an esteemed" institution. When some new friends seem in danger of falling for the same tricks employed since the days of Austen and Tolstoy, Mary swoops in to create the Scoundrel Survival Guide, using archetypes of literature's debonair bad boys to signal red flags.But despite her best efforts, she soon finds herself unable to listen to her own good advice and falling for a supposed cad-the same one she warned her friends away from. Without a convenient rain-swept moor to flee to, Mary is forced to admit that real life doesn't follow the same rules as fiction and that if she wants a happy ending, she's going to have to write it herself.
"
Debut author Amanda Sellet had a previous career in journalism, during which she wrote book reviews for The Washington Post, personal essays for NPR, and music and movie coverage for VH1. She has an M.A. in Cinema Studies from NYU and spent a year in England as au pair to an actress who has played in her share of period dramas. These d...
Loading
Title:By The BookFormat:HardcoverProduct dimensions:384 pages, 8.25 X 5.5 X 0 inShipping dimensions:384 pages, 8.25 X 5.5 X 0 inPublished:May 12, 2020Publisher:Houghton Mifflin HarcourtLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0358156610

ISBN - 13:9780358156611

Appropriate for ages: All ages

Look for similar items by category: