CBC's Canada Reads 2019

Five books, five champions, one winner: CBC's annual Battle of the Books has been getting people listening, watching and, of course, reading, for the past 18 years. Canada Reads is a "literary Survivor," with celebrities championing books. Each day, panellists vote to eliminate one book, until a single title is chosen as the title the whole country should read this year.
CBC'S Canada Reads 2019 Shortlist

By Chance Alone: A Remarkable True Story Of Courage And Survival At Auschwitz
Paperback

|May 9, 2017

$12.69 online

$18.99list price

save 33%

Ships within 1-2 weeks

Available in stores

Finalist for CBC Canada Reads and the RBC Taylor Prize In the tradition of Elie Wiesel’s Night and Primo Levi’s Survival in Auschwitz comes a bestselling new memoir by Canadian survivor More than 70 years after the Nazi camps were liberated by the Allies, a new…
Homes: A Refugee Story
Paperback

|May 1, 2018

$15.00 online

$19.95list price

save 24%

In stock online

Available in stores

Finalist for the 2018 Governor General's Award for Non-Fiction In 2010, the al Rabeeah family left their home in Iraq in hope of a safer life. They moved to Homs, in Syria - just before the Syrian civil war broke out. Abu Bakr, one of eight children, was ten…
Brother
Paperback

|May 1, 2018

$15.00 online

$19.95list price

save 24%

In stock online

Available in stores

A CANADA READS 2019 FINALIST Winner of the 2017 Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize, David Chariandy's Brother is his intensely beautiful, searingly powerful, and tightly constructed second novel, exploring questions of masculinity, family, race, and identity as…
Suzanne
Paperback

|April 24, 2017

$15.00 online

$20.95list price

save 28%

In stock online

Available in stores

Eighty-five years of art and history through the eyes of a woman who fled her family - as re-imagined by her granddaughter. Anaïs Barbeau-Lavalette never knew her mother's mother. Curious to understand why her grandmother, Suzanne, a sometime painter and poet…
The Woo-woo: How I Survived Ice Hockey, Drug Raids, Demons, And My Crazy Chinese Family
Paperback

|October 1, 2018

$15.00 online

$19.95list price

save 24%

In stock online

Available in stores

Shortlisted for the Hilary Weston Writers' Trust of Canada Prize for Nonfiction In this jaw-dropping, darkly comedic memoir, a young woman comes of age in a dysfunctional Asian family who blame their woes on ghosts and demons when they should really be on…