Dear Fahrenheit 451: Love And Heartbreak In The Stacks by Annie SpenceDear Fahrenheit 451: Love And Heartbreak In The Stacks by Annie Spence

Dear Fahrenheit 451: Love And Heartbreak In The Stacks

byAnnie Spence

Hardcover | September 26, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$26.93 online 
$27.99 list price
Earn 135 plum® points

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

A librarian's laugh-out-loud funny, deeply moving collection of love letters and breakup notes to the books in her life.

If you love to read, and presumably you do since you've picked up this book (!), you know that some books affect you so profoundly they forever change the way you think about the world. Some books, on the other hand, disappoint you so much you want to throw them against the wall. Either way, it's clear that a book can be your new soul mate or the bad relationship you need to end.

In Dear Fahrenheit 451, librarian Annie Spence has crafted love letters and breakup notes to the iconic and eclectic books she has encountered over the years. From breaking up with The Giving Tree (a dysfunctional relationship book if ever there was one), to her love letter to The Time Traveler's Wife (a novel less about time travel and more about the life of a marriage, with all of its ups and downs), Spence will make you think of old favorites in a new way. Filled with suggested reading lists, Spence's take on classic and contemporary books is very much like the best of literature-sometimes laugh-out-loud funny, sometimes surprisingly poignant, and filled with universal truths.

A celebration of reading, Dear Fahrenheit 451 is for anyone who loves nothing more than curling up with a good book.and another, and another, and another!

Annie Spence can read while doing almost anything else: walking, cooking breakfast, pretending to be interested in a conversation. She has spent the last decade as a librarian at public libraries in the Midwest and lives in Detroit with her husband and son. Dear Fahrenheit 451 is her first book.
Title:Dear Fahrenheit 451: Love And Heartbreak In The StacksFormat:HardcoverDimensions:288 pagesPublished:September 26, 2017Publisher:Flatiron BooksLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1250106494

ISBN - 13:9781250106490

Customer Reviews of Dear Fahrenheit 451: Love And Heartbreak In The Stacks

Reviews

Editorial Reviews

"Perfect for any bibliophile and terrifically funny." -Library Journal, starred Review "A librarian delivers a charming epistolary volume that begs to be read with pencil in hand.... A smart, funny, forthright librarian in book form." -Kirkus"Dear Dear Fahrenheit 451, thanks for the lovely reminder of the ways we find ourselves in books." -Booklist, starred review"Readers (and librarians especially) will appreciate the sly stabs or 'roasting' that the author makes to point out fine and not-so-fine moments of key books that she is contemplating removing from her shelf. She weaves in stories from her life inside a library (which is fodder for chuckles in itself). Perfect for fans of Jenny Lawson." -LibraryReads, "The top ten books published this month that librarians across the country love"