Dictionary Stories: Short Fictions And Other Findings by Jez Burrows

Dictionary Stories: Short Fictions And Other Findings

byJez Burrows

Paperback | April 10, 2018

not yet rated|write a review

Pricing and Purchase Info

$17.79 online 
$19.99 list price save 11%
Earn 89 plum® points

Pre-order online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not yet available in stores

about

A collection of very short stories composed of example sentences from various dictionaries, perfect for fans of The Lover's Dictionary and The Interrogative Mood: A Novel?

“Jez has long been one of my favorite illustrators, and now he comes up with Dictionary Stories—sentences stolen from dictionaries and pasted together into tiny, delightful narratives. A brilliant literary remix.”—Austin Kleon, New York Times bestselling author of Steal Like an Artist

One day, while looking up a word in the New Oxford American Dictionary, Jez Burrows was stopped in his tracks by an example sentence: “He perched on the edge of the bed, a study in confusion and misery.” It seemed like a tiny piece of fiction had gotten lost, wandered out of another book and settled down in the dictionary. With that spark, and a handful of experimental stories posted to Tumblr, Dictionary Stories was born.

Genre-bending and wildly inventive, Dictionary Stories is a giddy celebration of the originality, flexibility, and beauty of narrative. Love stories, horror stories, noir mysteries, recipes, eulogies, confessions, thrillers—each one a miniature literary remix of unlikely parts hidden in plain sight, created by flipping through the dictionary and knowing where to stop.

Burrows is a master of immersive, immediate narratives. Effortlessly transcending sentence level, he lights between the profound and the absurd with a few carefully assembled sentences, transporting readers into moments, worlds, and experiences of remarkable variety. From the everyday (dating, family, jealousy, memory) to the extraordinary (the apocalypse, fantasies, murder, the occult).

Organized alphabetically by theme and featuring original illustrations by the author, this continually surprising and wonderfully weird collection glows with humor, emotion, and intellect. Dictionary Stories will speak to language lovers, creative minds, and anyone who has ever appreciated the power of small things. 

 

 

 

Details & Specs

Title:Dictionary Stories: Short Fictions And Other FindingsFormat:PaperbackDimensions:256 pages, 7.12 × 4.5 × 0.64 inPublished:April 10, 2018Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062652613

ISBN - 13:9780062652614

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of Dictionary Stories: Short Fictions And Other Findings

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“Jez has long been one of my favorite illustrators, and now he comes up with Dictionary Stories—sentences stolen from dictionaries and pasted together into tiny, delightful narratives. A brilliant literary remix.”