Dreaming In Chocolate: A Novel by Susan Bishop CrispellDreaming In Chocolate: A Novel by Susan Bishop Crispell

Dreaming In Chocolate: A Novel

bySusan Bishop Crispell

Paperback | February 6, 2018

Pricing and Purchase Info

$18.90 online 
$20.99 list price save 9%
Earn 95 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

"Come for the life-changing chocolates and opinionated apothecary table, stay for the enchanting eight-year old and complicated secrets." -Amy Reichert, author of The Coincidence of Coconut Cake

With an endless supply of magical gifts and recipes from the hot chocolate café Penelope Dalton runs alongside her mother, she is able to give her daughter almost everything she wants. The one sticking point is Ella's latest request: get a dad. And not just any dad. Ella has her sights set on Noah Gregory, her biological father who's back in town for a few months - and as charming as ever.

Noah broke Penelope's heart years ago, but now part of her wonders if she made the right decision to keep the truth of their daughter from him. The other, more practical part, is determined to protect Ella from the same heartbreak. Now Penelope must give in to her fate or face a future of regrets.

Dreaming in Chocolate by Susan Bishop Crispell is a heartwarming story of love, hot chocolate, and one little girl's wish for her mother.

SUSAN BISHOP CRISPELL earned a BFA in creative writing from the University of North Carolina-Wilmington. Susan lives and writes near Wilmington, NC with her husband and their two literary-named cats. She is the author of The Secret Ingredient of Wishes.
Loading
Title:Dreaming In Chocolate: A NovelFormat:PaperbackDimensions:288 pages, 9.13 × 6.25 × 0.81 inPublished:February 6, 2018Publisher:St. Martin's PressLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1250089077

ISBN - 13:9781250089076

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Yummy Magical Tale I had really enjoyed Ms. Crispell's debut, The Secret Ingredient of Wishes, last year so naturally when I heard about her sophomore book I knew I had to read it. Dreaming in Chocolate is a heartbreakingly honest read. I'm not a fan of magical realism but Dreaming in Chocolate presented the magical aspect in a simple way. The thought of magic working in real life took some getting used to but I loved how the magic of the chocolates were portrayed as a possibility only. One had to want it for it come true. Penelope's faith in her chocolates' magic was near nonexistent knowing her daughter was dying despite everyone's wishes for Ella to get better. Given her previous heartache (Noah) it was easy to understand why Penelope was so guarded. However she does not let her crushing reality defeat her as she puts all of herself into making her daughter happy. I'm a big fan of second chance romances and this one was full of purpose. The story doesn't go too much into Penelope and Noah's past choosing to focus on the present happenings. When Noah, the guy who broke her heart who also happens to be the father of her child, returned to town, Penelope was determined to keep him at a distance. Resistance proved to be futile as he was as charming as ever. In addition, Noah made a most admirable effort to show Penelope he wanted a place by her and Ella's side. All across the story there was that anticipation of Noah finding out his relations to Ella. I waited with bated breath. When the reveal finally came, it fell flat. Maybe it's my fault for letting my drama meter go wild but I was hoping for more reaction from all the characters. In the grand scheme of things, the reveal let down was small compared to Noah's heartfelt willingness to accept the truth. I was a tinsy bit stunned by the ending but it was by no means a bad one. Dreaming in Chocolate is a hopeful tale of love and family and most importantly in the power of believing. A magical read indeed.
Date published: 2018-02-19

Editorial Reviews

"Come for the life-changing chocolates and opinionated apothecary table, stay for the enchanting eight-year old and complicated secrets. After reading Susan Bishop Crispell's charming Dreaming in Chocolate, you'll want to take up residence in Malarkey, sip magical hot cocoa, and change your own fate!" -Amy Reichert, author of The Coincidence of Coconut Cake"Dreaming in Chocolate is an endearing and beautifully spun tale of three generations of women and the enchanted chocolate shop that they share. A story of broken hearts, missed opportunities and the sometimes excruciating realities of motherhood, Susan Bishop Crispell teaches us that, even in a life surrounded by the mystical and inexplicable, sometimes, finding true love is the real magic." -Kristy Woodson Harvey, author of Slightly South of Simple"In a world where people too often lose faith in second chances, happy endings, heart's desires and homemade miracles, Susan Bishop Crispell's Dreaming in Chocolate makes me a believer again. This tender story about unthinkable loss and the strength of a family's love to bring them together as they face a future that is uncertain, is a reminder that the most powerful magic any of us possesses is hope." -Kimberly Brock, award winning author of The River Witch"Set in the world where salty caramels inspire truth telling and bittersweet truffles conjure happiness, the real magic of this warm and enchanting romance is found in the love the characters have for each other. A sweet treat for fans of Joanne Harris and Alice Hoffman." -Louise Miller, author of The City Baker's Guide to Country Living"Like a good piece of chocolate, Crispell's latest is sweet, without being cloying, and utterly satisfying. Perfect for fans of Sarah Addison Allen, this is a real treat of a novel." - Colleen Oakley, author of Close Enough to Touch