Goodbye Days by Jeff ZentnerGoodbye Days by Jeff Zentner

Goodbye Days

byJeff Zentner

Paperback | March 13, 2018

Pricing and Purchase Info

$12.25 online 
$13.99 list price save 12%
Earn 61 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

A novel about finding strength and hope after tragedy. Perfect for fans of Thirteen Reasons Why, Looking for Alaska, and Zentner's own The Serpent King, one of the most highly acclaimed YA novels of 2016, Goodbye Days asks what you would do if you could spend one last day with someone you lost.

What would you say if you could spend one last day with someone you lost?

     One day Carver Briggs had it all--three best friends, a supportive family and a reputation as a talented writer at his high school, Nashville Academy for the Arts. The next day it all crashed and burned, literally, after he wrote them out of existence with an inane text sent to his friend Mars--the last words his friends ever see. Carver can't stop blaming himself for the fatal crash and he's not the only one. Eli's twin sister is trying to freeze him out of school with her death-ray stare. Even worse, Mars's father, a powerful judge, pressures the district attorney to open a criminal investigation into Carver's actions.

     But Carver has some unexpected allies: Eli's girlfriend, who is the only person to stand by him at school, and Blake's grandmother, who asks Carver to spend a Goodbye Day with her--having him stand in as Blake for one last day doing all their favorite things so they can share memories and say a proper goodbye.

     Soon Eli and Mars's families are asking for a Goodbye Day with Carver--but he's unsure of their motives. Will they all be able to make peace with their losses, or will these Goodbye Days bring Carver one step closer to prison or a complete breakdown?
JEFF ZENTNER is the acclaimed author of The Serpent King. In addition to writing, he is also a singer-songwriter and guitarist who has recorded with Iggy Pop, Nick Cave, and Debbie Harry. Goodbye Days is his love letter to the city of Nashville and the talented people who populate it. He lives in Nashville with his wife and son. You ca...
Loading
Title:Goodbye DaysFormat:PaperbackDimensions:432 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 0.87 inPublished:March 13, 2018Publisher:PRH Canada Young ReadersLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0735263132

ISBN - 13:9780735263130

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Life Lesson Warm tears, that's what comes to mind when I recall this book. It was beautifully brought with a credible narrator, credible especially with his habit to repeat himself all the time. The teen narrator is living through a crisis and it is believable. Very sad, very tragic, but believable. I liked the story, the way Carver worked to heal his pain and grief, to heal others without realising he was helping them, or without necessarily wanting to help them. Somehow, even as he insist on his guilt, as a reader, I never really felt annoyed. I haven't lost my three best friends for a text, but I have known guilt, and teenager years, and how any important emotion becomes overwhelming at those terribe times. It is heartfelt and well narrated. There is little problems though. I won't spoil, but I had trouble with one of the important relationship in the novel, and, it didn't destroy my experience, but I really don't think it was necessary to develop it, at all.
Date published: 2017-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved this Such a beautiful story that will make you cry
Date published: 2017-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it. "I sometimes look at my bookshelf now and think about how someday I'm going to die without ever reading a lot of the books there. And one might be life-changengly good and I'll never know." What if a text you sent to your best friends contributed to their death? This is exactly the kind of story you're warned about in Drivers Ed. And yet somehow the devastation of such a situation didn't feel completely real to me until reading this fictionalised account. "I have no idea what becomes of their intelligence, their experiences, their stories." READ THIS BOOK!
Date published: 2017-08-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from OK I wasn't a HUGE fan, but I enjoyed it enough. I would recommend it to someone that likes a little bit of a slower story line and is interested in this type of story.
Date published: 2017-05-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A Good, Not Great Book It’s Monday Morning right now. I finished this book over a day and a half ago, but I haven’t been able to organise my thoughts about it, and so I just decided to pour them all out onto my review · Goodbye Days was EASILY one of my most anticipated reads of the year. I ADORED Jeff Zentner’s The Serpent King and all the heart break and hope it made me feel, and I was so excited for what he would do with Goodbye Days. · That being said, I REALLY REALLY wanted to enjoy Goodbye Days. I think Jeff is an AMAZING person, I love his writing style and this book IS THE PERFECT SET-UP FOR HEARTBREAK. · I lost a friend recently. We weren’t ‘best’ friends by any means, but we were friends, and his death was so senseless and so reckless and it just shocked me that life could end that easily, and I really wanted to feel something with this book as the protagonist loses his THREE best friends. · Goodbye Days WAS NOT what I thought it would be. For starters, I didn’t once FEEL that overwhelming grief that I wanted to feel, and that I felt when I heard the news about my friend. The book fell TOTALLY flat in this aspect, and more than feeling the grief, the main focus of this was getting back to ‘normal.’ It’s just how I felt – maybe not AS much with Carver, but definitely with Jesmyn. · Another thing I couldn’t wrap my head around was Carver and his dead best friend’s girlfriend – Jesmyn. I would have liked them as friends, I REALLY WOULD HAVE, but I KNEW that he was developing feelings for her, and this feeling or wrongness settled around me that I couldn’t shake. I liked that they hung out, I LOVED that they had each other for support but it still felt all sorts of wrong to me. · I did LOVE two very specific characters in the book – Nana Betsy and Georgia. Nana Betsy was honest and good and kind of an awesome grandmother (I went and gave mine a long hug after) and I FELT HER PAIN. More than anything else, I FELT HER PAIN. It felt like the pain I expected from Carver, but didn’t get. Georgia is Carver’s older sister and she too is all kinds of awesome. They made the book a whole lot better. · I also wish we had MORE of The Sauce Crew flashbacks, and less Jesmyn and Carver (The Sweat Crew) because I feel like even AFTER the Goodbye Days for each of them, that I BARELY KNEW THEM, And HOW DO I FEEL SAD FOR PEOPLE I DON’T KNOW? · Did I cry? YES. Big fat tears. This was a GOOD BOOK. It was highly emotional (and brought back memories from four months ago when my friend died) and DEFINITELY a good story, that I KNOW could have been better, I would recommend Goodbye Days – it’s a thought provoking read, but not as much as I would shove The Serpent King into your arms and faces. 3 stars.
Date published: 2017-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I LOVED Goodbye Days "It’s funny how memory cuts out the boring parts. And that makes it a good story editor. Sometimes, though, you want to remember every minute you spent with someone. You want to remember even the most mundane moments. You wish you had inhabited them more completely and marked yourself with them more indelibly--not in spite of their ordinariness, but because of it." I LOVED this book. Jeff Zentner has to be over a hundred years old, because there's no way GOODBYE DAYS took less than a century to write, because every page is packed with these powerful, punch-you-in-the-heart lines/imagery that each must have taken weeks to get just right. The heart-punch happens so many times that by the end, your heart is this pulverized, barely-functioning mass, and somehow you're thanking him for it because it feels so beautiful that this battered lump is still in your chest, still beating. GOODBYE DAYS isn’t depressing, though. Even though it’s about the main character’s three best friends dying, I didn’t sob and have to stop reading for a bit like I did with THE SERPENT KING. I definitely shed some tears, but I also felt generally uplifted throughout. Because above all else, this book is about the beauty of friendship. It’s about four guys who loved each other and made each other laugh and just generally made each other’s lives better. It’s about the kind of friendship that death cannot erase. And it’s beautiful. "For the most part, you don’t hold the people you love in your heart because they rescued you from drowning or pulled you from a burning house. Mostly you hold them in your heart because they save you, in a million quiet and perfect ways, from being alone."
Date published: 2017-04-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Emotional I didn’t love the romantic element, but the older sister was a standout, the handling of grief, guilt, and therapy was sensitively done, and there were definitely a few teary moments. #plumreview
Date published: 2017-04-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Interesting! Really loved this book! The characters, the plotline, the dialogue. The writing was amazing and intriguing and complex. I loved the unique premise. Highly recommend!
Date published: 2017-03-27