Heart of Iron

Mass Market Paperback | April 25, 2013

byBec Mcmaster

not yet rated|write a review
Edgy, dark, and shot through with a grim, gritty intensity? another gripping, inventive stunner." - Library Journal, STARRED Review In Victorian London, if you're not a blue blood of the Echelon then you're nothing at all. The Great Houses rule the city with an iron fist, imposing their strict "blood taxes' on the nation, and the Queen is merely a puppet on a string? Lena Todd makes the perfect spy. Nobody suspects theflirtatious debutante could be a sympathizer for the humanist movement haunting London's vicious blue blood elite. Not even the ruthless Will Carver, the one man she can't twist around her little finger, and the one man whose kiss she can't forget? Stricken with the loupe and considered little more than a slave-without-a-collar to the blue bloods, Will wants nothing to do with the Echelon or the dangerous beauty who drives him to the very edge of control. But when he finds acoded letter on Lena-a code that matches one he saw on a fire-bombing suspect-he realizes she's in trouble. To protect her, he must seduce the truth from her.With London on the brink of revolution, Lena and Will must race against time-and an automaton army-to stop the humanist plot before it's too late. But as they fight to save a city, the greatest danger might just be to their hearts? A fresh, suspensful paranormal romance, Bec McMaster's London Steampunk novels will appeal to fans of Gail Carriger, Kristen Callihan's Darkest London series, and the Blud series by Delilah Dawson.RITA finalist Bec McMaster's London Steampunk series:Kiss of Steel, Book 1 , Honoria's last hope is the most dangerous man in London's underworld, and she may be his last hope as well Heart of Iron, Book 2 , Will would do anything to protect Lena, including fighting his love for her, but seducing her may be the only way to save her My Lady Quicksilver, Book 3 , Rosalind risks her life, and her heart, to get close to the one man who could find and free her brother. But will he?Forged by Desire, Book 4 , RITA finalist, When Perry fled her thrall contract and joined the Nighthawks, she thought she would be safe, but danger is stalking her againOf Silk and Steam, Book 5 , Mina has sworn revenge for her father's death, but the man she plans to destroy could be her ownundoing, or the salvation of all LondonWhat readers are saying about Heart of Iron :"A clever and entertaining combination of historical romance, steampunk, paranormal and alternate history.""a vastly unique and utterly vivid world that transports readers into another place.""a perfect mix of action, romance and steampunk!""a little dark and a lot dangerous.""Steampunk, romance, paranormal, suspense this book literally had it all."What reviewers are saying about Heart of Iron :"An engrossing, thrilling sequel." - Tynga's Reviews "HEART OF IRON is so impressive, it deserves a seal of excellence! Make room on your keepershelves? " - Fresh Fiction "Intriguing? [readers will] love the sexy, action-packed narrative. " - Publishers Weekly"McMaster's second London Steampunk Book dazzles and seduces? will leave readers breathless. 4 Stars, Top Pick of the Month! " - RT Book Reviews What everyone is saying about Bec McMaster: "a must read for paranormal fans and steampunk fans alike. 5/5 Stars, Reviewer Top Pick" - Night Owl Reviews "richly imagined, gritty and dark, and full of hot heroes and hot sex? utterly delicious. " - Smart Bitches, Trashy Books "Action, adventure, steampunk, and blazing hot seduction? Bec McMaster offers it all."-Eve Silver, author of Sins of the Flesh "

Pricing and Purchase Info

$10.99

In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25

From the Publisher

Edgy, dark, and shot through with a grim, gritty intensity? another gripping, inventive stunner." - Library Journal, STARRED Review In Victorian London, if you're not a blue blood of the Echelon then you're nothing at all. The Great Houses rule the city with an iron fist, imposing their strict "blood taxes' on the nation, and the Queen...

Bec lives in a small town in country Victoria and grew up with her nose in a book. A member of RWA, RWA (Australia) and RWNZ, she writes sexy, dark paranormals and steampunk romance. When not writing, reading, or poring over travel brochures, she loves spending time with her very own hero or daydreaming about new worlds.

other books by Bec Mcmaster

Kiss of Steel
Kiss of Steel

Mass Market Paperback|Sep 1 2012

$9.37 online$10.99list price(save 14%)
Nobody's Hero
Nobody's Hero

Paperback|Jul 26 2016

$15.00 online$15.95list price(save 5%)
Mission: Improper
Mission: Improper

Kobo ebook|Aug 12 2016

$5.99

see all books by Bec Mcmaster
Format:Mass Market PaperbackDimensions:448 pages, 6.65 × 4.39 × 1.17 inPublished:April 25, 2013Publisher:SourcebooksLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1402270305

ISBN - 13:9781402270307

Customer Reviews of Heart of Iron

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazingly Sexy! Because McMaster delivers another sexy steam punk for the adults. I loved Will's character from Kiss of Steel and I was too happy he was getting his own happy ending. In more ways than one. Will is a much less calculating and sincere character than Blade and at the same time he'll tear your head from its shoulders if you mess with him. I thought Lena Todd was clever little thing from the first book and this time around we really get to see the intelligent and loyal vixen that she is wrapping the most powerful men around her little finger save for a certain verwulfen. I felt like there were a lot of side plots in this one between Lena and Will, the little thing between Barrons and the Casavian douches and then Blade and Honoria's progression. They concentrated on the main characters pretty well but I wish they would have tied a knot on the other characters especially Blade and Honoria with their little marital issues. Overall though the love between the two characters was tension filled and erotically beautiful. I was a melting puddle after every interaction and I adore the couple they grew to be after all of the hardships they faced separately and together. Way to go McMaster s can't wait for the next one.
Date published: 2015-01-29