Heart Of Thorns by Bree BartonHeart Of Thorns by Bree Barton

Heart Of Thorns

byBree Barton

Hardcover | July 31, 2018

Pricing and Purchase Info

$19.57 online 
$21.99 list price save 11%
Earn 98 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

Pre-order online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not yet available in stores

about

Inventive and heart-racing, this fierce feminist teen fantasy from debut author Bree Barton explores a dark kingdom in which only women can possess magic—and every woman is suspected of having it.

Fans of Leigh Bardugo and Laini Taylor won’t want to miss this gorgeously written, bold novel, the first in the Heart of Thorns trilogy.

In the ancient river kingdom, where touch is a battlefield and bodies the instruments of war, Mia Rose has pledged her life to hunting Gwyrach: women who can manipulate flesh, bones, breath, and blood. The same women who killed her mother without a single scratch.

But when Mia's father announces an alliance with the royal family, she is forced to trade in her knives and trousers for a sumptuous silk gown. Determined to forge her own path forward, Mia plots a daring escape, but could never predict the greatest betrayal of all: her own body. Mia possesses the very magic she has sworn to destroy.

Now, as she untangles the secrets of her past, Mia must learn to trust her heart…even if it kills her.

Title:Heart Of ThornsFormat:HardcoverDimensions:464 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 1.41 inPublished:July 31, 2018Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062447688

ISBN - 13:9780062447685

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Feminist YA *I received an advanced reader copy of this book from Indigo Books & Music Inc. in exchange for an honest review* Main theme: feminism. This book focuses on members of a fantastical society trying to suppress women's rights and freedoms. In Heart of Thorns, only women have magic. The kingdom's oppressive ruler teaches his subjects that this magic is to be feared and hunted. Our main character, Mia, must come to terms with the truth about magic and the women who possess it. Barton has incorporated lesbian, gay and bisexual characters into her story. From what I understood, there is a bisexual prince, a gay best friend and Mia's mother is also bisexual. Barton incorporated a crazy twisted ending that I DID NOT see coming. I am already itching for the next installment so that I can see how the story line will play out. This book is fiercely feminist and I would highly suggest it! Recommended for fans of Royal Bastards by Andrew Shvarts and Graceling by Kristin Cashore.
Date published: 2018-05-24

Editorial Reviews

“Barton weaves a girl-powered tale of love, family, and self-acceptance, and readers who appreciate fast paced, high-stakes fantasy will be ensnared by Mia’s adventures. Those looking for rich world-building will also find much to love. A must-buy for any library where fantasy is popular.”