Heretics Anonymous by Katie HenryHeretics Anonymous by Katie Henry

Heretics Anonymous

byKatie Henry

Hardcover | August 7, 2018

Pricing and Purchase Info

$15.39 online 
$21.99 list price save 30%
Earn 77 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

* Amazon Best Book of the Month August 2018 * New York Public Library Best Books 2018 *

Put an atheist in a strict Catholic school? Expect comedy, chaos, and an Inquisition. The Breakfast Club meets Saved! in debut author Katie Henry’s hilarious novel about a band of misfits who set out to challenge their school, one nun at a time. Perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli and Robyn Schneider.

When Michael walks through the doors of Catholic school, things can’t get much worse. His dad has just made the family move again, and Michael needs a friend. When a girl challenges their teacher in class, Michael thinks he might have found one, and a fellow atheist at that. Only this girl, Lucy, isn’t just Catholic . . . she wants to be a priest.

Lucy introduces Michael to other St. Clare’s outcasts, and he officially joins Heretics Anonymous, where he can be an atheist, Lucy can be an outspoken feminist, Avi can be Jewish and gay, Max can wear whatever he wants, and Eden can practice paganism.

Michael encourages the Heretics to go from secret society to rebels intent on exposing the school’s hypocrisies one stunt at a time. But when Michael takes one mission too far—putting the other Heretics at risk—he must decide whether to fight for his own freedom or rely on faith, whatever that means, in God, his friends, or himself.

Title:Heretics AnonymousFormat:HardcoverDimensions:336 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 1.09 inPublished:August 7, 2018Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062698877

ISBN - 13:9780062698872

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fabulous book with an unbelievable voice! I began reading Heretics Anonymous early last Saturday morning, and proceeded to laugh so hard that I had to move outside in order to not wake up my husband. Michael's voice, friends. IT IS PHENOMENAL. Forget leaping of the page, this voice tap-dances, does a somersault, and finishes with jazz hands. Writing a somewhat snarky POV without being actually snarky is a feat. I'm also Roman Catholic, so Michael's perspective on the religion (which can be a little selectively hypocritical) only increased my enjoyment. With a little bit of smooching and fairly G-rated rebellion, it didn't take more than a couple of days for me to fly through. Definitely the sort of book you want to read if you're feeling a little blue because there's no way you won't laugh.
Date published: 2018-08-14

Editorial Reviews

“Katie Henry deftly weaves a nuanced coming-of-age story with the hilarity of medieval church history, feminist theology, and the achingly real struggle of coming to terms with one’s faith. I loved this book like WHOA.”