Honestly Ben by Bill KonigsbergHonestly Ben by Bill Konigsberg

Honestly Ben

byBill Konigsberg

Hardcover | March 28, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$22.16 online 
$23.99 list price save 7%
Earn 111 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

In the companion to Openly Straight, Ben confronts pressure at school, repression at home, and his passion for two very different people!

Ben Carver is back to normal. He's working steadily in his classes at the Natick School. He just got elected captain of the baseball team. He's even won a full scholarship to college, if he can keep up his grades. All that foolishness with Rafe Goldberg the past semester is in the past.

Except...

There's Hannah, the gorgeous girl from the neighboring school, who attracts him and distracts him. There's his mother, whose quiet unhappiness Ben is noticing for the first time. School is harder, the pressure higher, the scholarship almost slipping away. And there's Rafe, funny, kind, dating someone else . . . and maybe the real normal that Ben needs. Perfect for fans of David Levithan, Andrew Smith, and John Green, Honestly Ben is a smart, laughout- loud novel that will speak to anyone who's struggled to be "honestly ____________" in some part of their lives.

Bill Konigsberg is the author of Openly Straight, which won the SCBWI Sid Fleischman Award for Humor and was named to the YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults list; The Porcupine of Truth, which won the Stonewall Book Award and was named a Booklist Editors' Choice selection; and Out of the Pocket, which won the Lambda Literary Award. Bi...
Loading
Title:Honestly BenFormat:HardcoverDimensions:336 pages, 8.54 × 5.86 × 1.03 inPublished:March 28, 2017Publisher:SCHOLASTIC INCLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0545858267

ISBN - 13:9780545858267

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Seriously Ben Compared to Openly Straight, I think I enjoyed this book better. It tied up a lot of the loose ends from the first book, including the aftermath to how Ben and Rafe ended up in the last book. I love it!
Date published: 2017-05-22

Read from the Book

From Honestly Ben:My pulse went rogue on me. Wild, crazy, strange, nonsyncopated beats. I felt my heart soar, and then plunge, and then soar again. I hadn't been pulled toward Toby and Albie; subconsciously it was Rafe I'd wanted to see, and that was just crazy.I slowed my pace but continued walking, and there was Rafe, illuminated by the moonlight, all bundled up, about six inches below the powder surface. He was making a snow angel.He was wearing the same bright red jacket and black hat he'd worn when we'd gone skiing in Colorado over Thanksgiving. I flashed on Rafe skiing in front of me, his legs moving from side to side like a pendulum while his upper body stayed totally still. On the long chairlift rides, his visible breath dissipated into the cold mountain air, while everything around us felt crisp and clear and right.It had been one of the happiest days of my life.But that was then. Now my insides were all messed up about it, and I knew if I let myself feel even a little bit of that it would be a lot, and I didn't have room for a lot anymore. I wished I could just disappear."Snow angels have no place in an igloo community," Toby said."Maybe igloos have no place in a snow angel community," Rafe yelled.I shifted my frigid legs, and it made a sound, and I silently cursed my stupid, thick body. Toby looked over, and he gave a tiny, tentative wave."I think there could be communities of snow angels that have yet to be discovered," Rafe said, hoisting himself up with his arms. That's when he saw me standing there, maybe fifteen feet away.Rafe smiled, a questioning smile, like, Can we be okay, please?No. Yes. No. I didn't know.

Editorial Reviews

Praise for Openly Straight:Winner of the Sid Fleischman Award for HumorYALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults SelectionLambda Literary Award Finalist*" Openly Straight is altogether one of the best gay-themed novels of the last ten years."-Booklist, starred review*" Readers and discussion groups looking for new and deeper ways to think about what it means tolive honestly in a world that sorts by labels will find this fresh and evocative."-The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books, starred review