Learning to Breathe by Janice Lynn MatherLearning to Breathe by Janice Lynn Mather

Learning to Breathe

byJanice Lynn Mather

Hardcover | June 26, 2018

Pricing and Purchase Info

$16.79 online 
$23.99 list price save 30%
Earn 84 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

Sixteen-year-old Indy struggles to conceal her pregnancy while searching for a place to belong in this stunning debut novel that’s perfect for fans of Amber Smith and Sara Zarr.

Indira Ferguson has done her best to live by her Grammy’s rules—to study hard in school, be respectful, and to never let a boy take advantage of her. But it hasn’t always been easy, especially while living in her mother’s shadow.

When Indy is sent to live with distant relatives in Nassau, trouble follows her. Now she must hide an unwanted pregnancy from her aunt, who would rather throw Indy out onto the street than see the truth.

Completely broke with only a hand-me-down pregnancy book as a resource, Indy desperately looks for a safe space to call home. After stumbling upon a yoga retreat, she wonders if perhaps she’s found the place. But Indy is about to discover that home is much bigger than just four walls and a roof—it’s about the people she chooses to share it with.
Title:Learning to BreatheFormat:HardcoverDimensions:336 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 1.1 inPublished:June 26, 2018Publisher:Simon & Schuster Books for Young ReadersLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1534406018

ISBN - 13:9781534406018

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Recommended Teen Read for 15+ Wow! This book was INSANELY good! This isn't the type of book I would usually pick up, but I'm glad I did. The story was very deep, emotional, and I was truly invested. I have no personal experience with what happens in the book, but through the writing, I could feel the character's emotions and troubles. This was a fairly complex read for a teen book but well worth it! The only part that bothered me was the dialogue. I am not a fan of the "uneducated" language the characters used, but it is a part of these character's life and is therefore justified. I would not recomend this novel to anyone under 15 years old due to the complexity of issues present in the book. *Received an Advanced Readers Copy from NetGalley for an honest review as an Indigo employee*
Date published: 2018-07-12

Editorial Reviews

"There is a realness and great level of depth to Indira’s character, and Mather does a magnificent job of conveying a girl’s muted existence following sexual assault and trauma."