Learning to Breathe

June 26, 2018|
Learning to Breathe by Janice Lynn Mather
$26.99
Hardcover
Earn 135 plum® points
Buy Online
Ship to an address
Ships within 1-3 weeks.Free shipping on orders over $35
Pick up in store
To see if pickup is available,
Find In Store
To check store inventory,
Prices and offers may vary in store

about

A 2019 YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults Selection
Amelia Bloomer List’s 2019 Top Ten Recommended Feminist Books for Young Readers
A Governor General’s Literary Award Finalist
A Junior Library Guild Selection
A Sheila A. Egoff Children’s Literature Prize Semifinalist
A BC Book Prize Finalist

“A love letter to girls—bittersweet and full of hope.” —Ibi Zoboi, author of National Book Award Finalist American Street
“This is a stellar debut.” —Brandy Colbert, award-winning author of Little & Lion and Pointe
“A vibrant, essential story of healing, resilience, and finding one’s family.” —Stephanie Kuehn, author of William C. Morris Award winning Charm & Strange
“A raw, beautiful, unforgettable must-read.” —Tiffany D. Jackson, author of Allegedly
“Poetic.” —Angela Johnson, award-winning author of Heaven

“A powerful, poignant story about refusing to let the past dictate who you are or who you will become.” —Kirkus Reviews
“This is a well-written, thought-provoking book that tackles difficult topics…a stirring debut.” —School Library Journal (starred review)

Sixteen-year-old Indy struggles to conceal her pregnancy while searching for a place to belong in this stunning debut novel that’s perfect for fans of Amber Smith and Sara Zarr.

Indira Ferguson has done her best to live by her Grammy’s rules—study hard in school, be respectful, and never let a boy take advantage of her. But it hasn’t always been easy, especially living in her mother’s shadow.

When Indy is sent to stay in Nassau, trouble follows her and she must hide an unwanted pregnancy from her aunt, who would rather throw Indy out onto the street than see the truth. Completely broke with only a hand-me-down pregnancy book as a resource, Indy desperately looks for a safe space to call home.

After stumbling upon a yoga retreat, she wonders if she’s found that place. But Indy is about to discover that home is much bigger than just four walls and a roof—it’s about the people she chooses to share it with.
Janice Lynn Mather is a Bahamian writer with an MFA from the University of British Columbia. Her first novel, Learning to Breathe, was a Governor General’s Literary Award finalist, a BC Book Prize finalist, shortlisted for the 2019 CCBC Amy Mathers Teen Book Award, a YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults selection, an Amelia Bloomer’s To...
Loading
Title:Learning to Breathe
Format:Hardcover
Product dimensions:336 pages, 8.25 X 5.5 X 1.1 in
Shipping dimensions:336 pages, 8.25 X 5.5 X 1.1 in
Published:June 26, 2018
Publisher:Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Language:English
ISBN - 13:9781534406018

Recently Viewed
|