Life By Committee by Corey Ann HayduLife By Committee by Corey Ann Haydu

Life By Committee

byCorey Ann Haydu

Paperback | April 21, 2015

Pricing and Purchase Info

$11.69 online 
$12.50 list price save 6%
Earn 58 plum® points
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

Secret: I kissed someone else's boyfriend.
Assignment: Do it again.

Like most who find Life by Committee, Tabitha is a little lost. Her best friend has ditched her, her Vermont town is feeling way too small, and she's falling head over heels for a guy named Joe—who already has a girlfriend. Just when Tab is afraid she'll burst from keeping the secret of Joe inside, she discovers Life by Committee. The rules of LBC are simple: tell a secret, receive an assignment. Complete the assignment to keep your secret safe.

Tab likes it that the assignments push her to her limits, empowering her to live boldly and go further than she'd ever go on her own. But in the name of truth and bravery, how far is too far to go?

Perfect for fans of E. Lockhart and Jennifer E. Smith, Life by Committee is a fresh, vibrant novel about the power of wanting, the messiness of friendship, and the truths we hide and share.

Corey Ann Haydu is the author ofOCD Love Story,Life by Committee, andMaking Pretty. She grew up in the Boston area but now lives in Brooklyn, New York, where she drinks mochas and uses a lot of Post-it notes, habits she picked up while earning her MFA at the New School.
Loading
Title:Life By CommitteeFormat:PaperbackDimensions:320 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.72 inPublished:April 21, 2015Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062294067

ISBN - 13:9780062294067

Reviews

Rated 3 out of 5 by from Life by Committee Hands down the most original book I've ever read. The execution wasn't great but the idea is awesome. Along with wishing LBC actually existed, this book left me wanting many parts of Thabitha's life. Except, Joe.
Date published: 2014-08-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Plenty of Problems According to her friends, Tabitha has changed and now they no longer want anything to do with her. Joe is someone she kind of knows from school but when they meet in a chat online, sparks fly. Tabitha finds herself talking about everything and anything with him, looking forward to their online time together, falling for him. Problem is, away from their computers, Joe has a serious girlfriend. She can?t talk about Joe to anyone. Until she stumbles across a group online called Life By Committee, a group where users shares secrets and in order to keep their secrets from being exposed, they?re given assignments to complete. Tabitha joins and now must follow their rules. Before beginning to read this book, I was intrigued by the concept. It sounded really cool. The more I got into it though, the harder time I had with it. I didn?t feel a connection with the characters most of the time but there were a few nice moments. The part I enjoyed the most was the way Tabitha talked about books and reading. That was something I could definitely connect with. Tabitha herself, felt like a character of clich?s. Best friends ditch her for growing hot, lots of slut-shaming toward a hot virgin, only one friend, aching for love, naively thinking he?ll leave girlfriend for her. There was so much about her that came across as ?been there, read that? in many other books. I could find some sympathy for her for the way she was treated at school due to rumours or wishing her parents had been more ready to have a child when they did so she didn?t have to be so independent, but she was also heartless and judgmental toward Joe?s girlfriend and always trying to justify her actions. The love interest, Joe, really had no chance for me to like. Not only was he cheating on his girlfriend but he just never really gave off that good person trying not to hurt anyone vibe. The former best friends as well, it was hard to care when they were in the picture because friends who would turn away so easily don?t deserve a second chance and I really didn?t care if they fixed things with Tabitha or not. I did like Jemma(one ex-friend)?s brother who showed up a few times in the book. He was nice and cute and seemed like a good guy. The whole LBC aspect intrigued me from the description but their threats never felt real. I could see how it could suck people in and make them feel a little powerful for sharing huge secrets in a place of no judging, but exposing those secrets for not completing an assignment? How would that happen? There were no names and no pictures of faces so maybe some online stalking and illegal activity? Seems like a lot just to expose secrets of someone you don?t know. I did like how the LBC made Tabitha feel, like those people knew her, like they were her people. It can be easy to find that online and maybe make a person think a little as to what they?re posting for anyone to see. The whole book felt like it was going for a Mean Girl type vibe, especially closer to the end, but, for me, never quite got there. *I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Date published: 2014-07-30

Editorial Reviews

“This book is brilliant, thrumming with honesty and surprising truths.”