Nocturna by Maya MotayneNocturna by Maya Motayne

Nocturna

byMaya Motayne

Hardcover | May 7, 2019

Pricing and Purchase Info

$17.58 online 
$23.99 list price save 26%
Earn 88 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

The first in a sweeping and epic own voices debut fantasy trilogy—set in a stunning Latinx-inspired world—about a face-changing thief and a risk-taking prince who must team up to defeat a powerful evil they accidentally unleashed. Perfect for fans of Tomi Adeyemi, Leigh Bardugo, and V. E. Schwab.

To Finn Voy, magic is two things: a knife to hold under the chin of anyone who crosses her…and a disguise she shrugs on as easily as others pull on cloaks.

As a talented faceshifter, it’s been years since Finn has seen her own face, and that’s exactly how she likes it. But when Finn gets caught by a powerful mobster, she’s forced into an impossible mission: steal a legendary treasure from Castallan’s royal palace or be stripped of her magic forever.

After the murder of his older brother, Prince Alfehr is first in line for the Castallan throne. But Alfie can’t help but feel that he will never live up to his brother’s legacy. Riddled with grief, Alfie is obsessed with finding a way to bring his brother back, even if it means dabbling in forbidden magic.

But when Finn and Alfie’s fates collide, they accidentally unlock a terrible, ancient power—which, if not contained, will devour the world. And with Castallan’s fate in their hands, Alfie and Finn must race to vanquish what they have unleashed, even if it means facing the deepest darkness in their pasts.

Title:NocturnaFormat:HardcoverDimensions:480 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 1.45 inPublished:May 7, 2019Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062842730

ISBN - 13:9780062842732

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Gripping Fantasy I enjoy reading Fantasy fiction – and this tale did not disappoint. The magic described in the novel was not over the top, and the characters were realistic. The social strata described in the novel are as one sees in our modern world today: the wealthy and the ones in charge, the ones with enough money, the ones who wield power through force, and the poor. The two main characters come from the opposite end of society: the Prince born into wealth and power, and the Thief born into poverty and hardship. What I enjoyed most about Nocturna were the two main characters: Alfie and Finn. Their banter made me smile, and I could not help but like the way they slowly lowered their guard with one another. Both characters grow during the novel and come to know more about themselves. Not only are they on an adventure to save the world as they know it, but they are also on a journey to learn about how they can defeat a strong magical power in but they are also on a journey to discover the strength they have within themselves. Motayne wrote this book to share a story featuring diverse characters who are Latinx. Noturna is a wonderful addition not only to fantasy fiction, but also to books featuring a different race/culture group. If you love the world of magic, a story filled with adventure, and a tale that features young people growing into their own sense of self, then you will enjoy this novel.
Date published: 2019-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really well done #ownvoices fantasy Happy book birthday to Nocturna and thank you HarperCollins Canada for an advance copy of this book! YA fiction seems to gravitate towards trilogies/series - standalone books are kind of rare. The weaker stories tend to follow the same pattern: the first book is all filler, with the important plot points happening late in the story. This results in no resolution and the inevitable cliffhanger. Basically, it’s not a complete book, and it’s a lazy way to write a series. But in this case, Motayne gets it right - Nocturna is the first book in a series, but it is also a self contained story with a fantastic plot arc and very satisfying conclusion. It could easily stand strong as a stand-alone, but it also manages to start out the series on solid footing. So well done! Nocturna is an #ownvoices Latinx fantasy epic that reminds me a lot of A Darker Shade of Magic (Schwab). That’s definitely a good thing - I really enjoyed that series. And to be honest, I think Motayne has surpassed ADSOM in terms of quality. This book is just fantastic, featuring a vibrant and beautifully described world that was very easy to envision in my head. The central characters were wonderfully complex and flawed; Finn was particularly memorable. Alfie’s personality got under my skin a fair bit, but I think that made him an even more solid character. And like I mentioned earlier, the story ended with a satisfying conclusion, but also invited some questions that will lead quite nicely into book two. I look forward to reading the next one!
Date published: 2019-05-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Latin Inspired Fantasy *I received an advanced reader copy of this book from Indigo Books & Music Inc. in exchange for an honest review* Nocturna takes place in a Latin inspired world. When the heir to the throne is assassinated, Prince Alfehr is joined by a talented street thief named Finn in his attempt to save the kingdom from an evil that he unknowingly unleashed. The character building is amazing, as the reader really gets the opportunity to understand and connect with each main character. Fantasy readers will enjoy the unique magic and the creative world building that Motayne has created. Trigger warnings: death, murder, parental abuse (physical and emotional), sibling loss and feelings of inadequacy. Recommended for fans of A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab.
Date published: 2019-04-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Thumbs Up! “Freedom, she was coming to understand, could be found in a person instead of a place.” - Finn Voy, Nocturna This book is great fantasy. I enjoyed the main characters and got emotionally involved in what they were dealing with in the story. I love the magic in this book-specialized powers determined by a significant emotional event in that persons life was very interesting. This read for me did suffer because I had just being reading V.E. Schwab’s Shades of Magic trilogy-the bare bones of both stories are the same and made me feel a bit like I had already read this book before. It certainly won’t stop me recommending Nocturna to fans of Schwab, but I wouldn’t recommend reading them too close to one another. I’m interested to see where the author takes this trilogy because the end of this book feels like it could be a stand-alone novel. #indigoemployee
Date published: 2019-03-03

Editorial Reviews

“Fantasy fans will embrace the creative worldbuilding and welcome these flawed and multi-layered characters into their hearts.”