Of Mice And Mooshaber by Ladislav FuksOf Mice And Mooshaber by Ladislav Fuks

Of Mice And Mooshaber

byLadislav FuksTranslated byMark Corner

Hardcover | September 15, 2014

Pricing and Purchase Info

$23.40 online 
$26.00 list price save 10%
Earn 117 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores


Ladislav Fuks (1923-94) was an outstanding Czech writer whose work, consisting primarily of psychological fiction, explores themes of anxiety and life in totalitarian systems. Fuks is best known for his works of short fiction set during the Holocaust, specifically "The Cremator," a story-later made into a film-about a worker in a crematorium, who, under the influence of Nazi propaganda, murders his entire family.
Written before the occupation of Czechoslovakia in 1968 but not published until 1970, Of Mice and Mooshaber is Fuks's first novel. The story takes place in an unspecified country in which the ruler has been overthrown and replaced by a dictator. The main protagonist, Mrs. Mooshaber, is an old widow whose husband was a coachman in a brewery. Her life revolves around her job as a caretaker for troublesome children, her own ungrateful children, and her fear of mice, which she tries to catch in traps. Blending elements of the grotesque with the fantastic, Fuks's novel of heartbreaking tragedy speaks to the evil that can be found within the human soul.
Ladislav Fuks (1923–94) was a Czech author whose numerous works of short fiction include “The Cremator” and “Mr. Theodore Mundstock.”
Title:Of Mice And MooshaberFormat:HardcoverDimensions:512 pages, 7 × 5 × 1.4 inPublished:September 15, 2014Publisher:Karolinum Press, Charles UniversityLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:8024622165

ISBN - 13:9788024622163


Table of Contents

Chapter 1
Chapter 2
Chapter 3
Chapter 4
Chapter 5
Chapter 6
Chapter 7
Chapter 8
Chapter 9
Chapter 10
Chapter 11
Chapter 12
Chapter 13
Chapter 14
Chapter 15
Chapter 16
Chapter 17
Chapter 18
Chapter 19
Chapter 20
Chapter 21


Translator's Notes and Acknowledgement