ONE DAY WELL ALL BE DEAD & NONE OF THIS: Essays

October 15, 2020|
ONE DAY WELL ALL BE DEAD & NONE OF THIS: Essays by Scaachi Koul
$8.00
Hardcover
Earn 40 plum® points
Buy Online
Ship to an address
Free shipping on orders over $35
Pick up in store
To see if pickup is available,
Find In Store
To check store inventory,
Prices and offers may vary in store

about

**National Bestseller
**A New York Times Book Review Editors'' Choice
**Globe and Mail Best Book of 2017
**National Post Best Book of 2017
**A CBC Best Book of 2017

**An Amazon Best Book of 2017
**A Popsugar Best Book of 2017
**A Kobo Best Book of 2017
**An NPR Best Book of 2017
**A Chatelaine Best Book of 2017
**A Buzzfeed Best Book of 2017
**A Book Riot Best Book of 2017
**A Chicago Review of Books Best Book of 2017
**A Paste Best Book of 2017
**An Amazon Best Humour and Entertainment Book of 2017
**Finalist for the 2018 Kobo Emerging Writer Prize
**Finalist for the 2018 Stephen Leacock Memorial Medal for Humour
**Nominated for the 2017 Goodreads Choice Award


For readers of Mindy Kaling, Jenny Lawson and Roxane Gay, a debut collection of fierce and funny essays about growing up the daughter of Indian immigrants in Canada, "a land of ice and casual racism," by the irreverent, hilarious cultural observer and incomparable rising star, Scaachi Koul.


In One Day We’ll All Be Dead and None of This Will Matter, Scaachi deploys her razor-sharp humour to share her fears, outrages and mortifying experiences as an outsider growing up in Canada. Her subjects range from shaving her knuckles in grade school, to a shopping trip gone horribly awry, to dealing with internet trolls, to feeling out of place at an Indian wedding (as an Indian woman), to parsing the trajectory of fears and anxieties that pressed upon her immigrant parents and bled down a generation. Alongside these personal stories are pointed observations about life as a woman of colour, where every aspect of her appearance is open for critique, derision or outright scorn. Where strict gender rules bind in both Western and Indian cultures, forcing her to confront questions about gender dynamics, racial tensions, ethnic stereotypes and her father’s creeping mortality—all as she tries to find her feet in the world.
     With a clear eye and biting wit, Scaachi Koul explores the absurdity of a life steeped in misery. And through these intimate, wise and laugh-out-loud funny dispatches, a portrait of a bright new literary voice emerges.
SCAACHI KOUL was born and raised in Calgary, Alberta, and is a culture writer at BuzzFeed. Her writing has also appeared in The New Yorker, The Hairpin, The Globe and Mail and Jezebel. One Day We’ll All Be Dead and None of This Will Matter is her first book. She lives in Toronto.
Loading
Title:ONE DAY WELL ALL BE DEAD & NONE OF THIS: Essays
Format:Hardcover
Product dimensions:256 pages, 8.5 X 5.8 X 0.94 in
Shipping dimensions:256 pages, 8.5 X 5.8 X 0.94 in
Published:October 15, 2020
Publisher:Doubleday Canada
Language:English
Appropriate for ages:All ages
ISBN - 13:9780385685351

Recently Viewed
|