One Half from the East by Nadia HashimiOne Half from the East by Nadia Hashimi

One Half from the East

byNadia Hashimi

Hardcover | September 6, 2016

Pricing and Purchase Info

$18.16 online 
$21.00 list price save 13%
Earn 91 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

Perfect for fans of Rita Williams-Garcia, Thanhha Lai, and Rebecca Stead, internationally bestselling author Nadia Hashimi’s first novel for young readers is a coming-of-age journey set in modern-day Afghanistan that explores life as a bacha posh—a preteen girl dressed as a boy.

Obayda’s family is in need of some good fortune, and her aunt has an idea to bring the family luck—dress Obayda, the youngest of four sisters, as a boy, a bacha posh.

Life in this in-between place is confusing, but once Obayda meets another bacha posh, everything changes. Their transformation won’t last forever, though—unless the two best friends can figure out a way to make it stick and make their newfound freedoms endure.

Nadia Hashimi’s first novel for adults, The Pearl That Broke Its Shell, was a bestseller that shares a bacha posh character with One Half from the East.

Afghan-American Nadia Hashimi was born and raised in New York and New Jersey. She graduated from Brandeis University with degrees in Middle Eastern Studies and Biology. She enrolled in medical school in Brooklyn and completed her pediatric training at NYU/Bellevue hospitals in New York City. The Pearl That Broke Its Shell is her debut ...
Loading
Title:One Half from the EastFormat:HardcoverDimensions:272 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 0.93 inPublished:September 6, 2016Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062421905

ISBN - 13:9780062421906

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved this book. Great journey! The story is so heart warming.
Date published: 2017-10-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from What a story! An excellent addition to any library.
Date published: 2017-04-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nadia Hashimi does it again! Nadia Hashimi does not disappoint, this is a great novel for young adults to learn of another world outside of North America.
Date published: 2016-11-20

Editorial Reviews

“With beautiful language, rich characters, and a perspective not often seen in children’s literature, this heartbreaking story will leave a lasting mark.”