Avalanche! by Terry Lynn JohnsonAvalanche! by Terry Lynn Johnson

Avalanche!

byTerry Lynn JohnsonIllustratorJani Orban

Paper over Board | January 2, 2018

Pricing and Purchase Info

$12.45 online 
$13.99 list price save 11%
Earn 62 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

Stay calm. Stay smart. Survive. &nbsp &nbsp
Twelve-year-old twins Ashley and Ryan are skiing with their parents in Wyoming's Grand Teton Mountains where there is a ground-shaking rumble. Unstable snow rushes downhill and buries them in icy white. Will the twins have the knowledge and grit to stay alive?&nbsp
With seventeen years of hands-on experience and training in remote areas, real-life survival expert Terry Lynn Johnson ( Ice Dogs ) creates on-the-edge-of-your-seat storytelling featuring the real skills that kids need to survive a&nbspdisaster. Perfect for fans of Lauren Tarshis's I Survived series,&nbspthis&nbsppage-turner with illustrations&nbspincludes survival tips from the National Avalanche Center and U.S. Forest Service.&nbspYou could have a better chance of surviving a real-life avalanche after reading this book!

Terry Lynn Johnson has lived in northern Ontario Canada for more than forty years. She's a conservation officer with seventeen years' experience. For many years, she taught winter survival and quinzee construction as the owner-operator of a dogsledding business. Terry enjoys snowshoeing and dreaming up ways to survive the outdoor...
Loading
Title:Avalanche!Format:Paper over BoardDimensions:112 pages, 8 × 5.5 × 0.52 inPublished:January 2, 2018Publisher:Houghton Mifflin HarcourtLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:054497039X

ISBN - 13:9780544970397

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Editorial Reviews

While this is at its heart a well-researched, fast-paced, survivor story, it is also a coming-of-age tale with surprising vulnerability and depth. The feeling of living in a sibling's shadow will resonate with many readers, while the messages of tenacity and strength are inspirational. An online game and connections to other Survivor Diaries combine with its easy-reading type and fast, straightforward plot to make this an ideal story for transitioning readers." -Kirkus, starred review "The inspiring messages, real-life advice, and glimpses at future career opportunities will make this a crowd pleaser." - School Library Journal "