Scary Stories For Young Foxes by Christian McKay HeidickerScary Stories For Young Foxes by Christian McKay Heidicker

Scary Stories For Young Foxes

byChristian McKay HeidickerIllustratorJunyi Wu

Hardcover | July 30, 2019

Pricing and Purchase Info

$21.69 online 
$22.99 list price save 5%
Earn 108 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

Christian McKay Heidicker draws inspiration from Bram Stoker, H. P. Lovecraft and Edgar Allen Poe for his debut middle-grade novel, a thrilling portrait of survival and an unforgettable tale of friendship.

"Into the finest tradition of storytelling steps Christian McKay Heidicker with these highly original, bone-chilling, and ultimately heart-warming stories. All that's needed is a blazing campfire and a delicious plate of peaches and centipedes." -Kathi Appelt, Newbery honoree and National Book Award finalist

The haunted season has arrived in the Antler Wood. No fox kit is safe.

When Mia and Uly are separated from their litters, they discover a dangerous world full of monsters. In order to find a den to call home, they must venture through field and forest, facing unspeakable things that dwell in the darkness: a zombie who hungers for their flesh, a witch who tries to steal their skins, a ghost who hunts them through the snow . . . and other things too scary to mention.

Featuring eight interconnected stories and sixteen hauntingly beautiful illustrations, Scary Stories for Young Foxes contains the kinds of adventures and thrills you love to listen to beside a campfire in the dark of night. Fans of Neil Gaiman, Jonathan Auxier, and R. L. Stine have found their next favorite book.

Christian McKay Heidicker reads and writes and drinks tea. Between his demon-hunting cat and his fiddling, red-headed girlfriend, he feels completely protected from evil spirits. Christian is the author of Scary Stories for Young Foxes, Cure for the Common Universe and Attack of the 50 Foot Wallflower. He lives in Salt Lake City, Utah.
Loading
Title:Scary Stories For Young FoxesFormat:HardcoverProduct dimensions:320 pages, 8.55 × 5.96 × 1.19 inShipping dimensions:8.55 × 5.96 × 1.19 inPublished:July 30, 2019Publisher:Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)Language:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1250181429

ISBN - 13:9781250181428

Reviews

From the Author

Christian McKay Heidicker draws inspiration from Bram Stoker, H. P. Lovecraft and Edgar Allen Poe for his debut middle-grade novel, a thrilling portrait of survival and an unforgettable tale of friendship. "Into the finest tradition of storytelling steps Christian McKay Heidicker with these highly original, bone-chilling, and ultimately heart-warming stories. All that's needed is a blazing campfire and a delicious plate of peaches and centipedes." -Kathi Appelt, Newbery honoree and National Book Award finalist The haunted season has arrived in the Antler Wood. No fox kit is safe.When Mia and Uly are separated from their litters, they discover a dangerous world full of monsters. In order to find a den to call home, they must venture through field and forest, facing unspeakable things that dwell in the darkness: a zombie who hungers for their flesh, a witch who tries to steal their skins, a ghost who hunts them through the snow . . . and other things too scary to mention. Featuring eight interconnected stories and sixteen hauntingly beautiful illustrations, Scary Stories for Young Foxes contains the kinds of adventures and thrills you love to listen to beside a campfire in the dark of night. Fans of Neil Gaiman, Jonathan Auxier, and R. L. Stine have found their next favorite book.

Bookclub Guide

Christian McKay Heidicker reads and writes and drinks tea. Between his demon-hunting cat and his fiddling, red-headed girlfriend, he feels completely protected from evil spirits. Christian is the author of Scary Stories for Young Foxes, Cure for the Common Universe and Attack of the 50 Foot Wallflower. He lives in Salt Lake City, Utah.

Editorial Reviews

"These tales are not for the faint of heart. And once you start, you cannot stop until you've reached the end....Terrifying and wonderful. A nightmare book you'll want to return to repeatedly."-Betsy Bird, Fuse8 Productions "A weird, creepy and thoroughly entertaining romp for readers of all ages! Highly recommended!"-Jonathan Maberry, New York Times-bestselling author of Rot & Ruin and Mars One "Heidicker has written the next Watership Down."-New York Times-bestselling author Jessica Day George"Gather around this collection of finely written stories that will raise your hackles and tingle your whiskers. But reader, beware. The dangers within this book are very real. Fortunately, so is the bravery of foxes."-Matthew Kirby, Edgar Award-winning author of Icefall and The Clockwork Three "[F]or a certain type of reader-those lost in a battered copy of Alvin Schwartz's Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark-this is exactly the kind of book they're hunting for... Kids able to brave the harrowing adventures of Mia and Uly are in for a chilling roller coaster of a read."-Booklist, Starred Review "As each tale grows progressively darker, the kits must question their fearlessness and consider returning to the safety of their mother's side...An entertaining read for those who enjoy spooky animal thrills."-Publishers Weekly "Dark and skillfully distressing, this is a story for the bold."-Kirkus"Heidicker strikes a careful balance of horror and suspense, deploying vivid descriptions of blood and viscera along with key moments of unbearably heightened tension...Fans of Parry's A Wolf Called Wander will find the kits' journey to safety compelling, and readers of horror will most certainly appreciate the thrills and chills offered here."-The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books