Someone You Love Is Gone by Gurjinder Basran

Someone You Love Is Gone

byGurjinder Basran

Paperback | August 29, 2017

not yet rated|write a review

Pricing and Purchase Info

$22.20 online 
$24.95
Earn 111 plum® points

Pre-order online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not yet available in stores

about

"A beautiful, haunting story of one family, spanning generations and continents, as they face life's inevitable losses, struggle with grief, and reach for redemption."
—Shilpi Somaya Gowda, New York Times bestselling author of Secret Daughter and The Golden Son


Perfect for readers of Jhumpa Lahiri and Anne Tyler, Someone You Love Is Gone is a beautifully rendered, multi-generational story of secrets and ghosts that haunt a family and will affirm Gurjinder Basran's reputation as one of Canada's rising literary stars.

Grief is a creature of many faces as Simran discovers when her mother, the lynchpin of her family, dies. Faced with the disintegration of her marriage and her estrangement from her own daughter, she struggles to make sense of her world and how things have come to be. With her mother's death, Simran is haunted by memories and questions for which she has no answers. As the life she has carefully constructed begins to unravel around her, she is forced to confront one of her most painful memories--her parents sending her younger brother away when they were children. As the past comes flooding back, she wonders what could compel her parents to turn their backs on their only son. Even her mother, who had always been very protective of her son, agreed with her husband to send him away; a decision that would have lasting consequences. Now with her mother gone, Simran must face up to these disturbing memories, and perhaps finally put her ghosts to rest.
Someone You Love Is Gone skillfully explores the ties that bind family together as well as the secrets that drive them apart. In beautifully rendered prose, award-winning author Gurjinder Basran weaves a mesmerizing tale of love and heartbreak that crosses continents and spans generations.

About The Author

GURJINDER BASRAN's debut novel, Everything Was Good-bye, was the winner of the Search for the Great BC Novel Contest in 2010 and the Ethel Wilson Fiction Award in 2011. It was chosen as a Chatelaine Book Club pick in 2012. Gurjinder studied creative writing at Simon Fraser University and the Banff Center for the Arts. The author lives...
Everything Was Goodbye
Everything Was Goodbye

by Gurjinder Basran

$19.86$21.00

In stock online

Available in stores

Everything Was Good-bye
Everything Was Good-bye

by Gurjinder Basran

$21.95

Out of stock online

Not available in stores

Everything Was Goodbye
Everything Was Goodbye

by Gurjinder Basran

$11.99

Available for download

Not available in stores

Details & Specs

Title:Someone You Love Is GoneFormat:PaperbackDimensions:256 pages, 8.25 × 5.62 × 0.62 inPublished:August 29, 2017Publisher:Penguin CanadaLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:073523342X

ISBN - 13:9780735233423

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of Someone You Love Is Gone

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

Advance praise for Someone You Love Is Gone: • "A beautiful, haunting story of one family, spanning generations and continents, as they face life's inevitable losses, struggle with grief, and reach for redemption."--Shilpi Somaya Gowda, New York Times bestselling author of Secret Daughter and The Golden Son • "In this brave and beautifully written novel, Gurjinder Basran shines a light into the darkest corners of one family's emotional inheritance. Grief has the power to remake us, and for Simran and her mother, Amrita, it proves truly transformative, blurring the lines between self and other, home and history--even life and death."--Alissa York, author of Fauna and The NaturalistPraise for Everything Was Good-bye: • "[T]he writing is vivid, full of crackling dialogue, and the plot is completely absorbing.... Basran's book reminds me of the work of the Pulitzer-prize winning novelist, Bengali American writer Jhumpa Lahiri, who also draws the outsider into the world of Indian immigrants to North America, vividly expressing their difficult adaptation.... She is clearly on the same path as Lahiri, a writer on the first step to greatness."--Toronto Star • "Basran's writing is by turns elegant and poetic."--Quill & Quire