Something Like Happy: A Novel by Eva WoodsSomething Like Happy: A Novel by Eva Woods

Something Like Happy: A Novel

byEva Woods

Hardcover | September 5, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$25.80 online 
$33.50 list price save 22%
Earn 129 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

“A special book that will make you laugh through your tears with its heartfelt take on happiness and friendship.” —Amy E. Reichert, author of The Optimist’s Guide to Letting Go and The Coincidence of Coconut Cake

Annie is stuck. In her boring job, with her irritating roommate, in a life no thirty-five-year-old would want. But deep down, she’s still mourning the terrible loss that tore a hole through her perfect existence. Until she meets the eccentric Polly.

Bright, bubbly, intrusive Polly is determined to wake her new friend up to life. Because if recent events have taught Polly anything, it’s that your time is too short to waste a single day—which is why she wants Annie to join her on a mission…

ONE HAPPY THING EACH DAY. ONE HUNDRED DAYS.

But just as the daily challenge opens Annie up to the possibility of joy—and perhaps even love with the unlikeliest of men—it becomes clear that Polly is about to need her more than ever. And Annie will have to decide once and for all whether letting others in is a risk worth taking.

Told with wry wit and boundless heart, Something Like Happy is an unforgettable tale of celebrating triumphs great and small, seizing the day, and always remembering to live in the moment.
Title:Something Like Happy: A NovelFormat:HardcoverProduct dimensions:432 pages, 9.28 × 6.35 × 1.41 inShipping dimensions:9.28 × 6.35 × 1.41 inPublished:September 5, 2017Publisher:Graydon House BooksLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1525811355

ISBN - 13:9781525811357

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Hilarious, Honest, Seize the Day Two unlikely women meet - one is going to die in a few short months and the other has been living her worst life. Annie meets Polly who is bubbly, energetic, friendly and dresses like a cartoon character. Annie is angry, depressed and going through a number of challenges in her life. Polly encourages Annie to complete 100 tasks to be happy and both their lives change. Annie has to face the heartbreaks of her past and Polly has to accept her future.
Date published: 2018-02-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from a light-hearted novel Terminal illness, broken families and devastating loss are heavy topics, but this novel treats them with a lighthearted touch. An interesting read.
Date published: 2017-12-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from One thing every day... I was really intrigued by the inspiration for Eva Woods' new novel Something Like Happy. I hadn't heard about the #100happydays challenge before this. (You can find out more at the website and on Twitter.) In Something Like Happy, we meet Annie - who is definitely not happy. Her mother is ill, she hates her job, lives in a grubby flat, her marriage has broken up and there's a tragedy in her past that has crippled her moving forward. A chance meeting with Polly, a woman who is dying, changes her life. Polly has been given three months to live - and she has decided to not to waste a single day or opportunity - and to touch and involve as many people as she can in feeling happy. Every day for 100 days. "I don't want to just...go through the motions of dying. I want to really try and change things. I have to make some kind of mark, you see, before I disappear forever. I want to show it's possible to be happy and enjoy life even if things seem awful." It's impossible not to like Polly as her enthusiasm is infectious. On the flip side, it's very hard to celebrate each day as she does, knowing that she literally has one hundred days left. Doubly hard if you know someone who is terminally ill. But the message at the heart of the book is important. We truly do need to find something or someone to enjoy every day - whatever that may be. Happy is different for everyone. Annie was a great foil for Polly. When we meet her, she is grumpy, depressed and simply existing. And although the reader is pretty sure how things will progress, her 'transformation' is still a pleasure to follow. I enjoyed the supporting cast, especially Costas, Annie's lodger. Dr. McGrumpy is a close second. He's also the romantic lead in Something Like Happy. Woods takes some literary license with some of her plotting. Many scenes and developments take place in the hospital. And in 'real life' many of them just wouldn't happen. (Such as sharing other patient's diagnosis with volunteers) As with the romance, these plotlines have the feel of a chick lit read. Something Like Happy is a double edged read. On one hand it's a feel-good, inspirational read. On the other, it is tinged with sadness and will have the reader perhaps recalling loss in their own lives. But, I think the takeaway will be inspirational as well. Even if you don't formally participate in the challenge, the idea of finding something to be happy for every day is a worthwhile goal. "The thing about happiness, Annie - sometimes it's in the contrasts. Hot bath on a cold day. Cool drink in the sun. That feeling when your car almost skids on the ice for a second and you're fine - it's hard to appreciate things unless you know what it's like without them.
Date published: 2017-09-18

Editorial Reviews

"Lightly reminiscent of the movie The Bucket List but successfully avoiding hackneyed scenes, Something Like Happy includes a little bit of everything-even the hope of romance. This is an enjoyable read that needs to spread far and wide." -BookPage"A special book that will make you laugh through your tears with its heartfelt take on happiness and friendship." - Amy E. Reichert, author of The Coincidence of Coconut Cake on Something Like Happy"Delightful page-turning awaits readers, even with Polly's inevitable finale. Polly is a wonderful character with a positively infectious attitude-memorable and magnetic, with a healthy dose of gallows humor. Joy shines through the tears, as this novel is a life lesson that should not be ignored." - Publisher Weekly"Something like Happy is inspiration in a bottle. Author Woods uses her novel- inspired by a social-media hashtag-to explore the exhilaration of new friendship, the power of loss, and the evergreen tendrils of hope." -Booklist"Woods is a great option for fans of Graeme Simsion, Gabrielle Zevin and Marian Keyes." -Library Journal"Heartfelt and charming." -Kirkus"A fresh new voice in romantic fiction." -Marie Claire"Filled with beautiful life lessons of love, loss, friendship, and forgiveness, Something Like Happy is a perfect feel-good read. A warm, funny, thoughtful novel packed with heart and charged with emotion." -Lori Nelson Spielman, #1 international bestselling author of The Life List