Sweet Black Waves by Kristina PerezSweet Black Waves by Kristina Perez

Sweet Black Waves

byKristina Perez

Hardcover | June 5, 2018

Pricing and Purchase Info

$22.71 online 
$24.99 list price save 9%
Earn 114 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

For fans of Graceling and The Mists of Avalon, this lush fantasy about warring countries and forbidden romance will have readers entranced.

As best friend and lady-in-waiting to the princess, Branwen is guided by two principles: devotion to her homeland and hatred for the raiders who killed her parents. When she unknowingly saves the life of her enemy, he awakens her ancient healing magic and opens her heart. Branwen begins to dream of peace, but the princess she serves is not so easily convinced. Fighting for what's right, even as her powers grow, will set Branwen against her best friend and the only man she's ever loved.

Kristina Pérez's debut features star-crossed lovers who changed the fate two nations. Inspired by the legend of Tristan and Iseult, this is the story of the legend's true heroine: Branwen.

An Imprint Book
"Star-crossed love, tested loyalties, and magic that binds and burns-Sweet Black Waves gripped me all the way to the shocking ending." -Heidi Heilig, author of The Girl from Everywhere and The Ship Beyond Time

"Intense, swoon worthy, and smart." -Vic James, author of Gilded Cage and Tarnished City

"An enchanting story of fierce friendship and dangerous love . . . Pérez has written a book that whispers the sound of the ocean as you turn each page." -Alice Broadway, author of the Ink Trilogy

"Fans of Joan Wolf's Dark Ages of Britain trilogy and Tessa Gratton's The Queens of Innis Lear will enjoy this dreamy tale, which is carried along with vibrant descriptions and intense emotion." -RT Reviews

"The female characters are vivid, powerful, and passionate.a thrilling roller coaster." -Kirkus Reviews

Kristina Pérez is a half-Argentine, half-Norwegian native New Yorker who has spent the past two decades living in Europe and Asia. She holds a PhD in Medieval Literature from the University of Cambridge and has taught at the National University of Singapore and the University of Hong Kong. Sweet Black Waves is her debut novel.
Loading
Title:Sweet Black WavesFormat:HardcoverDimensions:448 pages, 8.56 × 5.61 × 1.57 inPublished:June 5, 2018Publisher:ImprintLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1250132851

ISBN - 13:9781250132857

Reviews

Editorial Reviews

"Star-crossed love, tested loyalties, and magic that binds and burns-Sweet Black Waves gripped me all the way to the shocking ending." -Heidi Heilig, author of The Girl from Everywhere and The Ship Beyond Time"Intense, swoon worthy, and smart." -Vic James, author of Gilded Cage and Tarnished City"An enchanting story of fierce friendship and dangerous love . . . Pérez has written a book that whispers the sound of the ocean as you turn each page." -Alice Broadway, author of the Ink Trilogy"Fans of Joan Wolf's Dark Ages of Britain trilogy and Tessa Gratton's The Queens of Innis Lear will enjoy this dreamy tale, which is carried along with vibrant descriptions and intense emotion." -RT Reviews "The female characters are vivid, powerful, and passionate.a thrilling roller coaster." -Kirkus Reviews"Set sail on a swashbuckling adventure that is lush with magic, pirates, bravery, kingdoms, love, and faith...Give to fans of Kristin Cashore's Graceling and Jessica Leake's Beyond a Darkened Shore." -School Library Journal "Closes with a devastating cliff-hanger that will leave readers eager for a sequel." -Publishers Weekly