Sweet Black Waves by Kristina PerezSweet Black Waves by Kristina Perez

Sweet Black Waves

byKristina Perez

Hardcover | June 5, 2018

Pricing and Purchase Info

$24.37 online 
$24.99 list price
Earn 122 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

For fans of Graceling and The Mists of Avalon, this lush fantasy about warring countries and forbidden romance will have readers entranced.

As best friend and lady-in-waiting to the princess, Branwen is guided by two principles: devotion to her homeland and hatred for the raiders who killed her parents. When she unknowingly saves the life of her enemy, he awakens her ancient healing magic and opens her heart. Branwen begins to dream of peace, but the princess she serves is not so easily convinced. Fighting for what's right, even as her powers grow, will set Branwen against her best friend and the only man she's ever loved.

Kristina Pérez's debut features star-crossed lovers who changed the fate two nations. Inspired by the legend of Tristan and Iseult, this is the story of the legend's true heroine: Branwen.

An Imprint Book
"Star-crossed love, tested loyalties, and magic that binds and burns-Sweet Black Waves gripped me all the way to the shocking ending." -Heidi Heilig, author of The Girl from Everywhere and The Ship Beyond Time

"Intense, swoon worthy, and smart." -Vic James, author of Gilded Cage and Tarnished City

"An enchanting story of fierce friendship and dangerous love . . . Pérez has written a book that whispers the sound of the ocean as you turn each page." -Alice Broadway, author of the Ink Trilogy

"Fans of Joan Wolf's Dark Ages of Britain trilogy and Tessa Gratton's The Queens of Innis Lear will enjoy this dreamy tale, which is carried along with vibrant descriptions and intense emotion." -RT Reviews

"The female characters are vivid, powerful, and passionate.a thrilling roller coaster." -Kirkus Reviews

Kristina Pérez is a half-Argentine, half-Norwegian native New Yorker who has spent the past two decades living in Europe and Asia. She holds a PhD in Medieval Literature from the University of Cambridge and has taught at the National University of Singapore and the University of Hong Kong. Sweet Black Waves is her debut novel.
Loading
Title:Sweet Black WavesFormat:HardcoverDimensions:448 pages, 8.56 × 5.61 × 1.57 inPublished:June 5, 2018Publisher:ImprintLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1250132851

ISBN - 13:9781250132857

Reviews

Rated 3 out of 5 by from A Different, Slow Paced Retelling - - If there’s one thing I absolutely HATE in a book, its whiny princesses that believe they are owed the world, and backstab other females to get what they want. Especially if that other female is your closest friend and cousin. - - Princess Esuelt was the absolute WORST FEMALE CHARACTER I’ve come across in a while. She complained about everything, lashed out at the two people closest to her, put the option of peace between two warring islands in jeopardy because she thought she loved someone and had so much hate and spite in her that it was hard to like her. Also, what she did at the end was absolutely unforgivable and, well, she is the reason I’m giving this book a three star rating, and not anything above. - - When I requested this book, I didn’t know it was a retelling. I honestly don’t even know the original story of Tristan and Iseult, and so it just read like an originally plotted book to me. (Whoops?) - - It took me a while to get used to Branwen, but now, at the end, I TRULY admire her strength, will, loyalty, pride in country and belief in duty. She was one of the most STEADFAST YA heroines I’ve seen in a while, and I truly came to respect her and admire her power. - - I quite liked all the medicine, and the talk of peace above all else. It made Sweet Black Waves stand apart from other YA Fantasy books, because for once, the country was more important than the characters and it was something I truly respected. - - I feel like I didn’t learn enough about Tristan to like him, and from what I DID KNOW, he was a little too sweet-tounged (is that a phrase?) for me to truly trust him. Not to mention that despite not knowing the story, this book is a retelling of ‘Tristan and Iseult’ not ‘Tristan and Branwen’ that ruined the romance of it all for me. - - I absolutely loved the Magic with Consequences and the concept of religion/ otherworldly beings in this book. It was so real and grounded, even with things like Magic and Gods and I loved how well explained it all was. And… that’s about it. There was a lot I liked about this slow paced, different YA fantasy novel, and one particular character I simply could not stand. 3 stars.
Date published: 2018-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New Favourite "She had been hollowed out, reforged by fire. Only one path through the waves stretched before her." So. It's official. I have a new favourite book. I grew up loving Tristan and Iseult, so when I found out that there was going to be a book that re-imagined the story coming out in 2018, to say that I was excited would be more than an understatement. After Children of Blood and Bone, this was my most anticipated book of the year, and I absolutely could not wait to get my hands on it. Okay, so. I read Tristan and Iseult a long time ago, and I have a pretty bad memory, so I can't tell you how similar Sweet Black Waves is to the original story. However, I can tell you that it gave me very similar vibes, imagery-wise. I remember images from Tristan and Iseult that have stuck in my heads since I first read it, and this book reminded me of those images. And by images, I mean images I made up in my mind whilst reading; not literal images on the page. But anyway, yes. Whilst I can't tell you if this story is 100% like Tristan and Iseult (which it probably isn't since it follows Branwen), I can tell you that it's amazing. First, the characters are so complex and fun to read about that I constantly wanted to find out what was going to happen to them next. Branwen, the protagonist, was strong and principled, whilst still being human. Meaning that she still had flaws, and though she's one of my favourite characters of all time, she's definitely not perfect. Then there's Eseult, who can be annoying at times, but who you can't help but feel for, which might have to do with how much Branwen cares for her. The friendship between those two is one of the strongest aspects of this novel, and I would do anything for the two of them. There's also Tristan, who I love, but honestly, Branwen kind of steals the show. Which makes sense since she's the protagonist, but you know what I mean. At least, I hope so. Next, the pacing was perfect in my opinion. Things happened without it being necessarily fast-paced, and that's something I really appreciate in the book. I tend to prefer slower stories, whilst also not liking when absolutely nothing happens, and this felt like a perfect mix of action and character development. I especially loved that the trial aspect of this book didn't take too long, as I often get bored of competitions in novels. I don't know why, but it's just something I don't necessarily enjoy. Plus, there's the love story. Which, like, it's a love story. I should have been prepared. But I'm not usually one for romance, so I didn't have high hopes regarding it. But oh, how wrong I was. I can't tell you who I shipped in fear of spoiling things, but let me just tell you that they might possibly be my all-time favourite couple. I loved them so much, and I definitely need more of them in my life. Finally, I love that this book managed to make me cry. I honestly can't remember the last time before this when a book made me shed a tear, and am therefore extremely thankful that Sweet Black Waves managed to make me feel so strongly. All in all, this is officially my all-time favourite book, and I can't recommend it enough.
Date published: 2018-06-19

Editorial Reviews

"Star-crossed love, tested loyalties, and magic that binds and burns-Sweet Black Waves gripped me all the way to the shocking ending." -Heidi Heilig, author of The Girl from Everywhere and The Ship Beyond Time"Intense, swoon worthy, and smart." -Vic James, author of Gilded Cage and Tarnished City"An enchanting story of fierce friendship and dangerous love . . . Pérez has written a book that whispers the sound of the ocean as you turn each page." -Alice Broadway, author of the Ink Trilogy"Fans of Joan Wolf's Dark Ages of Britain trilogy and Tessa Gratton's The Queens of Innis Lear will enjoy this dreamy tale, which is carried along with vibrant descriptions and intense emotion." -RT Reviews "The female characters are vivid, powerful, and passionate.a thrilling roller coaster." -Kirkus Reviews"Set sail on a swashbuckling adventure that is lush with magic, pirates, bravery, kingdoms, love, and faith...Give to fans of Kristin Cashore's Graceling and Jessica Leake's Beyond a Darkened Shore." -School Library Journal "Closes with a devastating cliff-hanger that will leave readers eager for a sequel." -Publishers Weekly