The Afterlife Of Holly Chase by Cynthia HandThe Afterlife Of Holly Chase by Cynthia Hand

The Afterlife Of Holly Chase

byCynthia Hand

Paperback | November 6, 2018

Pricing and Purchase Info

$9.37 online 
$12.50 list price save 25%
Earn 47 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

Before I Fall meets “bah, humbug” in this contemporary YA reimagining of A Christmas Carol from New York Times bestselling author Cynthia Hand.

On Christmas Eve five years ago, seventeen-year-old Holly Chase was visited by three Ghosts who showed her how selfish and spoiled she’d become. They tried to convince her to mend her ways. She didn’t. And then she died.

Now she’s stuck working for the top-secret company Project Scrooge—as their latest Ghost of Christmas Past. So far, Holly’s afterlife has been miserable. But this year’s Scrooge is different. This year’s Scrooge might change everything…

The Afterlife of Holly Chase is a witty, poignant, and insightful novel about life, love, and seizing second (or third) chances, perfect for readers who loved Before I Fall or Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares.

Cynthia Hand is the New York Times bestselling author of the Unearthly series with HarperTeen: Unearthly, Hallowed, Radiant (an enovella) and Boundless, and the NYT bestselling contemporary, The Last Time We Say Goodbye. She teaches courses in creative writing at Boise State University. Her book, My Lady Jane, (cowritten with Brodi Ash...
Loading
Title:The Afterlife Of Holly ChaseFormat:PaperbackProduct dimensions:416 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.94 inShipping dimensions:8 × 5.31 × 0.94 inPublished:November 6, 2018Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062318519

ISBN - 13:9780062318510

Reviews

Rated 2 out of 5 by from Review from This is the Story of My(Reading) Life Too long. Like it was fine. A nice little spin on A Christmas Carol. Hooked me for a few chapters, then I was kind of bored and then the ending was what I thought would happen until the very end which was different. L.O.L. Cheesy and pretty feel-good Christmas story.
Date published: 2019-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it! I loved this book! This story is a unique twist on A Christmas Carol. A company called Project Scrooge plans out a night of ghosts for a new Scrooge every Christmas Eve. They spend the whole year studying the Scrooge so they can provide the most effective memories for that night. However, this year is different because Holly, a former failed Scrooge, falls for their current Scrooge, Evan Winters III. Though this book is centred around Christmas, it does not have to be read during Christmas. I read it at Christmas because I thought it was meant to be a holiday story, but it could be read any time of year. Most of the story takes place in the year leading up to December 25th, so it could be read at any time. I was completely surprised at the ending. I never could have guessed what happened. I won’t spoil it, but I will say that I was pleasantly surprised. I really enjoyed this book. I’ll be recommending it all year!
Date published: 2018-12-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The Ending Was The Best Part 3.5 stars Overall, I did like this book. I thought the idea and manipulation of the story of Scrooge into this modernized version was incredibly unique. It was unlike anything I've read before in a retelling that we have seen retold all too often. With that being said, as unique as this plot was, I found the execution of the story was where it missed the mark for me. The pacing of the novel was just too slow for me and I found that this novel took me much longer to complete than it typically would for a novel with a similar size. I just kept on getting bored with the story. The ending; however, made up for any of the boredom that the rest of this novel caused. I think the novel actually made me reevaluate how I felt for the rest of the story and I think knowing the ending, it would give the book a higher rating if I were to read it again. Sounds confusing but if you have read the novel, you may understand what I mean.
Date published: 2018-12-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Had hopes... I felt very much like a scrooge with this book. I didn't like any of the characters (if anything, I found them irritating). Just wasn't impressed with this one and felt that it was predictable.
Date published: 2018-05-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Really wanted to like this I did not enjoy this. I thought it was cheesy, the writing wasn't the best, the characters didn't develop well, the plot twist wasn't shocking, and then the romance disappeared for some tacked on feminist reason that felt like cop out.
Date published: 2018-05-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I really enjoy reading this book!! Love this book. It was so great and love this happy ending.
Date published: 2018-01-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Seasonal Read I had hoped to get to this book before or on Christmas, however this was not the case. The fact that it was the week after Christmas did not matter. The characters in this book were amazing and very well rounded. Many people say they did not enjoy the main character, but that is the point she is a scrooge after all. I would recommend this to young and old during the holiday season.
Date published: 2018-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Christmas Read! I loved the ending of this one. Great re-telling of a Christmas Carol.
Date published: 2018-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SO ENJOYABLE! I have not heard that many people talking about this book but it was so good! An amazing Christmas Carol retelling with a twist. It sucks you in from the first page and you just can not put it down. The way it ended was so unique and really refreshing, this book is must read for the holiday season!
Date published: 2018-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Retelling! The Afterlife of Holly Chase was the first book I've ever personally read by Cynthia Hand. It was featured in one of Epic Reads's First Five emails, and after I read the first chapter I was already so hooked on this story that I knew I needed to pick up a copy for myself, and find out what happens during the rest of the story. A YA retelling of one of my all time favorite Christmas stories, A Christmas Carol, was definitely something I was interested in picking up, as it's such an original story idea, and I felt there could be so many things a YA author could do with a retelling of this classic novel. While in some ways it was exactly what I was expecting, in so many other ways it was nothing at all like I had imagined, and I loved the different direction that Cynthia Hand went with this story idea. Holly Chase was a bitter, spoiled rotten teenager who didn't change her ways when she was chosen as America's Scrooge. She sealed her own fate when she failed to take the ghost's seriously, and as a result, she's chosen as the Ghost of Christmas Past, and is forced to visit a new Scrooge every Christmas Eve to try and encourage them to change their ways, which she herself wasn't able to do. Project Scrooge is a complicated company, and it involves many players, and an odd assortment of secondary characters who spend most of the year plotting and planning their Christmas Eve escapades. After five years of working as the Ghost of Christmas Past, Holly's become kind of complacent, and doesn't think too much of either her life or work. However, this year will change everything when this year's Scrooge is a seventeen year old heir named Ethan, that Holly feels instantly connected with. Soon she's blurring the lines between her responsibilities, and her feelings, and this Christmas is soon becoming unlike anything she's ever experienced before. The Afterlife of Holly Chase is a witty, sarcastic, hysterically funny novel that also shines a light on second chances, and learning from mistakes. It also emphasizes the importance of companionship, especially during the holidays, and the self sacrifices it sometimes takes to save someone else's life. I fully expected to like this novel, but I didn't expect to completely love it, and I can't possibly recommend this beautiful novel enough. The plot was well written, and well paced, the world building was spot on, and the reader literally felt like they were right their at Project Scrooge themselves, the romance was honestly adorable, even though it is basically insta-love, I still loved how it seemed to touch a part of Holly that she was determined to keep hidden from everyone. And just when I thought it couldn't get any better, the beautiful ending happened, and I found myself completely unprepared for the direction that Cynthia Hand went with this. Generally, I find myself not being a fan of this type of ending, but this time, I felt it was the perfect choice, and it definitely demonstrated just how much Holly had grown up during her time at Project Scrooge. All in all, this is definitely my favorite Christmas novel I've read so far this year, and I rated it five out of five stars! Definitely give this one a chance guys if you haven't already.
Date published: 2017-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVED This was an adorable holiday read! The writing was great, the characters are likeable yet flawed and there was a nice twist/surprise at the end. It was a fun spin on a pretty classic story that, I think, a newer generation could appreciate and relate more too. I'm not normally a fan of romances being a big part of the story but it wasn't cheesy! It's not a fairytale ending but it was an ending that made sense!
Date published: 2017-11-14

Editorial Reviews

"Hand debuts with an engrossing take on the angel mythos... an engaging and romantic tale with solid backstory."