The Birth Yard: A Novel

March 3, 2020|
The Birth Yard: A Novel by Mallory Tater
$22.99
Paperback
Earn 115 plum® points
Buy Online
Ship to an address
Free shipping on orders over $35
Pick up in store
To see if pickup is available,
Find In Store
To check store inventory,
Prices and offers may vary in store

about

A debut novel for readers of The Handmaid''s Tale and The Girls, The Birth Yard is a gripping story of a young woman''s rebellion against the rules that control her body

Sable Ursu has just turned eighteen, which means she is ready to breed. Within the confines of her world, a patriarchal cult known as the Den, female fertility and sexuality are wholly controlled by Men. In the season they come of age, Sable and her friends Mamie and Dinah are each paired with a Match with the purpose of conceiving a child. Sable is paired with Ambrose, the son of a favoured Man in the Den. Others are not so lucky.

In their second trimester, girls are sent to the Birth Yard, where they are prepared for giving birth and motherhood, but are also regularly drugged and monitored by their midwives. Sable is unable to ignore her unease about the pills they are forced to swallow and the punishments they receive for stepping out of line. Too many of the girls, including Mamie and Dinah, have secrets and it is impossible to know whom to trust. When Sable''s loyalty is questioned and her safety within the Den is threatened, she must rebel against the only life she has ever known-the only life she has been designed for.

Mallory Tater weaves an intricate narrative, equal parts suspense and action, while twisting contemporary social anxieties to dizzying extremes. She meticulously deconstructs the intricate relationships between womanhood, government and the female body. A startling and important debut novel, The Birth Yard echoes Margaret Atwood''s dark and cautionary classic The Handmaid''s Tale. But this is no dystopian world; there is no totalitarian government. The Den exists now.

Title:The Birth Yard: A Novel
Format:Paperback
Product dimensions:320 pages, 9 X 6 X 0.8 in
Shipping dimensions:320 pages, 9 X 6 X 0.8 in
Published:March 3, 2020
Publisher:HarperCollins
Language:English
Appropriate for ages:All ages
ISBN - 13:9781443458245

Recently Viewed
|