The Bookshop on the Corner: A Novel

Paperback | September 20, 2016

byJenny Colgan

not yet rated|write a review

Nina Redmond is a librarian with a gift for finding the perfect book for her readers. But can she write her own happy-ever-after? In this valentine to readers, librarians, and book-lovers the world over, the New York Times-bestselling author of Little Beach Street Bakery returns with a funny, moving new novel for fans of Meg Donohue, Sophie Kinsella, and Nina George’s The Little Paris Bookshop.

“Losing myself in Jenny Colgan’s beautiful pages is the most delicious, comforting, satisfying treat I have had in ages.”—Jane Green, New York Times bestselling author of Summer Secrets

Nina Redmond is a literary matchmaker. Pairing a reader with that perfect book is her passion… and also her job. Or at least it was. Until yesterday, she was a librarian in the hectic city. But now the job she loved is no more.

Determined to make a new life for herself, Nina moves to a sleepy village many miles away. There she buys a van and transforms it into a bookmobile—a mobile bookshop that she drives from neighborhood to neighborhood, changing one life after another with the power of storytelling. 

From helping her grumpy landlord deliver a lamb, to sharing picnics with a charming train conductor who serenades her with poetry, Nina discovers there’s plenty of adventure, magic, and soul in a place that’s beginning to feel like home… a place where she just might be able to write her own happy ending.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$16.73 online
$18.50 list price (save 9%)
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

Nina Redmond is a librarian with a gift for finding the perfect book for her readers. But can she write her own happy-ever-after? In this valentine to readers, librarians, and book-lovers the world over, the New York Times-bestselling author of Little Beach Street Bakery returns with a funny, moving new novel for fans of Meg Donohue, S...

From the Jacket

Nina Redmond is a literary matchmaker. Pairing a reader with that perfect book is her passion . . . and also her job. Or at least it was. Until yesterday, she was a librarian in the hectic city. But now the job she loved is no more.Determined to make a new life for herself, Nina moves to a sleepy village many miles away. There she buys...

Jenny Colgan lives in London, England.

other books by Jenny Colgan

The Loveliest Chocolate Shop In Paris: A Heartwarming, Bittersweet Story Of Love Lost And Found
The Loveliest Chocolate Shop In Paris: A Heartwarming, ...

Paperback|Feb 4 2014

$19.90 online$20.99list price(save 5%)
Little Beach Street Bakery: A Novel
Little Beach Street Bakery: A Novel

Paperback|Mar 31 2015

$13.50 online$18.50list price(save 27%)
Sweetshop of Dreams: A Charming Story Of Nostalgic Sweets And Unexpected Discoveries
Sweetshop of Dreams: A Charming Story Of Nostalgic Swee...

Paperback|Jul 29 2014

$14.65 online$20.99list price(save 30%)
see all books by Jenny Colgan
Format:PaperbackDimensions:368 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.83 inPublished:September 20, 2016Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062467255

ISBN - 13:9780062467256

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of The Bookshop on the Corner: A Novel

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Delightful! Jenny Colgan’s The Bookshop on the Corner was a delightful story of a woman who forges a new life for herself after losing her job. I enjoyed the authors laid back writing style, which made for a quick and entertaining story. This book was host to a cast of wonderful characters. The rural Scotland setting and the culture was beautifully described. Nina’s passion and knowledge of books will be very appealing to readers. I would recommend The Bookshop on the Corner to fans of contemporary fiction. I look forward to reading more from Jenny Colgan in the future. I was sent a copy of The Bookshop on the Corner by Jenny Colgan, from HarperCollins and TLC Book Tours in exchange for an honest review.
Date published: 2016-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect escapist reading Oh, can I tell you how much I enjoy Jenny Colgan's books! A lot - I could happily live in any one of the worlds that Jenny has created in her books. Her latest North American release is The Bookshop on the Corner - and its my new favourite. (Released in Britain as The Little Shop of Happy-Ever-After - which I prefer as a title.) What makes this latest my favourite? Books, books, and more books and oh yeah, a bookbus! Jenny's Message to Readers before you even read the first page sets to the tone and stage for booklovers everywhere. Literally - it's a discussion of where to read - bathtub? Bed? Etc. Colgan's humour and warmth leap off the page. Somewhat - no, just like her writing. Nina Redmond is a librarian in Birmingham England, happy in her job, connecting readers with just the right book. (And reading as much as she can.) "Helping to match people to the book that would change their life, or make them fall in love, or get over a love affair gone wrong." Until her library board decides to 'compress library services, become a hub with a multimedia experience zone, a coffee shop and an intersensory experience." Bottom line? Nina is out of a job. Does she dare to bring her dream of a travelling bookshop to fruition? She does - and the reader is happily along for the ride as she navigates buying a van, finding books, finding a new home, finding herself and maybe, just maybe, finding love....... Nina is a wonderful character, someone you would absolutely love to count among your friends. The supporting cast is fun and quirky - notably best friend Surinder - and the residents of Kirrinfief, Scotland. And the two (yes, two) romantic interests - lovely as well. You certainly don't need to be a librarian to love this book (although if my library decides to downsize, I think a travelling bookshop is a splendid dream job.....) If you think you would enjoy a sweet, delightful, heartwarming story punctuated by books, with a lovely helping of romance, then The Bookshop on the Corner is a match for you. I loved this one - five stars for me. I can't wait for Colgan's next book!
Date published: 2016-09-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cute Scottish chick-lit read although its title doesn’t exactly match. The Bookshop on the Corner is a story by Jenny Colgan set in the UK. To me, it was reminiscent of The Little Paris Bookshop (except for the obvious differences). It tells the story of Nina Redmond, a librarian who delights in ‘matchmaking’ patrons at her library with their perfect books. Because of cuts and downsizing, Nina’s library is going to close. She sees the books heading to the dump and decides to liberate them and sell them in her van – sort of like a mobile bookshop. One thing that made me curious once I had finished the book was its title. After all, how could a bookshop be on the corner if it’s in a van? And so I decided to check online. Mystery solved. From what I learned, the book is being sold in the UK with a different title – specifically, the title that Nina names her nomadic business, The Little Shop of Happy Ever After (which fits a little better than its North American title) and is a really cute name for a book business. As for the actual story, I loved the parts of the book where Nina gave recommendations to people in the street looking for the perfect book and enjoyed the times when she fought city councils for the right to stay in the cities and sell from her van. I must admit that I wasn’t engaged in the love interest part of the story or vested in its outcome – I found the other secondary characters much more fun. In all I’d have to say that this was a fun and breezy read although it did make me want to look up a lot of books online (and possibly purchase them) and also made me want to take a trip to the UK in order to come across these little towns and the people who inhabit them. So I’d recommend to anyone to take a little trip through the UK with Nina and enjoy her book matchmaking efforts; you won’t regret it.
Date published: 2016-09-16