The Caged Queen by Kristen CiccarelliThe Caged Queen by Kristen Ciccarelli

The Caged Queen

byKristen Ciccarelli

Hardcover | September 25, 2018

Pricing and Purchase Info

$20.13 online 
$21.99 list price save 8%
Earn 101 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

Kristen Ciccarelli’s distinct brand of lyrical, haunting fantasy continues in the companion to her bestselling debut, The Last Namsara. Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and Renee Ahdieh.

Once there were two sisters born with a bond so strong that it forged them together forever. Roa and Essie called it the hum. It was a magic they cherished—until the day a terrible accident took Essie’s life and trapped her soul in this world.

Dax—the heir to Firgaard’s throne—was responsible for the accident. Roa swore to hate him forever. But eight years later he returned, begging for her help. He was determined to dethrone his cruel father, under whose oppressive reign Roa’s people had suffered.

Roa made him a deal: she’d give him the army he needed if he made her queen. Only as queen could she save her people from Firgaard’s rule.

Then a chance arises to right every wrong—an opportunity for Roa to rid herself of this enemy king and rescue her beloved sister. During the Relinquishing, when the spirits of the dead are said to return, Roa discovers she can reclaim her sister for good.

All she has to do is kill the king.

Title:The Caged QueenFormat:HardcoverDimensions:400 pages, 9 × 6 × 1.25 inPublished:September 25, 2018Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062568019

ISBN - 13:9780062568014

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love!!! Could not put this book down! I cannot wait for the third book in this series!
Date published: 2018-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Betrayal and Sacrifice And we're back with another epic story and romance from the ISKARI universe! Since this story mainly focused on Roa, I wasn't sure where it would go and how she would compare to Asha. I'll say right off the bat that it's a much more political intrigue and conspiracy story. The level of betrayal was waaaaay steeper than the previous instalment, and I felt that between the two, this is the stronger of the two in terms of the story. To be clear, I LOVED this book. It's everything THE LAST NAMSARA was, just a different type of story. There are a few nitpicks, but honestly, I was just as invested and holding my breath as the pages turned. The story was heart-wrenching and complex and tense. The characters were even more complicated, and the core of the book. I definitely wanted to keep reading, and even though there were some things I managed to predict some plot elements, I still wanted to know how else the character's plans could go awry. There were a few unanswered elements and actions that didn't seem to have the consequences I'd anticipated or expected, but I still have no complaints! As before, the side characters are all very interesting and have their own strong backstories that add to the main plot. The two big draws however, are Roa and Dax. I'll say right now that I always liked Dax, but completely fell in love with him in this book. He's just so GOOD. Not perfect, but good. By contrast, Roa is delightfully complex. While I never hated her, even when her choices frustrated me, I understood her motives and sympathized with her. I was surprised by the depth of her loyalty, and wish she'd been willing to trust more. She's still a strong, conflicted character, and not a conventional hero. I'm absolutely loving this series and can't wait for the next book, and the next young woman who's got a story to tell.
Date published: 2018-10-19

Editorial Reviews

“This coming-of-age narrative shows the struggles of learning to trust one’s own mind and heart. Fantasy YA readers will love this story of a girl and her dragons. They will be dying to know what happens on their next adventure.”