The Care And Feeding Of Ravenously Hungry Girls by Anissa GrayThe Care And Feeding Of Ravenously Hungry Girls by Anissa Gray

The Care And Feeding Of Ravenously Hungry Girls

byAnissa Gray

Hardcover | February 19, 2019

Pricing and Purchase Info

$31.51 online 
$35.00 list price save 9%
Earn 158 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

Pre-order online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not yet available in stores

about

The Mothers meets An American Marriage in this dazzling debut novel about mothers and daughters, identity and family, and how the relationships that sustain you can also be the ones that consume you.

The Butler family has had their share of trials—as sisters Althea, Viola, and Lillian can attest—but nothing prepared them for the literal trial that will upend their lives.
 
Althea, the eldest sister and substitute matriarch, is a force to be reckoned with and her younger sisters have alternately appreciated and chafed at her strong will. They are as stunned as the rest of the small community when she and her husband Proctor are arrested, and in a heartbeat the family goes from one of the most respected in town to utter disgrace. The worst part is, not even her sisters are sure exactly what happened.
 
As Althea awaits her fate, Lillian and Viola must come together in the house they grew up in to care for their sister’s teenage daughters. What unfolds is a stunning portrait of the heart and core of an American family in a story that is as page-turning as it is important.
Anissa Gray is an Emmy and duPont-Columbia award-winning journalist at CNN Worldwide, responsible for helping to guide coverage of some of the most consequential stories of our time. She began her career at Reuters as a reporter, based in New York, covering business news and international finance. Born in St. Joseph, Michigan, Gray stu...
Loading
Title:The Care And Feeding Of Ravenously Hungry GirlsFormat:HardcoverDimensions:304 pages, 9 × 6 × 0.75 inPublished:February 19, 2019Publisher:Penguin Publishing GroupLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1984802437

ISBN - 13:9781984802439

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Bookclub Guide

Questions for Discussion 1.   Early in the novel, Althea says, “I used to think I was like a river. A mighty force of nature.” What does she mean by this, and how does her view of herself change by the end of the novel? 2.   Why do you think Baby Viola is Althea’s favored child? How does this affect Baby Vi, and what does it mean for Kim, who is so at odds with her mother? 3.   Even in death, the presence of the Butler parents can be felt throughout the story. How do parental relationships affect each of the sisters and Joe? 4.   How do you think Baby Vi and Kim will be affected by the long-term incarceration of their parents? 5.   The relationships between Althea, Viola, Lillian, and Joe range from being warm to being incredibly fraught. How do the siblings understand or misunderstand one another in crucial ways? 6.   Discuss Althea’s relationship with her mother and the significance of the Bible Althea later sends to Lillian. 7.   The sisters all undergo transformations over the course of the novel. Discuss the critical changes each sister experiences and what led up to those moments. 8.   When Lillian, who has been the caregiver for her nieces, urges Viola to take the girls, Viola is resistant. Compare the ways in which the sisters view and approach their family commitments and how that changes over time. 9.   While family relationships are at the heart of the novel, friendships are crucially important as well. Which friendship pairings—Lillian and Nai Nai; Viola and David; Althea and Mercedes—were most resonant? 10. Late in the novel, Viola says, “I’m thinking of how limits become limber. Pliable, when pressed with the thing in you that cries out, endlessly, More, please.” Discuss how this applies to each of the characters and the title of the book.

Editorial Reviews

Praise for The Care and Feeding of Ravenously Hungry Girls:“I was immediately taken by the power and honesty of Anissa Gray’s voice. She is a writer to watch, and this debut is not to be missed!”—Terry McMillan, New York Times bestselling author of I Almost Forgot About You and Waiting to Exhale“A poetically written story that guides us through a deep darkness toward a faint whisper of light seeping from beneath a closet door. A light that shows how love and forgiveness can come from unexpected places and triumph over more than we ever imagine.”—Delia Owens, New York Times bestselling author of Where the Crawdads Sing“A trio of sisters navigate the tricky waters of forgiveness in Gray’s heartfelt, beautifully written debut...Get an extra copy for your best friend or your own sister; this is one you’re going to want to talk about.”—Joshilyn Jackson, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author“Gray beautifully captures the way strong women can piece a community back together, taking care of their loved ones while still figuring out how to care for themselves. A graceful debut that feels timely and important.”—Karin Tanabe, author of The Gilded Years“This is perfect for fans of Brit Bennett’s The Mothers; readers will be deeply affected by this story of a family wrestling to support itself.”—Publisher's Weekly