The Cerulean by Amy EwingThe Cerulean by Amy Ewing

The Cerulean

byAmy Ewing

Hardcover | January 29, 2019

Pricing and Purchase Info

$19.90 online 
$21.99 list price save 9%
Earn 100 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Special Offer
Quantity:

Pre-order online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not yet available in stores

about

From New York Times bestselling author Amy Ewing (The Jewel) comes the exciting first book in a new fantasy duology. Rich, vivid world-building and ethereal magic combine in an epic tale that’s perfect for fans of Snow Like Ashes, These Broken Stars, or Magonia.

Sera Lighthaven has always felt as if she didn’t quite belong among her people, the Cerulean, who live in the City Above the Sky. She is curious about everything—especially the planet that her City is magically tethered to—and can’t stop questioning things. Sera has always longed for the day when the tether will finally break and the Cerulean can move to a new planet.

But when Sera is chosen as the sacrifice to break the tether, she feels betrayed by everything in which she’d been taught to trust. In order to save her City, Sera must end her own life.

But something goes wrong, and Sera survives, ending up on the planet below in a country called Kaolin. Sera has heard tales about the dangerous humans who live here, and she quickly learns that these dangers were not just stories.

Meanwhile, back in the City, all is not what it seems, and the life of every Cerulean may be in danger if Sera is not able to find a way home.

Title:The CeruleanFormat:HardcoverDimensions:496 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 1.49 inPublished:January 29, 2019Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062489984

ISBN - 13:9780062489982

Look for similar items by category:

Loading

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Unique and Gripping Fantasy This book was so unique and gripped me from the very first page. There are definite feminist tones throughout the whole novel which were handled so well, I loved having so many strong female characters in my night reading. Really enjoyed the multiple points of view in this book too (normally it just annoys the hell out of me, but somehow it worked here). I have seen a lot of debate over the queer aspects of the characters in this book, Sera being the only non-homosexual in a community of homosexual relationships, and on the planet Agnes is a queer woman forced into a hetero relationship by societal norms. I won't claim to know nearly enough about the problems with this, I'm sure that the queer community will be able to articulate and debate this with much more nuance than I, but I will say I like that the author explored the discomfort of both girls out of their element, and from my (very limited) view I like that she didn't shy away from diversity in her characters and that their sexuality was treated by the author as a normal part of the greater whole of who they were. If any of that makes sense. The community of women working together in the sky was inspiring, and the love shown there in the families made me smile (even though there is something amiss in this city in the sky as there is in any great adventure/fantasy novel). As I said, the LGBTQ community will have much more nuanced views, but I was glad at least that I got to experience more queer characters in an adventurous fantasy novel, I would love to see more novel like this. Loved the world building, especially the floating city that moved to different planets through space to sustain itself. I could see how this could evolve through the series as not only a wondrous thing, but also problematic in its parasitic like qualities on the earth below. So many threads were being woven, and while not all are answered by the end I literally cannot wait for the second installment of this book.
Date published: 2018-12-07

Editorial Reviews

“Fast pace and constant action make for an interesting read.”