The Chilbury Ladies' Choir: A Novel

February 28, 2019|
The Chilbury Ladies' Choir: A Novel by Jennifer Ryan
$8.00 
$33.00
Hardcover
Earn 40 plum® points
Buy Online
Ship to an address
Out of stock online.
Pick up in store
To see if pickup is available,
Buy In Store
To check store inventory,
Prices and offers may vary in store

about

NATIONAL BESTSELLER

“A delightful debut.”—People 

For readers of Lilac Girls and The Nightingale, The Chilbury Ladies' Choir unfolds the struggles, affairs, deceptions, and triumphs of a village choir during World War II.

As England becomes enmeshed in the early days of World War II and the men are away fighting, the women of Chilbury village forge an uncommon bond. They defy the Vicar’s stuffy edict to close the choir and instead “carry on singing,” resurrecting themselves as the Chilbury Ladies’ Choir. We come to know the home-front struggles of five unforgettable choir members: a timid widow devastated when her only son goes to fight; the older daughter of a local scion drawn to a mysterious artist; her younger sister pining over an impossible crush; a Jewish refugee from Czechoslovakia hiding a family secret; and a conniving midwife plotting to outrun her seedy past.
 
An enchanting ensemble story that shuttles from village intrigue to romance to the heartbreaking matters of life and death, Jennifer Ryan’s debut novel thrillingly illuminates the true strength of the women on the home front in a village of indomitable spirit.
Title:The Chilbury Ladies' Choir: A Novel
Format:Hardcover
Product dimensions:384 pages, 9.5 X 6.4 X 1.2 in
Shipping dimensions:384 pages, 9.5 X 6.4 X 1.2 in
Published:February 28, 2019
Publisher:Crown/Archetype
Language:English
Appropriate for ages:All ages
ISBN - 13:9781101906750

Recently Viewed
|