The Hiding Place: A Novel by C. J. TudorThe Hiding Place: A Novel by C. J. Tudor

The Hiding Place: A Novel

byC. J. Tudor

Paperback | February 5, 2019

Pricing and Purchase Info

$22.20 online 
$24.95 list price save 11%
Earn 111 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

The thrilling second novel from the author of The Chalk Man, about a teacher with a hidden agenda who returns to settle scores at a school he once attended, only to uncover a darker secret than he could have imagined.

Joe never wanted to come back to Arnhill. After the way things ended with his old gang--the betrayal, the suicide, the murder--and after what happened when his sister went missing, the last thing he wanted to do was return to his hometown. But Joe doesn't have a choice. Because judging by what was done to that poor Morton kid, what happened all those years ago to Joe's sister is happening again. And only Joe knows who is really at fault.

Lying his way into a teaching job at his former high school is the easy part. Facing off with former friends who are none too happy to have him back in town--while avoiding the enemies he's made in the years since--is tougher. But the hardest part of all will be returning to that abandoned mine where it all went wrong and his life changed forever, and finally confronting the shocking, horrifying truth about Arnhill, his sister and himself. Because for Joe, the worst moment of his life wasn't the day his sister went missing.

It was the day she came back.

With the same virtuosic command of character and pacing she displayed in The Chalk Man, C.J. Tudor has once again crafted an extraordinary novel that brilliantly blends harrowing psychological suspense, a devilishly puzzling mystery, and enough shocks and thrills to satisfy even the most seasoned reader.
C.J. TUDOR is the author of The Chalk Man, and lives in Nottingham, England, with her partner and young daughter. Over the years she has worked as a copywriter, television presenter, voice-over actor and dog walker. She is now thrilled to be able to write full-time, and doesn't miss chasing wet dogs through muddy fields all that much.
Loading
Title:The Hiding Place: A NovelFormat:PaperbackDimensions:288 pages, 9.17 × 6.33 × 0.73 inPublished:February 5, 2019Publisher:Doubleday CanadaLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:038569010X

ISBN - 13:9780385690102

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from The perfect read for Stephen King fans! I was so excited for this one after loving The Chalk Man last year so much - and I wasn't disappointed. Yet again CJ Tudor manages to pull together a deeply suspenseful and wonderfully haunting story. I've seen several people compare this to a specific Stephen King book (which I won't name in fear of creating a spoiler vibe), and I have to agree. There are definitely King vibes to this particular story, but it really didn't detract from the story for me in any way. I still really enjoyed the ride of where this story was going to go. I honestly also really enjoyed Joe as a character - he is kind of a dirtbag, he is super flawed, he is making mistakes left and right, and YET. Yet, there is still a kind soul somewhere inside him - he is a compassionate teacher, he clearly loved his sister, and you end up rooting for him despite the worst aspects of him. I wanted to see him succeed in his plan, as screwed up as the plan really was. I devoured this book in one sitting, and I cannot wait to hear what other readers think of this one, as I think it will have some hot debate topics! If you loved the Chalk Man and you love a good King book, this is FOR SURE the book for you!
Date published: 2019-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unsettling and excellently creepy. Holy balls can C.J. Tudor write a good book! Honestly, The Hiding Place is probably the creepiest book I have read since…well…The Chalk Man. You can’t help but being pulled in to this dark and disturbing story. Amazing authors like King and Hill can scare you but Tudor will leave you deeply unsettled and chilled to the bone. I don’t freak out easy when it comes to horror but I read this book in one sitting…alone…at night. Literal goosebumps and worth every second. I know I’m keeping this review short and sweet but I honestly did not find one single flaw with The Hiding Place, other than the fact that I’m going to have to buy this twice; one US cover and title and one UK. In short: Buy. This. Book. You might need to sleep with the lights on for a few days, but it’ll be worth it!
Date published: 2019-02-05

Editorial Reviews

"Tudor maintains a tone of creeping dread throughout the book, of something lingering always in the background, coyly hiding its face while whispering promises of very bad things to come. In the last quarter, however, she goes for broke with outright horror, giving readers an effective jolt of adrenaline that will carry them all the way to the terriyfing conclusion. Readers won't know what hit them. Tudor came out swinging with The Chalk Man, but this one puts her firmly on the map. Not to be missed." —Kirkus Reviews"Tudor has crafted another fantastic horror-tinged thriller (after The Chalk Man, 2018) in the vein of John Connolly and Brendan Duffy" —Booklist"Some writers have it, and some don't. C.J. Tudor has it big time—The Hiding Place is terrific in every way." —Lee Child"Dark, gothic and utterly compelling, The Hiding Place pulls off a rare combination—an atmosphere of unsettling evil along with richly nuanced characterisation." —JP Delaney, internationally bestselling author of The Girl Before "With The Hiding Place, C.J. Tudor has proven that she is a true master at creating perfectly dark, highly propulsive and tightly coiled mysteries that are utterly impossible to put down. From page one, the reader is pulled in with a gathering sense of dread, and taken on an addictive, thrilling ride to the very last page." —Aimee Molloy, New York Times bestselling author of The Perfect Mother  "Gripping and dark, The Hiding Place descends like its very own mine shaft, getting creepier the further you go. You'll race to the finish." —Roz Nay, internationally bestselling author of Our Little Secret  "Razor-sharp writing and masterful plotting drive this dark story about a small town, buried secrets and ghosts from the past. Witty and compelling all at once, The Hiding Place is a must read page-turner!" —Wendy Walker, bestselling author of All Is Not Forgotten  "Delicious in every way. A deliciously creepy story, deliciously told. Storytelling like a siren's song: your hair will prickle and stand on end but you won't be able to tear your eyes from the page. If you like Tana French, you will love, love, love C.J. Tudor." —Alma Katsu, author of The Hunger  "WOW WOW WOW! C.J. Tudor's follow-up to her impressive debut is superbly chilling and delightfully creepy. Smartly written and brilliantly plotted, here is a book that crawls under your skin and hooks on until you reach that jaw-dropping ending." —C.J. Cooke, author of I Know My Name"Deliciously creepy, impeccably plotted and laced with both wicked humor and genuine shocks, The Hiding Place is the kind of read-under-the-covers thriller you didn't think people wrote anymore. Lucky for us, C.J. Tudor still does. An absolute corker of a book." —Riley Sager, New York Times bestselling author of Final Girls and The Last Time I Lied