The Lifeboat Clique by Kathy ParksThe Lifeboat Clique by Kathy Parks

The Lifeboat Clique

byKathy Parks

Hardcover | March 1, 2016

Pricing and Purchase Info

$19.78 online 
$21.99 list price save 10%
Earn 99 plum® points
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

Mean Girls meets Life of Pi in this darkly humorous, compulsively readable teen novel that’s perfect for fans of Libba Bray and Andrew Smith. A hilariously dark and twisted story that sparkles with a remarkably fresh voice, The Lifeboat Clique is Kathy Parks's irreverent yet insightful novel about how to survive in the most unthinkable circumstances. 

Some people might say that Denver has a death wish. Why else would she dare to sneak into a Malibu beach party where she’d be surrounded by enemies?

Oh yeah. Croix. Denver never thought in a million years he’d ask her out, but who is she to question this miracle of fate?

Well, that isn’t the only surprise fate has in store.

During the party a tsunami hits the coast of California, and Denver and a handful of others escape death and are swept out to sea. Of course, one of her fellow castaways is none other than her ex-BFF, Abigail, who can barely stand the sight of her.

Trapped on a small boat with the most popular kids in school and waiting to be rescued, Denver wonders what might kill her first—dehydration, sunstroke, or the girl she used to think of as a sister?

Title:The Lifeboat CliqueFormat:HardcoverDimensions:336 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 1.09 inPublished:March 1, 2016Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062393960

ISBN - 13:9780062393968

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Overall it was great. The book was great. It had its ups and its downs. It made me want to keep reading but some parts were repetitive. Overall I really enjoyed it and would read it again.
Date published: 2017-03-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Recommended! I love survival stories, so the synopsis for The Lifeboat Clique definitely captured my attention. This book also has a bit of a mean-girls element to the story which is another thing I love to read about. So right away, I was looking forward to reading it! I think I saw somewhere that this book was recommended for readers who liked Beauty Queens by Libba Bray. Well I loved Beauty Queens, with its satire and snark, and so I was really pleased right off the bat with The Lifeboat Clique, because the protagonist Denver had a voice that felt very snarky and smart. I really liked her. I read the book really quickly. I was so caught up in how Denver and the others would survive, and whether or not they would ever be rescued and get back home. I also find myself caught up in the story of Denver and Abigail’s friendship. Their falling out was a bit of a mystery, told through flashbacks, and that totally kept me on edge, eager to know what happened between the former BFFs to turn them into enemies. The Lifeboat Clique was really funny and fun to read. Recommended! (Received from the publisher via Edelweiss, for free, for review consideration. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.)
Date published: 2016-04-18

Editorial Reviews

“Part adventure, part sly critique of high school politics, Parks’s novel is a sweet, moving novel about loss, friendship, and the will to both live and forgive.”