The Lost Diaries Of Susanna Moodie: A Novel by Cecily RossThe Lost Diaries Of Susanna Moodie: A Novel by Cecily Ross

The Lost Diaries Of Susanna Moodie: A Novel

byCecily Ross

Paperback | April 25, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$19.74 online 
$22.99 list price save 14%
Earn 99 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

HURRY, ONLY 3 LEFT!
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

Engrossing historical fiction for readers of Bride of New France and The Birth House about one of Canada’s most inimitable pioneers and her struggles to survive in the wilderness, brought beautifully to life in this accomplished debut

Teetering on the edge of genteel poverty, Englishwoman Susanna Moodie agrees to leave behind her growing career as a writer to follow her husband from her beloved Suffolk to the backwoods of Canada. John Moodie is an ebullient man with a weakness for money-making schemes, and he is convinced that riches await them in the New World. It is the 1830s, and despite their dreams, Susanna is woefully unprepared for life in the wilderness.

Susanna Moodie’s true story of hardship and survival in a log cabin deep in the bush is part of our national mythology. Now, respected writer and editor Cecily Ross gives us an unprecedented fictional portrait of Susanna—the sister, the wife, the mother, the writer—a woman confronting both the wilds of Canada and the wilderness of her own heart. Told through imagined lost diaries, the novel explores Susanna’s complex inner life from childhood through to the worst challenges of pioneering in a harsh and unforgiving landscape with her devoted but hapless and often absent spouse.

Part love story, part coming-of-age narrative, this captivating novel brings to vivid life Moodie’s courage, wit and strength, as well as her moments of despair. The Lost Diaries of Susanna Moodie shows how one woman, against all odds and adversity, prevails and makes this savage and beautiful land her own.

 

Title:The Lost Diaries Of Susanna Moodie: A NovelFormat:PaperbackDimensions:400 pages, 9 × 6 × 1 inPublished:April 25, 2017Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1443450197

ISBN - 13:9781443450195

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Read! The transition from girl to woman to author to wife/mother is well written. It is easy to imagine the difficulties and disappointments that Susanna Moodie would have met with. The familial interactions with her sister Catherine Parr Traill were particularly interesting, as was the struggle between independent and married woman during that time period. The struggles that Moodie endured become particularly relevant when you think of the thousands like her that came to North America in the 1830s. Excellent book, great read, hard to put down!
Date published: 2017-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Although fiction it is steeped in the facts and excellent research. This brings the privitations our settlers endured and from which we have the good life, to light. Most Excellent.
Date published: 2017-10-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wonderful Canadian Historical Fiction I really enjoyed this account of the life of Susanna Moodie. I came through with a deep appreciation for the struggles that so many faced as they tried to carve out a better life. Anyone who enjoys historical fiction and good, solid Canadian writing will want this book.
Date published: 2017-01-05

Editorial Reviews

It is heartening to see Susanna Moodie being re-envisioned so capably and thoughtfully by Cecily Ross. Moodie remains one of our great voices from the nineteenth century. Thanks to Ross’s engaging narrative we get not only Moodie herself but Mary Shelley!”