The Orphan's Tale: A Novel by Pam Jenoff

The Orphan's Tale: A Novel

byPam Jenoff

Paperback | February 21, 2017

not yet rated|write a review

Pricing and Purchase Info

$18.20 online 
$19.99
Earn 91 plum® points

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

A New York Times bestseller!

"Readers who enjoyed Kristin Hannah's The Nightingale and Sara Gruen's Water for Elephants will embrace this novel. " —Library Journal

"Secrets, lies, treachery, and passion…. I read this novel in a headlong rush." —Christina Baker Kline, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Orphan Train

A powerful novel of friendship set in a traveling circus during World War II, The Orphan's Tale introduces two extraordinary women and their harrowing stories of sacrifice and survival 

Sixteen-year-old Noa has been cast out in disgrace after becoming pregnant by a Nazi soldier and being forced to give up her baby. She lives above a small rail station, which she cleans in order to earn her keep When Noa discovers a boxcar containing dozens of Jewish infants bound for a concentration camp, she is reminded of the child that was taken from her. And in a moment that will change the course of her life, she snatches one of the babies and flees into the snowy night. 

Noa finds refuge with a German circus, but she must learn the flying trapeze act so she can blend in undetected, spurning the resentment of the lead aerialist, Astrid. At first rivals, Noa and Astrid soon forge a powerful bond. But as the facade that protects them proves increasingly tenuous, Noa and Astrid must decide whether their friendship is enough to save one another—or if the secrets that burn between them will destroy everything.

Details & Specs

Title:The Orphan's Tale: A NovelFormat:PaperbackDimensions:368 pages, 8.95 × 6.08 × 0.97 inPublished:February 21, 2017Publisher:MiraLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0778319814

ISBN - 13:9780778319818

Look for similar items by category:

Nearby Stores

We found 0 nearby stores

Customer Reviews of The Orphan's Tale: A Novel

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

"The Orphan's Tale begins with the most riveting first chapter I've ever read. With deftness and emotion, Jenoff sets in motion a compelling story of friendship and courage during the Second World War." -Charles Belfoure, author of The Paris Architect and House of Thieves