The Orphan's Tale: A Novel by Pam JenoffThe Orphan's Tale: A Novel by Pam Jenoff

The Orphan's Tale: A Novel

byPam Jenoff

Paperback | February 21, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$17.81 online 
$19.99 list price save 10%
Earn 89 plum® points
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

A New York Times bestseller!

"Readers who enjoyed Kristin Hannah's The Nightingale and Sara Gruen's Water for Elephants will embrace this novel. " —Library Journal

"Secrets, lies, treachery, and passion…. I read this novel in a headlong rush." —Christina Baker Kline, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Orphan Train

A powerful novel of friendship set in a traveling circus during World War II, The Orphan's Tale introduces two extraordinary women and their harrowing stories of sacrifice and survival 

Sixteen-year-old Noa has been cast out in disgrace after becoming pregnant by a Nazi soldier and being forced to give up her baby. She lives above a small rail station, which she cleans in order to earn her keep When Noa discovers a boxcar containing dozens of Jewish infants bound for a concentration camp, she is reminded of the child that was taken from her. And in a moment that will change the course of her life, she snatches one of the babies and flees into the snowy night. 

Noa finds refuge with a German circus, but she must learn the flying trapeze act so she can blend in undetected, spurning the resentment of the lead aerialist, Astrid. At first rivals, Noa and Astrid soon forge a powerful bond. But as the facade that protects them proves increasingly tenuous, Noa and Astrid must decide whether their friendship is enough to save one another—or if the secrets that burn between them will destroy everything.

Title:The Orphan's Tale: A NovelFormat:PaperbackDimensions:368 pages, 8.95 × 6.08 × 0.97 inPublished:February 21, 2017Publisher:MiraLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0778319814

ISBN - 13:9780778319818

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Curl Up and Enjoy! I enjoyed it incredibly and couldn't put the book down. It's an easy read with characters and story lines you want to know more about. The ending has the perfect warm fuzzy feeling this book needed!
Date published: 2017-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Story I purchased the book thinking meh another historical story with a love story embedded in it. once I started the book, I immediately fell in love with the story and the characters and had a lot of troubles putting it down.
Date published: 2017-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from You won't want to put the book down I purchased this book back when it first came out in February and I placed it away for awhile. When I did get a chance to pick it up and read it, it was incredibly difficult to put down. The great emotional roller coaster throughout as well as the well thought our friendship in this book made it incredible. I love this type of era in novels and this one was really well done.
Date published: 2017-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent read takes on both an amazing and intricate perspective on the notion of true friendship
Date published: 2017-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from You won't regret reading this! The author takes you on a roller coaster of experiences in this book. From a freezing cold railway station to a big top trapeze. Well written; captures your interest and holds it until the end. You never know what someone's history and personal story is about...
Date published: 2017-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from perspective I enjoy reading books that are well researched, and this author certainly did the story justice with the amount of research and facts/emotions woven in the pages. I took this book camping and got wrapped up in the deep friendship between the characters. Certainly puts a great deal of perspective on our lives today in 2017 and the value we put on relationships.
Date published: 2017-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent read A story about true friendship.. It was different then I intended it to be, but I loved every minute of it! Quick and easy read as well.
Date published: 2017-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing read Beautiful story, easy to read and so compelling
Date published: 2017-07-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A wonderful book Loved it, couldn't put it down
Date published: 2017-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful story Haven't been able to put this down. Beautiful, heartfelt prose that will leave you begging for more with every word.
Date published: 2017-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it! So I bought 2 copies by mistake. I have a bad memory.....obviously I was intrigued each time I was in a bookstore. Once I finally got settled with time to read, I was not disappointed with this engaging piece of historical fiction. The beginning is quite shocking, as is the ending....and the plot centered around a circus was a unique read for me. I enjoyed how the chapter narration switches between the two strong female characters.
Date published: 2017-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Beautiful story, easy to read and follow
Date published: 2017-07-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy Read I didn't think I'd finish this book, took me a bit longer to finish since some chapters are a bit dry. There isn't any plot twist, just a very straight forward read. It was a nice change in pace to have the Chapters switch back and forth between the characters though! I enjoyed that very much!
Date published: 2017-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A flowing read Saw this book on a book club list and having taught World History, thought I would give it a read. The writing style is very flowing which makes it hard to put the book down. I really enjoyed the way each chapter switches back and forth between the two main characters in a flowing manner. An excellent read! Highly recommend it.
Date published: 2017-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! This is such a great story!
Date published: 2017-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it A sad book but a beautifully written story
Date published: 2017-06-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wonderful read Beautiful and a tear jerker at time, beautiful all around
Date published: 2017-06-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very engaging Could not put it down once I started reading.
Date published: 2017-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Oh my my my my my.... This book was FABULOUS. A truly powerful tale of friendship that moves along at a perfect pace. Could NOT put this book down for too long before it called me back.
Date published: 2017-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a great read!!! I simply loved this book. I fell in love with the characters and their stories. I found myself reading this book so quickly. If you loved The Orphan on the Train, you will love this book. One of my favourites!!
Date published: 2017-06-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Average It was a lovely novel, but still enjoyable.
Date published: 2017-06-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointed Was a little disappointed in this book. Just found it hard to keep interested in it....boring read. Would not recommend it.
Date published: 2017-06-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It was okay I found this book an okay read, but wasn't hooked from the very first page.
Date published: 2017-05-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Okay read I was really looking forward to reading this book. I enjoyed it but I was a little disappointed, I was wanting more .
Date published: 2017-05-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from 3.75 Stars I enjoyed this novel but wasn't wowed by it. I thought it was well written and while I have read many novels set during WWII, I was in fact unaware of the story of the circuses and how they played a role in sheltering Jewish people during the war. The characters, while flawed, were human and you could relate to them. Overall, a good read.
Date published: 2017-05-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The Orphan's Tale This is a story that gets your attention and holds it from beginning to end.
Date published: 2017-05-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Emotional Well written.. Couldn't put it down !
Date published: 2017-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Powerful story I literally could not put this book down. I became emotionally invested in the characters and they will stay with me for a long time. Must read more by this author.
Date published: 2017-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very interesting story. This story was interesting.
Date published: 2017-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from simply amazing A beautiful book on the level of friendship and love. Amazing book, easy read.
Date published: 2017-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simply amazing I loved it. A great story for all mankind.
Date published: 2017-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Really loved this book! The characters, the plotline, the dialogue. The writing was amazing and intriguing and complex. I loved the unique premise. Highly recommend!
Date published: 2017-03-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Captivating The author pulls you in from the very first paragraph in this thought provoking, fast paced, haunting novel. The characters are exquisitely drawn and you can see their personalities being developed as the pages turn. Highly recommend this book. #plumreviews.
Date published: 2017-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't put this one down A must read, from the very first page this book grips the reader and as the story unfolds the friendship that develops between Astrid and Noa heads down a very dangerous path, could not put this book down , praise to Pam Jenoff for a remarkable story
Date published: 2017-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Enjoy!!! I enjoyed reading this book, very captivating
Date published: 2017-03-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good story An engaging read. Jenoff always writes artfully with compassion for her characters.
Date published: 2017-03-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from What a story! An excellent addition to any library.
Date published: 2017-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must Read A stunning and atmospheric novel of friendship, passion, and art.
Date published: 2017-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing book Such a creatively written book.
Date published: 2017-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Facing Evil This book brings back the realities of war and we are back in Nazi Germany, with a Jewish woman, and an unrelated baby. While the author took liberties with the characters and the story, the fact that it is based on fact, makes me want to cringe, how terrible. The book kept my riveted and I kept page turning to find the answers, who was the betrayer, and yet I don’t know if I found out, and I loved the Epilogue, with a big thank you to the author, who doesn’t like to look down that long road. Interesting place to hide, the circus, and all that goes along with it, and would I like to fly, never! Can’t imagine taking that up at any time during my life, but pretraining, in the form of gymnastics, yes! The author has done a wonderful job bringing this story to life, we can never understand why people did the things that led to the horrible atrocities that were committed, but we sure don’t want to forget. I received this book through Net Galley and the Publisher Mira, and was not required to give a positive review.
Date published: 2017-02-21

Editorial Reviews

"The Orphan's Tale begins with the most riveting first chapter I've ever read. With deftness and emotion, Jenoff sets in motion a compelling story of friendship and courage during the Second World War." -Charles Belfoure, author of The Paris Architect and House of Thieves