The Phantom Tree by Nicola CornickThe Phantom Tree by Nicola Cornick

The Phantom Tree

byNicola Cornick

Paperback | August 21, 2018

Pricing and Purchase Info

$17.79 online 
$19.99 list price save 11%
Earn 89 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

Browsing an antiques shop in Wiltshire, Alison Bannister stumbles across a delicate old portrait—identified as the doomed Tudor queen, Anne Boleyn. Except Alison knows better. The subject is Mary Seymour, the daughter of Katherine Parr, who was taken to Wolf Hall in 1557 and presumed dead after going missing as a child. And Alison knows this because she, too, lived at Wolf Hall and knew Mary...more than four hundred years ago.

The painting of Mary is more than just a beautiful object for Alison—it holds the key to her past life, the unlocking of the mystery surrounding Mary’s disappearance and how Alison can get back to her own time. To when she and Mary were childhood enemies yet shared a pact that now, finally, must be fulfilled, no matter the cost.

Bestselling author of House of Shadows Nicola Cornick offers a provocative alternate history of rivals, secrets and danger, set in a time when a woman’s destiny was determined by the politics of men and luck of birth. A spellbinding tale for fans of Kate Morton, Philippa Gregory and Barbara Erskine.
Title:The Phantom TreeFormat:PaperbackDimensions:384 pages, 8 × 5.28 × 1.03 inPublished:August 21, 2018Publisher:Graydon House BooksLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1525805991

ISBN - 13:9781525805998

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Read It was an emotional roller-coaster, I would highly recommend The Phantom Tree to book fans looking for a good time travel novel that balances mystery, romance and drama. Note that the story started out slow but about 90-100 pages into it I found myself devouring the pages.
Date published: 2018-09-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Absorbing, heartwarming, and incredibly intriguing! The Phantom Tree is a well-paced, evocative, time-travel novel set in England during both the mid-1500s as well as present day and is told from two different perspectives, Alison Banestre, a strong, heartbroken, young lady running from scandal, and Alison Bannister, a successful, driven, young woman searching for a way home. The writing is effortless and immersive. The characters are multifaceted, tormented, and sympathetic. And the plot using a back-and-forth, past/present style captivates and enthralls as it sweeps you away into an intricately woven, suspenseful tale of life, loss, familial responsibility, coming-of-age, betrayal, deception, drama, mystery, love, and a touch of magic. The Phantom Tree is a beautifully written, clever, unique story, and even though there is not much known about the life and death of Mary Seymour, Cornick has done a remarkable job of taking the barest of historical facts and surrounding them with fiction that is passionate, alluring, and exceptionally fascinating.
Date published: 2018-08-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Fun Tim-travel Story After much deliberation, I have determined this shall be a 4 star read! I *loved* this ... after the halfway mark. I'd be lying if I said I didn't care about the beginning of this book. I found the pace to be quite slow, the characters mostly unlikeable and the story to be somewhat boring. And then—and I don't even remember the exact point—it became amazing. Everything I didn't like at the start evolved into something I held close to my heart. The characters each came into their own, their relationships with one another growing beautifully. The mystery spanning across over 400 years unravelled like a fun treasure hunt. It took me over a week to get halfway, and three days to finish the rest. It was hovering around the two star mark, and then the ending made up for it.
Date published: 2018-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from If you love time travel, you'll love this book You often read time travel books where you travel to the past. Is it possible to travel to the future from the distant past? Alison Banestre is an orphan from the 1500's and belongs to a noble family. She is brought to Wolf Hall where she meets one of her relatives, Mary Seymour, also an orphan of royal blood. Although not the best of friends, they agree to help each other in a way that no one else can. Two alternating storylines formed the basis for this novel, first by Alison and then by Mary. I love to read about time travel and The Phantom Tree fulfilled all my expectations. I was curious to see how the author would explain how someone from 1500's could successfully live in future and bit by bit Alison's story is fleshed out as we continue reading. The author keeps you hanging without revealing everything at the beginning and that is where you are hooked. There is plenty of intrigue, romance and history in this book. I literally could not put it down.
Date published: 2017-12-20

Editorial Reviews

"There is much to enjoy in [this] sumptuous novel." -Sunday Mirror on THE PHANTOM TREE"Filled with romance, drama, mystery and intrigue. Perfect for fans of Tracy Rees, Barbara Erskine, and Kate Riordan." -Historical Novel Society on THE PHANTOM TREE"A brilliant time-slip novel with a great twist in the tail!" -Woman Magazine on THE PHANTOM TREE"Popular fiction author Cornick skillfully packages all these elements into an enjoyable read." -Booklist on HOUSE OF SHADOWS"Fans of Kate Morton will enjoy this gripping tale." -Candis on HOUSE OF SHADOWS"A must-read for fans of romantic time-slip novels. An intriguing journey that weaves between the 17th-century life of the Winter Queen, Elizabeth of Bohemia, and a modern-day missing-person case." -Historical Novel Society on HOUSE OF SHADOWS"A gripping read." -BBC Radio on HOUSE OF SHADOWS"For fans of Barbara Erskine and Kate Morton comes an unforgettable novel.... House of Shadows delivers all that it promises." -Heroes and Heartbreakers on HOUSE OF SHADOWS