The Rains: A Novel by Gregg HurwitzThe Rains: A Novel by Gregg Hurwitz

The Rains: A Novel

byGregg Hurwitz

Hardcover | October 18, 2016

Pricing and Purchase Info

$21.06 online 
$24.99 list price save 15%
Earn 105 plum® points
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

"A brilliant, terrifying, rule-breaking reimagining of the zombie novel."-Jonathan Maberry, New York Times bestselling author of Rot & Ruin

"One of those all-too-creepy-and-believable stories. Chilling!"-Ridley Pearson, New York Times bestselling author

"Readers with a 5th Wave-shaped hole in their sf-loving hearts will rejoice."-Booklist

"In his first book for teens, Hurwitz crafts a tense, disturbing tale that's simultaneously a story driven by brother love and the determination to survive against impossible odds."-Publishers Weekly

From the New York Times bestselling author of Orphan X and comics in the Batman, Wolverine, and Punisher universes comes this relentlessly thrilling adventure perfect for fans of The Walking Dead and The 5th Wave. A Hollywood screenwriter, developer, and producer (V, The Book of Henry, Black Flags), Gregg Hurwitz brings his cinematic flair to this suspenseful new tale.

In one terrifying night, the peaceful community of Creek's Cause turns into a war zone. No one under the age of eighteen is safe. Chance Rain and his older brother, Patrick, have already fended off multiple attacks from infected adults by the time they arrive at the school where other young survivors are hiding.

Most of the kids they know have been dragged away by once-trusted adults who are now ferocious, inhuman beings. The parasite that transformed them takes hold after people turn eighteen--and Patrick's birthday is only a few days away.

Determined to save Patrick's life and the lives of the remaining kids, the brothers embark on a mission to uncover the truth about the parasites--and what they find is horrifying. Battling an enemy not of this earth, Chance and Patrick become humanity's only hope for salvation.

GREGG HURWITZ is a New York Times bestselling thriller author. His novels, including They're Watching, Trust No One, The Crime Writer,Troubleshooting, and Orphan X, have been shortlisted for numerous literary awards, graced top ten lists, and have been translated into over two dozen languages. He is also a New York Times bestselling c...
Loading
Title:The Rains: A NovelFormat:HardcoverDimensions:352 pages, 8.51 × 5.87 × 1.19 inPublished:October 18, 2016Publisher:Tom Doherty AssociatesLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0765382679

ISBN - 13:9780765382672

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from First in a series Quite a few of my favourite adult authors have started writing young adult books - many of them series. Gregg Hurwitz has just released The Rains - the first in his new young adult series. And though it's marketed to teens, this adult reader quite enjoyed The Rains. That ominous cover would lead you to believe weather is the inspiration for the book title. Well, something does fall from the sky, but it's not rain. Instead it's some sort of parasitic spore that infects anyone over eighteen, turning them into some sort of zombie. The driving force behind this attack may be an alien race. So, who are the Rains? Fifteen year old Chance Rain and his seventeen year old brother Patrick Rain. And the third person on the cover is Patrick's girlfriend Alex. Together, they're leading force behind the battle for survival for the rest of the under eighteens kids. Chance is our narrator - indeed it is his journal we are reading. "If you're reading this, your life is at risk. Maybe, just maybe these pages will give you a chance." Hurwitz has plotted an inventive mashup between aliens and zombies and added lots of action and nail biting scenarios. But he has also developed his lead characters well. They have depth and feeling and the reader will immediately be drawn to them., especially Chance. Chance does a lot of growing up as the book progresses. There is also a romantic thread running through the book between Patrick and Alex, but it too is portrayed realistically. Alex is just as strong a lead as the boys. The relationship between the brothers is well drawn, believable and heartstring tugging. And with every story there has to be a negative character. Readers will love to hate Ben, who is the antithesis of the boys. Hurwitz himself is the owner of a number of Rhodesian Ridgeback dogs. In the book, Chance also raises Ridgebacks. They too endear themselves to the reader as part of the 'good guys' team. (But I have to say, there's one chapter where I yelled No, no, no!) I liked the rural setting - our heroes are a little more down to earth and pragmatic than some of the zombie novels set in cityscapes. A few of the plot devices are a bit too pat - but this is the adult mystery reader in me speaking. Just go with the flow and enjoy The Rains. It's a great addition to the teen fiction scene and would appeal to both male and female readers. And keep your eyes peeled for the next book - Last Chance.
Date published: 2016-12-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not Worth The Time Disclaimer: I traded for an ARC of this with Adyranna! Wow. This didn't take me long and while I don't quite want my "precious reading time back" but it's feeling a bit like I want my precious reading time back. I only get so much time to read a week and I read this one today (well yesterday now) because I was like "this is a week overdue and I SHOULD LIKE IT so I will read it" but then I read it and blah. I don't have anything to say other than it was just blah. I was really looking forward to something like a zombie novel (since it reads that way and the main blurb talks about a "REIMAGINED ZOMBIE NOVEL") but it was actually an alien invasion novel! And by now you're thinking, "but Jamie, you LOVE aliens" and that is very true, I love aliens. Evan Walker is forever my problematic favourite alien and David is a loveable purple alien that I need in my life. But this story was just so uninspired that I was very sad. The characters were meh and nothing special. The fact that Chase and his brother, Patrick, were both special snowflakes but Chase thought he was "lesser" and was so in love with Patrick's girlfriend and Patrick was like "YOU ARE THE MOST SPECIAL" and "IT'S CHILL YOU LOVE MY GIRLFRIEND" was just Too Much™ for me. It just felt so gross and icky and I couldn't handle it. The biggest issue for me was that Patrick and his girlfriend, Alex (who is another special snowflake), do this thing where Alex says "would you climb mountains for me" and Patrick replies "no mountain could stand in my way" or something like that and they do it three times, I think? but then when Chase is going to find Alex, he does it in his head about her and I'm like ???? BUDDY THAT IS YOUR BROTHER'S GIRLFRIEND. THAT'S NOT OKAY. And of course, there is a girl that loves Chase too but he sees her as a friend and that is just So Confusing™, but ya know, whatever. The plot itself was stupid af. It took the birthday/age idea from GONE by Michael Grant, the Host thing from, wow, a multitude of alien invasion books, and so many other things from other places that all I could think about where these other books while reading this one, whether or not I liked those original books. There were also plot holes that I just couldn't ignore and I am so over the idea that ONE PERSON CAN SAVE THE WORLD. Life isn't Die Hard now matter how much Jake Peralta wants it to be. I think if this had something, even just one thing, be more original, I would have liked it more. Instead, we got a tired plot, lackluster characters, and a weird romance that made me want to turn into one of the infected aliens instead of having to read any more of this book. Oh and don't worry, this will most likely be a trilogy. YAY! I mostly rated this 2 stars because there were dogs. But as an FYI, one of the dogs dies so caution on that if you don't like when animals are harmed.
Date published: 2016-10-25

Editorial Reviews

"A brilliant, terrifying, rule-breaking reimagining of the zombie novel. Hurwitz pulls no punches and takes no prisoners."-Jonathan Maberry, New York Times bestselling author of Rot & Ruin"Gregg Hurwitz is a writer's writer, fast on his feet, quick with the perfect turn of phrase. The Rains is one of those all-too-creepy-and-believable stories that leaves you looking in your backyard for the next strange weed to poke through the ground. Chilling!"-Ridley Pearson, New York Times bestselling author"The Rains is a fearsome exploration of survival that turns the horrors of the natural world into our worst nightmares. Readers will hold their breath for the whole adrenaline-packed, terrifying ride. Biological sci-fi at its best."-Lydia Kang, author of Control"The alien-zombie mashup that science-fiction fans won't want to miss. The novel's ultimate cliffhanger ending is a satisfying conclusion of intrigue and suspense and will leave readers wanting more. Alex, a major character and Patrick's girlfriend, is a blond, white girl and a feminist force to be reckoned with. This zombie-esque sci-fi novel will feed the needs of readers looking for a fast-paced, adrenaline-pumping story with elements of horror."-Kirkus Reviews"Best-selling author of adult thrillers Hurwitz turns to YA alien invasion in this suspenseful series starter. Modest, hard-working Chance, who narrates through diary entries, worships his lionhearted brother and will do anything to save him; their deeply caring relationship gives the action emotional intensity. Chance's transformation into a determined, selfless hero is well-earned. The aliens' full-scale plan is terrifying and viscerally repellent. Readers with a 5th Wave-shaped hole in their sf-loving hearts will rejoice. Best-seller Hurwitz has proven he knows how to hook an adult audience. Expect his YA debut to have the same effect on teens."-Booklist "In his first book for teens, Hurwitz crafts a tense, disturbing tale that's simultaneously a story driven by brotherly love and the determination to survive against impossible odds. It's a grim affair, the fight scenes brutal and visceral, and the cliffhanger ending will have readers desperate for answers."-Publishers Weekly