The Start Of Me And You by Emery LordThe Start Of Me And You by Emery Lord

The Start Of Me And You

byEmery Lord

Hardcover | March 31, 2015

Pricing and Purchase Info

$18.87 online 
$19.99 list price save 5%
Earn 94 plum® points
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

Brimming with heartfelt relationships and authentic high-school dynamics The Start of Me and You proves that it's never too late for second chances.

It's been a year since it happened-when Paige Hancock's first boyfriend died in an accident. After shutting out the world for two years, Paige is finally ready for a second chance at high school . . . and she has a plan. First: Get her old crush, Ryan Chase, to date her-the perfect way to convince everyone she's back to normal. Next: Join a club-simple, it's high school after all. But when Ryan's sweet, nerdy cousin, Max, moves to town and recruits Paige for the Quiz Bowl team (of all things!) her perfect plan is thrown for a serious loop. Will Paige be able to face her fears and finally open herself up to the life she was meant to live?

EMERY LORD is the author of Open Road Summer. She lives in a pink row house in Cincinnati, with a husband, two rescue dogs, and a closet full of impractical shoes. Open Road Summer is her first novel.  www.emerylord.com  Twitter: @emerylord
Loading
Title:The Start Of Me And YouFormat:HardcoverDimensions:384 pages, 8.46 × 5.89 × 1.28 inPublished:March 31, 2015Publisher:Bloomsbury USALanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1619633590

ISBN - 13:9781619633599

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from An All Time Favourite! I read this book after reading When We Collided, and after comparing both, I could say that I enjoyed The Start Of Me And You much better! The way that Paige gets over her grief of losing her boyfriend is something I think a lot of people can relate to, even though I have never lost someone really close to me before. She makes this list which she fills with steps to get her life back on track, which includes her biggest fear of getting back in the water. There are countless things filled in this book that make it so incredible, especially the romance and the friendships. Paige and Max spend most of their time together in an unconventional way through the QuizBowl, but it added something special to the book. They don't fall in love the second they meet, and I really appreciate that. (Plus Max is this geeky nerd that honestly everybody will love!) Other than the romance, the friendships between Paige and her best friends are what made me love the book. There aren't a lot of books that have really strong friendships, but with this book, it really stands out. You can really see how they're there for each other and how they help each other get out of bad situations. Being a HUGE book lover, I love how there's these literary references! I could also totally relate to Paige being called "Grammar Girl" as I'm constantly being called out for correcting people's grammar too. Overall, this is a wonderful book that literally EVERYBODY should read!
Date published: 2017-07-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My neice loved it. I bought this for my neice who told me how much she had loved Open Road Summer when she finally got around to reading it last month. She eqally had rave reviews for this book and told me she read it in one sitting! I think this would be an amazing book for any young teen. #plumreviews.
Date published: 2017-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of my all-time favourite books! A perfect combination of family, friends and romance! You guys all need to give this book a try.
Date published: 2016-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So cute and good It’s been a year since Paige’s boyfriend died from a drowning accident. She shut out the world since then but now, she’s ready to start moving on. She has a plan to help her. First: date Ryan Chase, her first crush. Second: join some school clubs. She’s thrilled when Ryan starts talking to her and wants to hang out with her and her friends. What she didn’t count on was Max, Ryan’s sweet but nerdy cousin tagging along. Max, captain of the Quiz Bowl Paige has agreed to join. Max, who makes her smile and who is impossible to ignore. This book was cute, just so cute. I had a smile on my face most of the time while I was reading it. I really enjoyed Emery Lord’s first book, Open Road Summer, but this one topped that one. It had a lot of the elements I loved from the first book but added more to love. I really felt for Paige through the book. The book was her journey of healing from both her boyfriend’s death and the fear and PTSD that she suffered from afterward. It was also about her re-discovering herself after being ‘the girl whose boyfriend died’ for so long. She was a genuinely nice person and so loyal to her friends. I loved the relationships she had with her friends, the ones that developed with Ryan and Max, and the ones she had with her family. All of them were so well written and believable. Paige’s group of friends was small but close. Each of them had a very distinct personality so they all stood out. The friendship between them was one of my favourite things about this book. There were fights and disagreements and uncomfortable moments just like in any friendship but they knew they had each other’s backs no matter what. Adding in Ryan and Max to that small group made for an interesting dynamic and I really liked that it was more focused on friendship and supporting each other than on romance. Not to say I didn’t enjoy the slow burn romance. It was very cute and sweet. Each moment made me fall more for Max. He was so perfect for Paige even if it took her a while to figure it out. And he loved Firefly! Heart stolen. The plot was a lot more complicated than just being about Paige trying to succeed with her plan. It was about facing her fears, about falling for the person instead of a pretty face, about realizing and going for your dreams. It was about strong friendships and new romances. It was about healing and about growing up. It was impossible to put down.
Date published: 2015-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved this book!! Emery Lord has done it again!! Her books are so addicting and beautifully written that you will want to re-read it all over again since her story is so well developed! I was very excited to receive The Start of Me and You in the mail (literally jumped up and down) from Bloomsbury!I already loved her debut Open Road Summer (recommend you read it immediately!)+ fall in love with Max Watson! The Start of Me and You will definitely make you smile by the end! Paige Hancock is now a junior at her high school hoping for a new start to the year. Last year, Paige's boyfriend died in a terrible accident that left a huge mark on her life that includes shutting out her friends and family. Wanting to overcome her grief, she is brave enough to step out of her comfort zone with a new confidence. She has a really good family, and friends who supports her in what she wants to do. I really liked Paige's character because she is smart and like to read! This story is about starting over and Emery Lord captures it perfectly as we see Paige grow from the first chapter! The supporting characters are her best friends- Tessa, Morgan, Kayleigh - are some really awesome friends that are there for here whenever she needs them. When Paige starts to join a new club Quiz Bowl, and make sure her crush Ryan falls in love with her and starts to become friends with his cousin Max. Many of you know that I fell in love with Open Road Summer but this one brought it to a new level! I really loved everything about it!! One of many reasons to love this book is the romance. It was plotted perfectly that I didn't want it to end! Makes you wish there was a Max Weston is real life because he really give her courage and strength from the very beginning. It was great to see how it evolved. Emery sure knows how to create the perfect guy, first Matt Finch and now Max!! I really connected with The Start of Me and You, which is one of the reasons I read this so quickly and the writing was written smoothly like Open Road Summer. I am looking forward to Emery Lord's next book because now she has me hooked! If you haven't pre-ordered this book I recommend you do that right away.
Date published: 2015-03-26

Editorial Reviews

"In sharp contrast to darker, more issue-driven YA books, this title keeps truer to the problems that most teens face. The protagonist's upbeat attitude will inspire readers to persevere even during the low points in life." -starred review, School Library Journal"This is the teen world as it should be, full of good times and good friends to temper life's inevitable sorrows, big and small. Fans of Sarah Dessen and Deb Caletti will want to add Emery Lord to their summer reading list." -BCCB"A fabulously entertaining story of friendship, healing, and love. Filled with laughter, heart, and a side of sass, this rock star debut will have you cheering for an encore!" -Elizabeth Eulberg, author of REVENGE OF THE GIRL WITH THE GREAT PERSONALITY, on OPEN ROAD SUMMER"Lord (Open Road Summer) offers a sweet story of love and loss. . . . The author is gentle with Paige as she struggles to redefine herself both in school and at home, as well as figure out who understands her best as she stumbles toward new romance." -Publishers Weekly"Reads like an ode to unconditional love that will keep readers firmly believing in believing." -Booklist