The Thing With Feathers by Mccall HoyleThe Thing With Feathers by Mccall Hoyle

The Thing With Feathers

byMccall Hoyle

Hardcover | September 5, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$20.55 online 
$21.99 list price save 6%
Earn 103 plum® points
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

Emilie Day believes in playing it safe: she’s homeschooled, her best friend is her seizure dog, and she’s probably the only girl on the Outer Banks of North Carolina who can’t swim.

Then Emilie’s mom enrolls her in public school, and Emilie goes from studying at home in her pj’s to halls full of strangers. To make matters worse, Emilie is paired with starting point guard Chatham York for a major research project on Emily Dickinson. She should be ecstatic when Chatham shows interest, but she has a problem. She hasn’t told anyone about her epilepsy.

Emilie lives in fear her recently adjusted meds will fail and she’ll seize at school. Eventually, the worst happens, and she must decide whether to withdraw to safety or follow a dead poet’s advice and “dwell in possibility.”

From Golden Heart award-winning author McCall Hoyle comes The Thing with Feathers, a story of overcoming fears, forging new friendships, and finding a first love, perfect for fans of Jennifer Niven, Robyn Schneider, and Sharon M. Draper.

The Thing with Feathers features a stunning cover with embossing.

McCall Hoyle writes honest YA novels about friendship, first love, and girls finding the strength to overcome great challenges. She is a high school English teacher. Her own less-than-perfect teenage experiences and those of the girls she teaches inspire many of the struggles in her books. When she’s not reading or writing, she’s spend...
Loading
Title:The Thing With FeathersFormat:HardcoverDimensions:288 pages, 8.65 × 5.75 × 1.04 inPublished:September 5, 2017Publisher:BlinkLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0310758513

ISBN - 13:9780310758518

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Hope is the thing with feathers... I absolutely love this cover. While minimalist; it's stunning and sums up this novel perfectly. Especially the colours. This book was such a treat to read because it was not what I was expecting. This novel covers some very tough topics, like losing a parent, abuse and having a condition that you have really no control over. This novel really depicts what it is like for someone who has epilepsy, and their daily struggles and thoughts. Emilie as a character is both relateable and frustrating at the same time. You can understand where she is coming from even if you don't have epilepsy. She's afraid of being different and of not fitting in. But the whole novel I was waiting for her lies to catch up with her and for her to become exposed. My heart was racing while reading just anticipating what I knew was coming. Chatham is probably one of the most sweetest characters ever written. He is just genuinely a wonderful person. I really related a lot to the relationship between Emilie and her mom. It's hard when something or someone tears your relationship a part and it's hard to find a way back to the way it once was. I also really thought McCall did a wonderful job of writing what it's like to lose a parent. And how every day can be a struggle. Overall this novel is just definitely worth a read, and I highly recommend it. “Hope” is the thing with feathers - That perches in the soul - And sings the tune without the words - And never stops - at all - And sweetest - in the Gale - is heard - And sore must be the storm - That could abash the little Bird That kept so many warm - I’ve heard it in the chillest land - And on the strangest Sea - Yet - never - in Extremity, It asked a crumb - of me.
Date published: 2017-09-28

Editorial Reviews

Emilie Day believes in playing it safe: she's homeschooled, her best friend is her seizure dog, and she's probably the only girl on the Outer Banks of North Carolina who can't swim. Then Emilie's mom enrolls her in public school, and Emilie goes from studying at home in her pj's to halls full of strangers. To make matters worse, Emilie is paired with starting point guard Chatham York for a major research project on Emily Dickinson. She should be ecstatic when Chatham shows interest, but she has a problem. She hasn't told anyone about her epilepsy. Emilie lives in fear her recently adjusted meds will fail and she'll seize at school. Eventually, the worst happens, and she must decide whether to withdraw to safety or follow a dead poet's advice and 'dwell in possibility'. 'The Thing with Feathers' is a compelling story of overcoming fears, forging new friendships, and finding a first love. Very highly recommended for personal reading lists, 'The Thing with Feathers' will prove to be an ideal and enduringly popular addition to school and community library YA Fiction collections.