The Victoria in My Head by Janelle MilanesThe Victoria in My Head by Janelle Milanes

The Victoria in My Head

byJanelle Milanes

Hardcover | September 19, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$21.77 online 
$23.99 list price save 9%
Earn 109 plum® points

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

A shy, rule-following teen winds up joining a local rock band in this laugh-out-loud, heartfelt coming-of-age novel.

Victoria Cruz inhabits two worlds: In one, she is a rock star, thrashing the stage with her husky voice and purple-streaked hair. In the other, currently serving as her reality, Victoria is a shy teenager with overprotective Cuban parents, who sleepwalks through her life at the prestigious Evanston Academy. Unable to overcome the whole paralyzing-stage-fright thing, Victoria settles for living inside her fantasies, where nothing can go wrong and everything is set to her expertly crafted music playlists.

But after a chance encounter with an unattainably gorgeous boy named Strand, whose band seeks a lead singer, Victoria is tempted to turn her fevered daydreams into reality. To do that, she must confront her insecurities and break away from the treadmill that is her life. Suddenly, Victoria is faced with the choice of staying on the path she’s always known and straying off-course to find love, adventure, and danger.

From debut author Janelle Milanes comes a hilarious and heartfelt tale of the spectacular things that can happen when you go after what you really want.
Title:The Victoria in My HeadFormat:HardcoverDimensions:400 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 1.4 inPublished:September 19, 2017Publisher:Simon PulseLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1481480898

ISBN - 13:9781481480895

Customer Reviews of The Victoria in My Head

Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“[A] brisk and confident debut.” —Publishers Weekly “An endearing, fast-paced read with a realistically sweet, if sheltered, first-generation-American protagonist.” —Kirkus Reviews “Victoria’s ability to conquer her own fears in this coming- of-age story might inspire adolescents to follow their own dreams.” —Booklist “Fans of Rainbow Rowell’s Eleanor & Park will appreciate this slightly off-kilter romance and its ready-made playlist.” —School Library Journal