The Woman In The Window: A Novel by A. J FinnThe Woman In The Window: A Novel by A. J Finn

The Woman In The Window: A Novel

byA. J Finn

Paperback | January 2, 2018

Pricing and Purchase Info

$14.99 online 
$24.99 list price save 40%
Earn 75 plum® points
Special Offer
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

“Astounding. Thrilling. Amazing.” —Gillian Flynn

“Unputdownable.” —Stephen King

“A dark, twisty confection.” —Ruth Ware

“Absolutely gripping.” —Louise Penny

For readers of Gillian Flynn and Tana French comes one of the decade’s most anticipated debuts, to be published in thirty-six languages around the world and already in development as a major film from Fox: a twisty, powerful Hitchcockian thriller about an agoraphobic woman who believes she witnessed a crime in a neighboring house.

It isn’t paranoia if it’s really happening . . .

Anna Fox lives alone—a recluse in her New York City home, unable to venture outside. She spends her day drinking wine (maybe too much), watching old movies, recalling happier times . . . and spying on her neighbors.

Then the Russells move into the house across the way: a father, mother, their teenaged son. The perfect family. But when Anna, gazing out her window one night, sees something she shouldn’t, her world begins to crumble—and its shocking secrets are laid bare.

What is real? What is imagined? Who is in danger? Who is in control? In this diabolically gripping thriller, no one—and nothing—is what it seems.

Twisty and powerful, ingenious and moving, The Woman in the Window is a smart, sophisticated novel of psychological suspense that recalls the best of Hitchcock.

Title:The Woman In The Window: A NovelFormat:PaperbackDimensions:448 pages, 9 × 6 × 1.12 inPublished:January 2, 2018Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:006279955X

ISBN - 13:9780062799555

Look for similar items by category:

Loading

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from curious seems like everyones enjoying it, need to buy it!!
Date published: 2018-01-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Did NOT like this book I was reluctant to order this book but I did! I should have gone with my but feeling because a few pages into the story I was disappointed. These were my thoughts: Not another story about a woman who drinks her life away while being obsessed with the lives of others. The woman who looks out the window in this novel was one of mere gloom and doom for me. She did not inspire me to continue on reading it. Life is too short to have to continue reading books that are not fulfilling for me. I have shelved this book and will not re-visit it at a later date. I am also getting fed up of seeing titles that being with A WOMAN this and A WOMAN that!!!
Date published: 2018-01-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Predictable premise but some good twists & turns. 3.5. I feel like since Girl on a Train, everyone is trying to capitalize on the storyline of female narrators who witness a crime but are unreliable due to drug/alcohol/rx use. The premise is getting old for me. That said, I didn't predict the ending and I appreciate the layers the author weaved into the storyline. It was a good read but it didn't knock my socks off. Stronger than The Woman in Cabin Ten which had a lot of sloppy loopholes. I would recommend The Child Finder or The River at Night for thrillers that follow an unpredictable narrative.
Date published: 2018-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from exiting story well done very good mystery
Date published: 2018-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from the nearest window i am the woman in the window, this book is written about my life
Date published: 2018-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super fast fun read! I devoured this in 24 hours! Delicious fun read, kept me firmly engaged! Thoroughly entertaining.
Date published: 2018-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from awesome! wonderful book, would highly recommend
Date published: 2018-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Was Not Expecting THAT! I could not put this down! Amazing book with a very interesting ending. Loved it from start to finish!
Date published: 2018-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE! What a book!!! Brilliant!!
Date published: 2018-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Good Finished this book in 2 days. Loved the characters and the plot. Highly recommend!
Date published: 2018-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Read in under 24 hours I love these kinds of books, so I couldn't put it down.. I just bought it two days ago, started it yesterday, and just finished it. So many twists I may have to read it again to keep it straight. I laughed. I cried. My blood pressure was uncontrollable. I couldn't freaking believe what was happening!! Completely unimaginable conclusion. Would be a wild movie!
Date published: 2018-01-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from ok read I found this book didn't keep my interest. I could put it down for days. Found it boring until the ending.
Date published: 2018-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow! Okay, this is one of the best twisty, turny psychological thrillers I've read in a long, long time. You have got to read The Woman in the Window, the debut novel from A.J. Finn. Anna Fox is agoraphobic, unable to leave her home. She mixes alcohol with her medication and spends her days looking out her windows at her neighbourhood. Well, no that's not quite right......she spies on them, taking pictures with her camera. A new family moves in and Anna starts watching them as well. And then she sees something she shouldn't have. Or did she? Finn has created a fantastically unreliable narrator in Anna. Can we believe what she is seeing? Saying? Her reasoning is flawed and her take on things is skewed. Or is it? The supporting cast is just as unreliable. It seems everyone has their own agenda, secrets and lies. Finn deliciously unspools his story, letting us see a little more with each new chapter. Anna has a fondness for old black and white films, especially those by Alfred Hitchcock. Those familiar with his work (and especially Rear Window) will appreciate the references and the homage. I am being deliberately obtuse. I don't want to reveal too much - this is a tale you need to experience. To wonder how and why, to 'ah hahing' at each new reveal and revelation, to trying to puzzle out the final whodunit. Which will be impossible as Finn has written a labyrinth of a novel. And one that is very, very hard to put down. I absolutely loved it!
Date published: 2018-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't put down I couldn't stop reading this one. What a rollercoaster ride, very thrilling.
Date published: 2018-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This book is a must For anyone that loves a suspense this is the book for you. Once you start reading, you will have a hard time putting it down. I thought I had if figured out......I was totally wrong. I never saw the ending coming. I highly recommend reading this book. #indigoemployee
Date published: 2018-01-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Intriguing Great plot and characters. An engrossing read.
Date published: 2018-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it You must read this book ! Finished in 12 hours got me through my sick day
Date published: 2018-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A riveting mystery A. J. Finn's "The Woman in the Window" is a suspenseful mystery which involves the reader in several twists and turns. I am an avid mystery/thriller reader and I did not expect the resolution to this mystery. The book is well written and keeps the reader's attention right to the end. A GR8 read.
Date published: 2018-01-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So sooo good I am only currently halfway through, but I am so entrenched in this story it's insane.
Date published: 2018-01-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from ok Not as engaging as I had hoped
Date published: 2018-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Book I bought this book just yesterday and when I began to read it I couldn’t put it down. I would definitely recommend this book.
Date published: 2017-12-28

Editorial Reviews

“[T]here’s something irresistible about this made-for-the-movies tingler. Finn knows how to pleasurably wind us up.”