They Both Die At The End by Adam SilveraThey Both Die At The End by Adam Silvera

They Both Die At The End

byAdam Silvera

Hardcover | September 5, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$19.57 online 
$21.99 list price save 11%
Earn 98 plum® points

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

New York Times bestselling author Adam Silvera reminds us that there’s no life without death and no love without loss in this devastating yet uplifting story about two people whose lives change over the course of one unforgettable day. 4 starred reviews!

On September 5, a little after midnight, Death-Cast calls Mateo Torrez and Rufus Emeterio to give them some bad news: They’re going to die today. Mateo and Rufus are total strangers, but, for different reasons, they’re both looking to make a new friend on their End Day. The good news: There’s an app for that. It’s called the Last Friend, and through it, Rufus and Mateo are about to meet up for one last great adventure—to live a lifetime in a single day.

In the tradition of Before I Fall and If I Stay, They Both Die at the End is a tour de force from acclaimed author Adam Silvera, whose debut, More Happy Than Not, the New York Times called “profound.”

Adam Silvera is the New York Times bestselling author of More Happy Than Not and History Is All You Left Me, and he was named a Publishers Weekly Flying Start. Adam was born and raised in the Bronx. He was a bookseller before shifting to children’s publishing and has worked at a literary development company, a creative writing website ...
History Is All You Left Me
History Is All You Left Me

by Adam Silvera

$15.39$21.99

In stock online

Available in stores

More Happy Than Not
More Happy Than Not

by Adam Silvera

$13.99

In stock online

Available in stores

They Both Die At The End
They Both Die At The End

by Adam Silvera

$46.23$51.95

Ships within 3-5 weeks

Not available in stores

Shop this author
Title:They Both Die At The EndFormat:HardcoverDimensions:384 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 1.21 inPublished:September 5, 2017Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062457799

ISBN - 13:9780062457790

Customer Reviews of They Both Die At The End

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from A fantastic read! Adam Silvera's third book is his best, I think. I loved this book and can't wait to dive in again and re-read. If you loved Silvera's other books, this will be right up your alley.
Date published: 2017-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Heartbreaking but beautiful Despite reading the title of this book, my heart was still not prepared for the roller coaster of emotions. Silvera’s books are guaranteed to be heart-breaking but you’ll still love every single second of the reading experience. On the day of your death, Death-Cast calls you between midnight and 3AM to let you know. On September 5th (also the release day of this book!), Mateo and Rufus both receive the call under very different circumstances. To make their last day memorable, they both join Last Friend, an app designed to pair up people looking for company on their End Day. They Both Die at the End is a speculative fiction novel that takes place in a single extraordinary last day. I loved this book, it was just amazing. The premise is definitely rooted in heartbreak and sobbing for the reader, but I promise that it’s so worth it. Rufus and Mateo are characters you will want to root for and their story was phenomenal. They Both Die at the End is another great book from a phenomenal writer. If you’re looking for amazing fleshed-out characters, a compelling plot and a good cry, I highly recommend this one.
Date published: 2017-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMAZING It was incredible how this whole book is only the span of one day, but feels like a lifetime lived for these two boys as well as myself. The way that Rufus and Mateo are totally different in their own perfect way brought them together by learning from one another and leading to the journey of their friendship. I really love the Death-Cast system, how its explained and developed in the story, and how the characters face their greatest fears and how we can get a glimpse- scratch that, a whole SYSTEM and WORLD of how life would be if we knew the die when our lives would end. I very highly suggest this book to everyone!! And whats cool is how people can reflect to the whole 'knowing when your going to die' scenario. Whether it gives you an extra push to live each day like you were going to die, or give you a whole meaning in your life another way you never thought you would, 'They Both Die At The End' is something you want to pick up :))
Date published: 2017-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Compelling read, book club worthy What would you do if it were your last day on earth? I don't mean if you're Chris Hadfield or any other astronaut and were undertaking a space mission, I mean if you knew you were going to die in the next day. Would you hide away and hope to avoid your fate, or would you live it up like there's no tomorrow. When eighteen year old Mateo received the call from Death-Cast, he knew he was going to force himself outdoors to enjoy some of the many activities he'd been avoiding. He's long figured if he stayed inside, he'd be safe, but it hadn't turned out that way. Rufus received his call and gathered up his pals and headed to his foster home to arrange his funeral. Circumstance caused him to flee out alone. Not a situation anyone want to find themselves in, young, healthy and destined to die alone. I was moved by both boys stories and wanted them to be the exception. They should live, Mateo needed to start living. My favourite line from the book comes from him, "I'm at the finish line, but I never ran the race." Not a good point to consider your life from, though it could make readers question what they have done in their lives so far. Author Adam Silvera has re-worked society to accommodate 'decker', those who know they are to die that day. He made it feel very real that such activities could occur and reflected both the positive and negative ways that people could respond. This novel would make an excellent book club read and could be used in the classroom to spark a variety of discussions. This is a wonderful book that is sensitive in it's handling of the death of the two boys. I look forward to reading more by this talented author. I received and advanced readers copy of this book from Indigo Books & Music Inc., in exchange for an honest review. #IndigoEmployee
Date published: 2017-07-05

Editorial Reviews

“Themes of friendship, love, loss, and fate combine in this novel that should be read with a box of tissues close at hand.”