Tiger Queen by Annie SullivanTiger Queen by Annie Sullivan

Tiger Queen

byAnnie Sullivan

Hardcover | September 10, 2019

Pricing and Purchase Info

$21.99

Earn 110 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

From Annie Sullivan, author of A Touch of Gold, comes Tiger Queen, a sweeping YA fantasy adventure that tells the story of a fierce desert princess battling to save her kingdom. Fans of Rebel of the Sands and Meagan Spooner will devour this retelling of Frank Stockton’s famous short story, “The Lady, or the Tiger?”

In the mythical desert kingdom of Achra, an ancient law forces sixteen-year-old Princess Kateri to fight in the arena to prove her right to rule. For Kateri, winning also means fulfilling a promise to her late mother that she would protect her people, who are struggling through windstorms and drought. The situation is worsened by the gang of Desert Boys that frequently raids the city wells, forcing the king to ration what little water is left. The punishment for stealing water is a choice between two doors: behind one lies freedom, and behind the other is a tiger.

But when Kateri’s final opponent is announced, she knows she cannot win. In desperation, she turns to the desert and the one person she never thought she’d side with. What Kateri discovers twists her world—and her heart—upside down. Her future is now behind two doors—only she’s not sure which holds the key to keeping her kingdom and which releases the tiger.

Annie Sullivan grew up in Indianapolis, Indiana. She received her Masters degree in Creative Writing from Butler University. She loves fairytales, everything Jane Austen, and traveling. Her wanderlust has taken her to every continent, where she’s walked on the Great Wall of China, found four-leaf clovers in Ireland, waddled with pengui...
Loading
Title:Tiger QueenFormat:HardcoverProduct dimensions:336 pages, 8.4 × 5.5 × 0.58 inShipping dimensions:8.4 × 5.5 × 0.58 inPublished:September 10, 2019Publisher:BlinkLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0310768772

ISBN - 13:9780310768777

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tiger Queen Will Take Your Breath Away I’m so excited to be reviewing Annie’s sophomore novel Tiger Queen, and I can happily say that she did not fall prey to the sophomore curse with this one. It’s an exciting, unique and empowering fantasy novel that will easily leave readers swept up in it’s dessert setting. Tiger Queen is a retelling of a famous short story, The Lady and the Tiger. The short story is one that is completely open ended and the readers are left to imagine – well the author has obviously thought about this story a lot and turned the story completely on its head and made her own unique take on what exactly happens after that short story ended. No, you don’t have to read the short story to go into Tiger Queen – the author sets everything up for you from beginning to end. Our protagonist Princess Kateri is reaching the age where she must prove to her people and father that she is worthy enough to rule the kingdom when the time comes. To do this she will be tested, she must fight 12 suitors that have come to marry her (and take their spot ruling the kingdom), but if she can win all 12 battles then she not only wins the kingdom, but her right to make her own decisions. Her father, the King has been brutally training her since she was young, to be able to fight in these battles. He has shown her little compassion but Kateri still seeks nothing more than his acceptance and thinks she will finally get it if she can prove her worth in the battles. On the other side, we have the Desert Boys lead by the charismatic Cion. They are considered thieves and rebels and a complete plague on the city, at least according to the palace. The city is in a massive drought and people are getting sicker and dying because of it. Cion and the boys have taking water from the palace wells for themselves and others – we have a little Robin Hood vibe going on here I think. The palace has been trying to track down the Desert Boys hideout without no results but that may all change. I don’t want to go any further than that, you should read the book and let it unfold. From there we get lots of betrayal (lots!) – Kateri and Cion have to work together despite their feelings towards each other and a lot of hard choices have to be made. Guys, it gets pretty intense – there are even hungry freaking tigers! I loved the characters in Tiger Queen. Kateri does start out very frustrating, I’m not going to lie. I wanted to slap her many times over in the beginning, but I promise she grows and evolves and I loved her to pieces by the end of it. Cion is a great male lead, loved his compassion, strength and, of course, banter. The world building is strong in this one, I feel like the author took the time to set everything up, so you could really imagine everything going on. Keep a drink of water close by – you will get thirsty! The battle scenes were epic and exciting. I loved the mythology that is woven into the story and build up at the end definitely paid of. Overall, I highly recommend checking this desert fantasy out. Also, it’s a standalone! We love a fantasy standalone from time to time!
Date published: 2019-09-16

Editorial Reviews

TIGER QUEEN is an engrossing retelling of the short story, THE LADY, OR THE TIGER? that really takes it above and beyond... TIGER QUEEN is a gorgeous, lush YA fiction that will hold a lot of appeal for fans of THE REMNANT CHRONICLES, THE GIRL OF FIRE AND THORNS, and THE WINNER'S CURSE. Highly recommend for anyone look for a beautifully crafted stand-alone book.