Vacationland: A Novel by Sarah StonichVacationland: A Novel by Sarah Stonich

Vacationland: A Novel

bySarah Stonich

Paperback | March 25, 2013

Pricing and Purchase Info

$20.25 online 
$22.50 list price save 10%
Earn 101 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about


On a lake in northernmost Minnesota, you might find Naledi Lodge—only two cabins still standing, its pathways now trodden mostly by memories. And there you might meet Meg, or the ghost of the girl she was, growing up under her grandfather’s care in a world apart and a lifetime ago. Now an artist, Meg paints images “reflected across the mirrors of memory and water,” much as the linked stories of Vacationland cast shimmering spells across distance and time.


Those whose paths have crossed at Naledi inhabit Vacationland: a man from nearby Hatchet Inlet who knew Meg back when, a Sarajevo refugee sponsored by two parishes who can’t afford “their own refugee,” aged sisters traveling to fulfill a fateful pact once made at the resort, a philandering ad man, a lonely Ojibwe stonemason, and a haiku-spouting girl rescued from a bog.


Sarah Stonich, whose work has been described as “unexpected and moving” by the Chicago Tribune and “a well-paced feast” by the Los Angeles Times, weaves these tales of love and loss, heartbreak and redemption into a rich novel of interconnected and disjointed lives. Vacationland is a moving portrait of a place—at once timeless and of the moment, composed of conflicting dreams and shared experience—and of the woman bound to it by legacy and sometimes longing, but not necessarily by choice.


Sarah Stonich is the author of the critically acclaimed novels These Granite Islands and The Ice Chorus, as well as a memoir, Shelter. The founder of WordStalkers.com, she lives in Minneapolis and spends summers in northeastern Minnesota.
Loading
Title:Vacationland: A NovelFormat:PaperbackDimensions:288 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 1.1 inPublished:March 25, 2013Publisher:University of Minnesota PressLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0816687668

ISBN - 13:9780816687664

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Honorary Canadian? Border-dweller Sarah Stonich is either Canadian, or nearly. Her second novel, The Ice Chorus, takes place in Toronto and Mexico. This one, Vacationland, is poised right at the Minnesota/Ontario border in an old fishing lodge, Naledi, the geographical point from which each story pivots, weaving the lives of multiple characters to one another, tracing each story to the main protagonist Meg, who owns the lodge either as her legacy and sometimes burden? In any case, the structure of this book alone makes it unique. But why is this title listed as 'sold out'? I hope that's because it's truly sold out, and not oversight by Chapters in not ordering this title?
Date published: 2013-04-09

Table of Contents


Contents


Separation

Reparation

Destination

Assimilation

Moderation

Navigation

Calculation

Echolocation

Omission

Orientation

Disembarkation

Hesitation

Approximation

Occlusion

Tintinnabulation



Editorial Reviews

"Each chapter renders a story complete, and the stories together weave a deeply mined narrative of place and people, elegiac yet life-affirming." —Kirkus Reviews"Stonich displays formidable narrative skill. While the novel presents brief vignettes in the lives of several characters, each interconnected story is given its own true, clear voice. Vacationland is compelling, witty, and nuanced, an incredibly enjoyable glimpse inside the worlds of seemingly disparate individuals. For fans of Richard Russo and Margaret Atwood, this is a brilliantly engaging novel, focusing on the power of memory, new discoveries, and shared experiences. A triumph." —Booklist, starred review "A brilliant collection of linked stories centered around Naledi, a fictive northern Minnesota fishing resort. Naledi inherits in Stonich (“These Granite Islands”) a chronicler with storytelling gifts reminiscent of our most holy mother of the frozen north, Alice Munro. She has a similar flair for ferrying readers back in time for several pages, deepening our regard for a character, then softly dropping us back into the present without a moment’s confusion or jostling. Stonich is also funny as hell, not the easiest thing to pull off in serious literary fiction. " —Star Tribune