Valiant

Hardcover | April 1, 2015

bySarah Mcguire

not yet rated|write a review
A debut fairy tale reimagining featuring a strong female character and a daring quest just right for fans of Shannon Hale, Jessica Day George, and Gail Carson Levine.

Saville hates sewing. How can she not when her father, the Tailor, loves his bolts of velvet and silk far more than he''s ever loved her? Yet, when he is struck ill shortly after they arrive in the city of Reggen, Saville must don boy''s clothes in the hopes of gaining a commission from the king to keep them fed.

The kingdom is soon on edge when stories spread of an army of giants led by a man who cannot be killed. But giants are just stories, and no man is immortal.

And then the giants do come to the city gates, two larger-than-life scouts whom Saville cunningly tricks into leaving. The Tailor of Reggen is the hero of the kingdom, the king promises his sister''s hand in marriage, and by the time Saville reaches the palace doors, it is widely known that the Tailor single-handedly killed the giants.

When her secret--that she''s a girl--is quickly discovered by Lord Galen Verras, the king''s cousin, Saville''s swept into the twists and turns of court politics. The deathless man is very real, and he will use his giant army to ensure he is given the throne freely or by force.

Now, only a tailor girl with courage and cunning can see beyond the tales to discover the truth and save the kingdom again.

Valiant is a rich reimaging of "The Brave Little Tailor," artfully crafting a story of understanding, identity, and fighting to protect those you love most.

Releases simultaneously in eBook format (ISBN 978-1-60684-553-0).

Pricing and Purchase Info

$20.66 online
$26.99 list price (save 23%)
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25

From the Publisher

A debut fairy tale reimagining featuring a strong female character and a daring quest just right for fans of Shannon Hale, Jessica Day George, and Gail Carson Levine.Saville hates sewing. How can she not when her father, the Tailor, loves his bolts of velvet and silk far more than he's ever loved her? Yet, when he is struck ill shortly after they arrive in the city of Reggen, Saville must don boy'...

Sarah McGuire loves fairy tales and considers them the best way to step outside everyday life. They're the easiest way, at least: her attempt at seven to reach Narnia through her parents' closet failed.She lives within sight of Virginia's Blue Ridge Mountains, where she teaches high school creative writing and math classes with very interesting word problems. During the school year, she lives on coffee, chocolate, an...

other books by Sarah Mcguire

Format:HardcoverDimensions:384 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 1.25 inPublished:April 1, 2015Publisher:Lerner Publishing GroupLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1606845527

ISBN - 13:9781606845523

Reviews