Verissimus: The Stoic Philosophy Of Marcus Aurelius

byDonald J. RobertsonIllustratorZé Nuno Fraga

July 12, 2022|
Verissimus: The Stoic Philosophy Of Marcus Aurelius by Donald J. Robertson
$42.19 
$44.99 save 6%
Hardcover
Earn 211 plum® points
Buy Online
Ship to an address
Free shipping on orders over $35
Pick up in store
To see if pickup is available,
Find In Store
To check store inventory,
Prices and offers may vary in store

about

In the tradition of Logicomix, Donald J. Robertson's Verissimus is a riveting graphic novel on the life and stoic philosophy of Marcus Aurelius.

Marcus Aurelius was the last famous Stoic of antiquity but he was also to become the most powerful man in the known world – the Roman emperor. After losing his father at an early age, he threw himself into the study of philosophy. The closest thing history knew to a philosopher-king, yet constant warfare and an accursed plague almost brought his empire to its knees. “Life is warfare”, he wrote, “and a sojourn in foreign land!” One thing alone could save him: philosophy, the love of wisdom!

The remarkable story of Marcus Aurelius’ life and philosophical journey is brought to life by philosopher and psychotherapist Donald J. Robertson, in a sweeping historical epic of a graphic novel, based on a close study of the historical evidence, with the stunning full-color artwork of award-winning illustrator Zé Nuno Fraga.

Donald J. Robertson is a cognitive-behavioral psychotherapist, trainer, and writer. He was born in Ayrshire, Scotland, and after living in England and working in London for many years, he emigrated to Canada where he now lives. Robertson has been researching Stoicism and applying it in his work for twenty years. He is one of the foundi...
Loading
Title:Verissimus: The Stoic Philosophy Of Marcus Aurelius
Format:Hardcover
Product dimensions:272 pages, 9.6 X 7.9 X 1 in
Shipping dimensions:272 pages, 9.6 X 7.9 X 1 in
Published:July 12, 2022
Publisher:St. Martin's Publishing Group
Language:English
ISBN - 13:9781250270955

Recently Viewed
|