Watching You: A Novel by Lisa JewellWatching You: A Novel by Lisa Jewell

Watching You: A Novel

byLisa Jewell

Paperback | December 26, 2018

see the collection The Winter List

Pricing and Purchase Info

$14.16 online 
$24.99 list price save 43%
Earn 71 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

The instant New York Times and #1 Sunday Times bestselling author of the “riveting thriller” (PopSugar) Then She Was Gone delivers another suspenseful page-turner about a shocking murder in a picturesque and well-to-do English town, perfect “for fans of Gone Girl, The Girl on the Train, and Luckiest Girl Alive” (Library Journal).

Melville Heights is one of the nicest neighborhoods in Bristol, England; home to doctors and lawyers and old-money academics. It’s not the sort of place where people are brutally murdered in their own kitchens. But it is the sort of place where everyone has a secret. And everyone is watching you.

As the headmaster credited with turning around the local school, Tom Fitzwilliam is beloved by one and all—including Joey Mullen, his new neighbor, who quickly develops an intense infatuation with this thoroughly charming yet unavailable man. Joey thinks her crush is a secret, but Tom’s teenaged son Freddie—a prodigy with aspirations of becoming a spy for MI5—excels in observing people and has witnessed Joey behaving strangely around his father.

One of Tom’s students, Jenna Tripp, also lives on the same street, and she’s not convinced her teacher is as squeaky clean as he seems. For one thing, he has taken a particular liking to her best friend and fellow classmate, and Jenna’s mother—whose mental health has admittedly been deteriorating in recent years—is convinced that Mr. Fitzwilliam is stalking her.

Meanwhile, twenty years earlier, a schoolgirl writes in her diary, charting her doomed obsession with a handsome young English teacher named Mr. Fitzwilliam…

In Lisa Jewell’s latest brilliant “bone-chilling suspense” (People) no one is who they seem—and everyone is hiding something. Who has been murdered—and who would have wanted one of their neighbors dead? As “Jewell teases out her twisty plot at just the right pace” (Booklist, starred review), you will be kept guessing until the startling revelation on the very last page.
Title:Watching You: A NovelFormat:PaperbackDimensions:336 pages, 9 × 6.12 × 0.9 inPublished:December 26, 2018Publisher:Atria BooksLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1982117184

ISBN - 13:9781982117184

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gripping read! After reading and absolutely loving I Found You and Then She Was Gone by Lisa Jewell this year, I was anxious to read her new novel, Watching You. The book starts with a bang : a murder. We don't know what happened or who the victim even is. Immediately you want to keep reading! What threw me off after the first chapter was the number of characters and the different POVs. It took me a little while to put everyone together and fully understand what was going on and enjoy the book. I think the reader should set a big enough amount of reading time to be able to read a big chunk of the book in one sitting in order to better understand the story quickly. The reader needs to pay attention! Although, after getting the characters sorted out, I really enjoyed the book. The author did a great job in keeping the reader interested and guessing. It is also very well written. I am definitely a big fan of Jewell and will be looking forward to all her future work! I really enjoyed this book and will recommend it to anyone who loves a great well written, characters driven thriller.
Date published: 2019-01-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Read! I was told there would be a lot of characters to remember in this one but I was surprised I caught on pretty quick. There was a couple of storylines at the beginning that got me confused but after reading a bit more it all made sense. With all these different characters, we were able to read their different POVs. Along with the different POVs, the story is told backward. You find out there is murder, then the story goes back to the days leading up to the murder. I found that quite creative, it really kept you interested and guessing. When reading these different POVs, I really loved that I could read all the different sides to this particular story, and really loved the different dynamics between all of the characters. There were multiple storylines to follow but again, I feel like that's what kept me interested. Additionally, I found that the story wasn't predictable, up to a certain point since I wasn't really surprised by the ending. However, given the circumstances of the story, it was a great ending. The only negative point I have is that it was a slow-burning novel, there wasn't a lot of "action", but the story was very well written that I didn’t mind. Highly recommend Thank you to Atria Books for providing me with an electronic ARC of this book via NetGalley. As usual, my reviews are my honest and unbiased opinions.
Date published: 2019-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dark, eerie, and spine-chillingly mesmerizing! Watching You is a complex, intense, psychological thriller that highlights that every choice, good or bad, has a consequence and perspective is everything. The writing is polished and crisp. The characterization is spot on with a multitude of characters that are multi-faceted, secretive, and vulnerable. And the plot told through a mixture of narration and interview-style musings builds steadily creating tension, suspicion, and unease as it unravels all the personalities, relationships, motivations and actions within it. Watching You is, ultimately, a story of deception, obsession, desperation, vengeance, violence, manipulation, and murder. It’s shocking, satisfying, hard to put down and without a doubt another must-read novel by Jewell.
Date published: 2019-01-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Okay I recently just got back into reading after taking a break for a while.. and this novel was somewhat disappointing to me. It wasn't horrible, but I found it to be very slow and boring until the end. I just couldn't get sucked into this one. I like a real page turner that I can't put down, but there wasn't much action. This book didn't have that effect on me. I just finished it so that I could move on to another book. It did keep me guessing a bit and wondering who the "bad guy" ultimately was, but I didn't find it to be that great.
Date published: 2019-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great This book kept me hooked till the end. It was great all the way through
Date published: 2019-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great thriller I loved this book! The chapters were short which made the book a quick read. I read it in one day! It was fast paced too, with important plot points in every chapter. Even though there were many characters, it was easy to follow them. All of their lives were woven together, but it wasn’t obvious at the beginning. I loved the way that the story slowly unfolded until the end. It took a long time for me to figure out who was the victim and who did the crime. I figured it out just before it was revealed. It wasn’t an obvious crime, but it made sense. This is a great thriller! I received a copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
Date published: 2018-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved this book! I thoroughly enjoyed this book! I find that her earlier books are more family-based dramas with elements of suspense (at least this is what I thought of the 2 earlier books I read), but this book and Then She Was Gone are psychological thrillers, which was exactly what I wanted. I was able to figure out who the culprit was but it was still extremely suspenseful and the story unravelled nicely.
Date published: 2018-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So clever it i will keep you guessing to the bitter end. I am a huge Lisa Jewell fan, so I was excited to dive into this new book by her - and I was NOT disappointed. Fast paced, twisting, cleverly diabolical - I devoured this in one sitting without pause. Lisa does the most incredible work creating characters who are grounded perfectly in reality, with flaws and weaknesses that are completely believable and let the reader fully by into the cast of the story. I completely loved how this story moved from character to character, slowly unravelling the events that lead to the murdered body in the kitchen, while constantly causing me to second guess who that body might belong to, and who put it there. I spent the entire time reading, convinced I had it figured out, and convinced I had the characters pinned down only to find again and again that I was wrong. I loved it - I love a book that will surprise me. I won't reveal even a single hint of a spoiler, other than to say that mystery lovers need to have this one on their TBR this winter - it is the perfect book to cozy up with on a snowy afternoon. Lisa Jewell remains a force to be reckoned with.
Date published: 2018-12-16

Read from the Book

Watching You PROLOGUE MARCH 24 DC Rose Pelham kneels down; she can see something behind the kitchen door, just in front of the trash can. For a minute she thinks it’s a bloodstained twist of tissue, maybe, or an old bandage. Then she thinks perhaps it is a dead flower. But as she looks at it more closely she can see that it’s a tassel. A red suede tassel. The sort that might once have been attached to a handbag, or to a boot. It sits just on top of a small puddle of blood, strongly suggesting that it had fallen there in the aftermath of the murder. She photographs it in situ from many angles, and then, with her gloved fingers, she plucks the tassel from the floor and drops it into an evidence bag, which she seals. She stands up and turns to survey the scene of the crime: a scruffy kitchen, old-fashioned pine units, a green Aga piled with pots and pans, a large wooden table piled with table mats and exercise books and newspapers and folded washing, a small extension to the rear with a cheap timber glazed roof, double doors to the garden, a study area with a laptop, a printer, a shredder, a table lamp. It’s an innocuous room, bland even. A kitchen like a million other kitchens all across the country. A kitchen for drinking coffee in, for doing homework and eating breakfast and reading newspapers in. Not a kitchen for dark secrets or crimes of passion. Not a kitchen for murdering someone in. But there, on the floor, is a body, splayed facedown inside a large, vaguely kidney-shaped pool of blood. The knife that had been used is in the kitchen sink, thoroughly washed down with a soapy sponge. The attack on the victim had been frenzied: at least twenty knife wounds to the neck, back, and shoulders. But little in the way of blood has spread to other areas of the kitchen—no handprints, no smear, no spatters—leading Rose to the conclusion that the attack had been unexpected, fast, and efficient and that the victim had had little chance to put up a fight. Rose takes a marker pen from her jacket pocket and writes on the bag containing the red suede tassel. Description: “Red suede/suedette tassel.” Location: “In front of fridge, just inside door from hallway.” Date and time of collection: “Friday, March 24, 2017, 11:48 p.m.” It’s probably nothing, she muses, just a thing fallen from a fancy handbag. But nothing was often everything in forensics. Nothing could often be the answer to the whole bloody thing.