Why Birds Sing: A Novel

October 6, 2020|
Why Birds Sing: A Novel by Nina Berkhout
$22.95
Paperback
Earn 115 plum® points
Buy Online
Ship to an address
Free shipping on orders over $35
Pick up in store
To see if pickup is available,
Find In Store
To check store inventory,
Prices and offers may vary in store

about

After a very public onstage flameout, a disgraced opera singer is confronted with her crumbling marriage, a prickly and unexpected brother-in-law, and a cheeky parrot named Tulip - and she must learn to whistle her way through it all.

From the author of Harper''s Bazaar Hottest Breakout Novel The Gallery of Lost Species comes a charming, lively, and deeply felt story that is perfect for readers of Miriam Toews''s A Complicated Kindness and Amy Jones''s We''re All in this Together.

When opera singer Dawn Woodward has an onstage flameout, all she wants is to be left alone. She''s soon faced with other complications the day her husband announces her estranged brother-in-law, Tariq, is undergoing cancer treatment and moving in, his temperamental parrot in tow. To make matters worse, though she can''t whistle herself, she has been tasked with teaching arias to an outspoken group of devoted siffleurs who call themselves the Warblers. Eventually, Tariq and his bird join the class, and Dawn forms unexpected friendships with her new companions. But when her marriage shows signs of trouble and Tariq''s health declines, she begins questioning her foundations, including the career that she has worked so hard to build and the true nature of love and song.

Nina Berkhout is the author of two previous novels: The Mosaic, which was nominated for the White Pine Award and the Ottawa Book Awards and named an Indigo Best Teen Book, and The Gallery of Lost Species, an Indigo and Kobo Best Book and a Harper''s Bazaar Hottest Breakout Novel. Berkhout is also the author of five poetry collections, ...
Loading
Title:Why Birds Sing: A Novel
Format:Paperback
Product dimensions:248 pages, 8.5 X 5.5 X 0.57 in
Shipping dimensions:248 pages, 8.5 X 5.5 X 0.57 in
Published:October 6, 2020
Publisher:ECW Press
Language:English
Appropriate for ages:All ages
ISBN - 13:9781770415812

Recently Viewed
|